Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow-up!
Having read this books prequel, narrowboat girls, I knew all the characters in this book. Which was nice, as I was unaware this book was the follow on.
Briefly, the first book tells the tragic story of Maryanne Nelson, who lived with an abusive step-father, who sexually abused her and her sister from a young age, and her mother, a seemingly self-obsessed poor excuse...
Published on 20 Jun 2008 by Readaholic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars read before
did not realise i had read this book before but it
was just as good second time around have read other books by same author
Published 17 months ago by georgie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow-up!, 20 Jun 2008
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Paperback)
Having read this books prequel, narrowboat girls, I knew all the characters in this book. Which was nice, as I was unaware this book was the follow on.
Briefly, the first book tells the tragic story of Maryanne Nelson, who lived with an abusive step-father, who sexually abused her and her sister from a young age, and her mother, a seemingly self-obsessed poor excuse for a mum. She ends up falling in love with Joel, who is a narrowboat man, many years her senior. and along with her friend Nancy, who has escaped from an abusive marriage they build their lives together on the Cut.
The first book was so heart rendering, making tears well up inside me many times, and I was greatful for a happy ending. Unfortunately this book, doesn't show things as being positive for Maryanne, She has already suffered so much in her life, you think that she can't possibly have more tragedies or hardships to deal with. Personally, being so engaged in her story, I was upset that she didn't live happily ever after (but happily ever after doesn't make a good story)

Anyhow... This is a well written book, which follows on well from the first book, in true Annie Murray style it has many twists and turns that you don't see coming. Maryanne may be older now, and supposibly wiser, she still has many of the insecurities that she gained as a child, and these are not improved with the addition of twins, and Sylvia and Dot, two outiders that are helping out with the war effort.

There is so much going on in this book! you need to be alert to keep up with them all, but this book is a pleasure to read. And it gives an insight into the hard lives of those on the canal boats, and the conflicts that they face.

Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, couldn't put it down, 3 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Paperback)
Very rare for me to read a story twice,I usually give all my books away but not Annie Murray's. Having read this story again, I found I just couldn't put it down.It's a story of people who work hard on the canal boats,paths and lives cross of people from different walks of life who come together to fight off hardships and support each other. Water Gypsies has everything love, hate, and the story line slowly leads to being a thriller. Fantastic reading as are all of this Author's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Water Gypsies, 25 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Paula Heard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book - the sequel to The Narrowboat Girl. It was crammed full of twists and turns and every corner you turned seemed to end diferently to how you thought! I recemmend this book to anyone interested in Annie Murray's writing or if you are interested in Birmingham history like I am. A lot of it was so real to me as my mother was born in Birmingham and I recognised a lot of the places, people, everyday things of the time and certain jobs of work from what my Mom had told me as she grew up in Birmingham in the times that the books were written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
Again excellent writing and story lines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gypsy Water Clan., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of reading this book. I did not find it predictable at all. Without a doublt I would definitely recommend this book for a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joan, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
Another great book by a great author thanks for the read ready for the next book would recommend this author to my friends who like a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow on, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Paperback)
Enjoyed this as a good follow on from the Narrowboat girl. Appeared well researched and tear jerker. Again feel would be a good drama on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars water gypsies, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
one of the best books by annie murray very explicit about the hard life living and working on the canal boats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Water Gypsies, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
Great read, couldn't put it down when once I had started. Excellent choice and I would highly recommend it - most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A RIVETING STORY, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water Gypsies (Kindle Edition)
I love Annie Murray stories especially ones that end and leave you wanting more, so you have to read the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Water Gypsies
Water Gypsies by Annie Murray (Paperback - 5 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews