Customer Reviews


201 Reviews
5 star:
 (167)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that dates very well - except for buying so many pints with a fiver!!
Douglas Adams was a perfectionist - the main reason why the films, TV series, books and audio books are all different is him consistently trying to improve and change them all the time. Dont assume you know the story beyond the first bit if you have only known one format.

Its the classic plot of someone being uprooted without wanting to be, and then having no...
Published 23 months ago by Kristin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great
Decided to reread all 5 books, having read the first three many years ago. There are some absolute pearls of wisdom in here.

Still stands up. But must confess it does go on a bit, towards the end.
Published 21 months ago by Paul Evans


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that dates very well - except for buying so many pints with a fiver!!, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Kristin "I read so I don't kill people!" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Douglas Adams was a perfectionist - the main reason why the films, TV series, books and audio books are all different is him consistently trying to improve and change them all the time. Dont assume you know the story beyond the first bit if you have only known one format.

Its the classic plot of someone being uprooted without wanting to be, and then having no choice but to follow a slightly mad friend who wasnt who he thought he was at all, with no money, and even worse, no cups of tea to keep him going! These books make a satire of most of life - taking a good swipe at politics (if you dont vote for the lizards, then the wrong lizard might get in), religion (God giving away his existance and disappearing in a puff of logic) relationships (his perfect woman ran off at the party with a guy with two heads) friendship (no he wasnt from basingstoke after all, but a small planet somewhere in the vicinty of Beetlegeuse) and pretty much everything else between.

I know of very few people who havent loved the first of these books, once they put aside their prejudices towards fantasy, and then wanted to go straight onto the other books. This is an excellent way of buying them all economically, and dont worry, sadly there wont be any more books by him to extend the increasingly inaccurately named trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say? Amazing., 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Trilogy of Four: A Trilogy in Four Parts (Paperback)
Even if you haven't read these books, you've probably heard about them. There can't be many native English speaking adults who haven't heard of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, or who don't know the Answer to the ULTIMTE QUESTION OF LIFE, THE UNIVERSE AND EVERYTHING. I think this is probably something that puts people off reading these books, as they are heavily quoted by people who are often less funny than they imagine.
I love this book. I must have nearly memorised it by now. There is just something about the way that the luckless yet stoic Arthur Dent falls into ever more ridiculous and hilarious situations. Every time he thinks that he has a handle on things, something comes along to change it. Then, just when he thinks that it can't get any weirder, it doesn't. It all stops, and everything goes back to normal. Probably just to annoy Arthur.
This whole book, in fact, reads just like the account of an ordinary human who the Universe has decided to play practical jokes on. Douglas Adams' universe is a bizarre place with a thoroughly twisted sense of humour.
This book is highly recommended for anyone who has a sense of humour that goes beyond fart jokes and people falling downstairs. I'd say people of age 14 and up will get most out of it, but younger people could still get a lot of enjoyment from this even if they don't get all the jokes. There are several sexual references in it, but nothing explicit.
If you have the abovementioned sense of humour I'd advise reading this unique trilogy. Even if you don't like Science Fiction. Even if you're sick of people you don't like insisting that you HAVE to read it. It really is that funny. Probably most people will find something in it that will make them laugh until they cry... I know I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest book ever written. And it's funy, too., 24 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy (Paperback)
You know, I can never really express what is the very special thing about this book. But it totally changed my way of looking at life. Imagine reading a book that makes you laugh throughout the whole story and at the end you suddenly stop laughing and say, "Ship, why am I laughing, this is LIFE." And then you take an aspirin because your stomach really hurts. Well, that's just a minute part of the positive experiences you get reading this book. And then you are never the same again. Nothing looks bad enough not to be laughed at. I would give anything to be able to read this book for the first time once again. Thank you, Douglas Adams, for finally persuading me that life, as I have always suspected, is nothing serious, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trilogy Of Four..., 15 Jun 2008
By 
James M. George "Paperhouse" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Trilogy of Four: A Trilogy in Four Parts (Paperback)
When I first heard of The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy, I was under the impression that it was a vastly inaccessible universe that only true Sci-Fi loving readers could cling to. I was, however, 12 years old and the source of introduction was a friend who had only heard the radio show.
Years had gone by, and I found myself looking for a book to read, to see me through a 12 hour flight (not being a lover of Transatlantic In-Flight programming, I needed something to hold my interest). And there it was - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy: Trilogy Of Four. What better way to begin my journey into the fantastical world of Douglas Adams masterpiece, than by reading the first 4 HG2G novels in one, giant omnibus.
When it comes to reading, I'm one of those people who knows if they're going to be able to finish a book within the first few chapters, and boy did I know...
I spent the first week of my holiday in Florida, drawn into this hilariously, mind-bending odyssey and soon enough I was nearing the end of the 4th novel, "So Long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius!, 17 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Trilogy of Four: A Trilogy in Four Parts (Paperback)
I won't even try to attempt to convey just how utterly fantastic the Hitch-hiker's Guide 'trilogy' really is - better reviewers than me have tried and failed. The wit, humour and complete randomness that have been poured into this book are simply beyond words - truly, Douglas Adams was a genius.

His writing is so light and frothy, ridiculously easy to glide through, requiring almost no effort by the reader; one simply slips in and that is it - you are lost forever. The text has been dotted with so many laughs, so many flashes of wit, that it all just blurs into a single, huge explosion of humour. It is one of the (if not the) only piece of literature I have read, where the plot, storyline and characters become irrelevant: you end up just reading it for the writing style itself! It is like a drug - it provides such an incredible feeling, while all the time teasing you, drawing you back for more and more, and every time I read it I discover wit afresh.

I can't emphasise strongly enough how essential it is to read this book; it has to be one of the greatest pieces of literature in existence. I have read it so often that quotes and passages keep popping up in my mind, bringing a sudden burst of laughter, much to the shock and horror of the surrounding public!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 17 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy (Paperback)
Science fiction, despite what the sci-fi nerds will tell you, is nothing to do with visions of the future. Sci-fi is a stage where tales relevant to modern life are told free from the shackles of political correctness.
Douglas Adams expertly uses fictional characters in comedic situations to highlight our everyday eccentricities, absurdities and neuroses; making the reader look at all that is important in their life and ask 'in the great scheme of things, is any of this relevant at all?'.
The Hitch Hiker's series the the product of a unique talent the like of which will never be seen again. The jokes, many of which are cocooned in subtlety, prove again and again that there is many a true word spoken in jest. However many times you read these stories, you'll always find something you missed before. Perhaps the story really is being regularly updated via the sub-ether net...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 42!, 2 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy (Paperback)
What more can you say about HHGTTG. A classic in its many forms (book, radio show, tv series). Surreal, witty, satirical and highly influential. Try logging on to any internet site as Arthur Dent, Slartibartfast or Zaphod, someone got there first.
How can one man have so many original and brilliant ideas, its not fair! Read it in small doses you'll laugh till you have a pain in all the diodes down your left hand side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So long, and thanks for all the laughs, 10 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy (Paperback)
Having read the series for the third time, I find new things that make me laugh. Adams' often dark and subtle humour makes a welcome change to the 'in-your-face' writing available at the moment. He was an author who combined intelligence and humour in an amazing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what value my complete bible, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Neil T. B. Smith "musicmad60s" (shropshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To all Hitchhikers fans great value to carry round on your kindle and for those who have not ventured into the world of Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect , great value to start you on there adventure , once read your read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Worthwhile, 3 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy (Paperback)
This volume is the best place to start for new readers - or for old ones whose individual copies have been buried too often in the sand of Santraginus V and fancy an upgrade. Although it's a four-book volume, you'll find yourself reading it as one, since the books themselves are indecently short both in page length (ranging from 130 to 160 pages in this edition) and, in the case of the first and fourth books, on incident.
Fortunately they remain entertaining, although not quite so rib-ticklingly heel-drummingly hilarious as they were when you were thirteen (which is where new readers should *really* start). As you get older you find yourself more amused by Adams's brilliant ability to combine cynicism and perfect comic timing in a well-structured sentence, and less amused by the colourful aliens. Certainly I agree with the reader from Oxford that none of the four stands up as a novel when compared to "Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency," which is probably Adams's best fictional work.
Book by book then:
1. "The Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy" is the best plotted of the books, probably because it was based directly on the first four episodes of the radio series, which gave Adams good material to work on and the ability to polish it a bit. Its greatest failing is that it ends entirely suddenly - which I understand was because he was so late with the manuscript that his publishers just eventually told him to finish the page he was on and send it over, and it shows - which leaves one feeling rather unsatisfied. Nonetheless it has the best ideas in it.
2. "The Restaurant At the End of the Universe" is where the cracks start to show. The second half is brilliant - based this time on the last two episodes of the radio series - and was by rights supposed to be included in the first book. The problem then that Adams faced was how to fill up the first half of the book - he chose some fairly unconvincing stuff about Zaphod (who was always the least interesting character and fortunately is barely in books three and four) and a Total Perspective Vortex, an idea which (to adopt the syntax of Adams) fails to please in an almost entirely precise way. Nonetheless the book is still amusing.
3. "Life, the Universe and Everything" is a strange beast. Adams had no fresh ideas for the third book so he used an old Doctor Who storyline he had done when he was script editor for the programme. What he have therefore is a saving-the-world storyline grafted onto the feckless and idle and confused and (above all) non-world-saving characters we know and love. Slartibartfast also reappears, as an entirely different character from the first book. The book is well plotted and has some good cameos - Agrajag, Wowbagger - but just feels wrongheaded.
4. "So Long, And Thanks for All The Fish" is the book that, when it came out, was roundly criticised for not being a "proper" Hitch-hiker book. But nor was "Life the Universe and Everything," or for that matter half of "The Restaurant at the End of the Universe." Nonetheless this one does feel odd, set as it is almost entirely on Earth which for some reason (never adequately explored except that it enabled Adams to roll in a few extra mill) still exists despite having been destroyed at the start of the first book. There is a terrible needless grafting-on of Ford Prefect, some toe-curling appreciation of Dire Straits as aphrodisiac, and an absolutely insulting comment by Adams where he predicts the reaction of readers who might think this is not a "proper" Hitch-hiker book ("Skip to the last chapter, which is a good bit and has Marvin in it"). Nonetheless the book has one or two good ideas - Wonko the Sane and Rob McKenna the Rain God - and some very amusing writing which reaches a level of maturity only bettered by "Dirk Gently." But it is very very short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: The Trilogy of Four: A Trilogy in Four Parts
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews