Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical action thriller
This audiobook of Valerio Massimo Manfredi's "Alexander: Child of a Dream" was abridged by Keith Darvill to a 3 hour story recorded on 3 CDs and it's read by Derek Jacobi. It's the first volume of a trilogy: 1) Child of a Dream, 2) The Sands of Ammon, 3) The Ends of the Earth. I enjoyed Derek Jacobi's reading of 'Child of a Dream' so much that I intend to buy the rest...
Published on 21 Aug 2004 by Sally-Anne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Large paperback
After purchasing the first volume in a charity shop(for 60p), I couldn't help going on Amazon to get the sequels. However, whereas my first volume was the size of my hand - easy to carry around, the sequels are about twice as large in size. The larger size books have larger font, making them more user friendly to very young or elderly readers, but they are too big to...
Published 11 months ago by Chockobo


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Internationally Acclaimed Novel, 9 Sep 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Few authors can be better equipped to write about the history of ancient Greece and Rome than Valerio Massimo Manfredi. Professor of archaeology at the the university of Milan, he has carried out many excavations and expeditions in the Mediterranean region. He has produced many factual books on historical matters, mainly military and has still found the time to write several novels and this is one of the best of them.

This book is the first of a triology about probably the greatest warrior and general who has ever lived, bearing in mind that Alexander died at an age when most men are only just starting to make their mark in life. Alexander is of course one of histories most colourful and well know character. Even people with little or not interest in ancient history will have heard of Alexander, a charismatic and larger than life figure.

This first book is the story of a boy born to royal parents. His father, Philip of Macedon, a great warrior and king in his own right and his mother, Philip's alluring queen, Olympias. Alexander was a handsome boy with a quick and ready wit and great intelligence that was nurtured by his tutor, Aristotle and with friends like Ptolemy and Hephaiston Alexander was moulded into a man who was going to conquer the then known world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Oct 2005
In this novel, the 2nd in the series, Manfredi does not disappoint. I have now read all of this series of historical novels about Alexander and thoroughly enjoyed all of them (though the ending in the 3rd book seemed a bit rushed).
If you want to "see" a novel about this amazing historical figure, don't bother with the awful recent film, read these novels and use your imagination and you will have better spent your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor end to a good trilogy, 15 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Alexander (Vol. 3): The Ends of the Earth: Ends of the Earth v. 3 (Paperback)
What a shame the last book seemed rushed and quite pointless. I really enjoyed the 1st, liked the 2nd and couldnt wait for the 3rd to finish so i could read some decent historic fiction (just started Troy trilogy by David Gemmell - great). I really was disappointed as the tale of Alexander as surley one of the greatest generals/kings in history should be cherished. It was nearly as bad as the Colin Farrell film. Shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overated Nonsense, 11 Jun 2007
By 
Walter Scott (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alexander (Vol. 3): The Ends of the Earth: Ends of the Earth v. 3 (Paperback)
I would like to start by saying I don't usually write reviews. However, given the poor quality of this book,and it's predecessors in the trilogy, I feel moved to warn potential readers that Ends of the Earth is not worth wasting your time on. The characters are one dimensional and quality of writing almost makes one believe that this book was written for children. However, given the adult content this is clearly not the case. Perhaps something was lost in the translation, even allowing for this Ends of the Earth is a truly terrible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childish Nonsense, 25 Sep 2009
By 
O. R. Peake (Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I expected something epic or poetic with this book but instead it reads like a 12 year olds extended history essay. The book is completely unengaging and flat. The real historical events depicted sit awkwardly with the unbelieveable, nondescript characters. I could be generous and guess it's perhaps due to the translation but it's still unreadable nonsense.
The praise that's been lavished on this book by some reviewers leaves me both bemused and concerned for the literary health of the nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacfa72dc)

This product

Alexander (Vol. 3): The Ends of the Earth: Ends of the Earth v. 3
Alexander (Vol. 3): The Ends of the Earth: Ends of the Earth v. 3 by Valerio Massimo Manfredi (Paperback - 3 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews