Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
I'm interested in this era. so much is written about the Romans, the Early Christians and the Tudors with the assumption that nothing good happened else before 1600. Not only is this Middle Earth culture interesting but calls into question whether our present culture's emphasis on seeing ourselves as distinct from and superior to the rest of the natural world, valuing...
Published 23 months ago by Mrs Jane G Saxton

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pleasant read, full of nonsense
Even though the book is a pleasure to read, its' contents are less than accurate. Its' primarily a rehash of popular myth concerning the past. I am an avid enthusiast of scholarly 'pagan books', but - despite fond memories for The Way of Wyrd - I recently chucked Bates' books out due to irritation over their high fantasy percentage. Bates' "The Real Middle-Earth" isn't...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Alison Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exelent with good music and a soak in the bath!, 27 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
This book is exelent and very informative in a way that is easy to read if you know nothing of the history of Britain and equally as good for topping up the knowlage of pagan life if you are a keen historian. This book is essentially a look at paganism more than anything else and gives a great overview of the lives of people hundreds and thousands of years ago and covers more than just Britain and even Europe but covers more. The only down side I would say is that there are few references to Tolkiens middle earth. It is clear where he got his inspiration but this is not explained in this book and if you want to start at the beginning, investigating the source of Tolkiens inspiration, this is not the place to start but a book that should be read after finding out the basics. With that said, anyone can read this and gain as much satisfaction as anyone else. A great book and a must read for anyone interested in History/Midddle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superbly interesting ..., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
I love reading about the persecution of witches and though this is not of that genre, it's an excellent read - I've learnt so much about the dark ages and it's actually inspired me to read more about Anglo-Saxon times and the language of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Naive fanstay, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
This books is essentially trying to make you believe that prior to Christianity coming to the shores of this land, Anglo Saxon England was a world... sorry middle earth, of hobbits, elves, wizards and dragons. Writing in a soppy chatting manner, after a while I began to despair.

Repetitive and over padded, the author seemed a little naive and whimsical about his subject, when he tried to suggest dragons were a collective "memory" of dinosaurs, I spat out my tea and laughed solidly for 10 minutes, clearly he had been watching the Flintstones before hand.

I'm a massive fan of Tolkien, but even the great man would admit the legends and cultural influence on his writing were heavily embellished and improved upon. Nice idea but it didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mish-Mash, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Piotr J. Masiak "Piotr" (MK, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
I found it very boring; too much of Golden Bough, which by far is interesting.
Jumps to conclusions wrongly and almost arrogant in HIS beliefs. A better work, I suppose, than Secret History by S Black!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Myth and History mixed for pleasure., 27 Mar 2007
By 
S. D. Hutt "Steve H" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
Bates presents a fascinating read that stretches through the myth and history of the Anglo Saxon Kingdoms and those of North Western Europe.

If anyone has any interest in how things have come about, or has ever raised such questions as 'Well, why is that giant on a hill?' this provides interesting insights.

A very worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish - and badly written, 31 July 2013
By 
Jim E "JimE" (edinburgh, scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
Severely disappointed with this book. It is badly written, inaccurate, badly proof-read and repetitive. It is neither scholarly nor really popular, and is self-indulgent to an unacceptable degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages (Paperback)
Ive not read it all yet but amount of times middle earth is mentioned in this book is annoying beyond believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages
The Real Middle-Earth: Magic and Mystery in the Dark Ages by Brian Bates (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews