Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banks returns to the smoke
First of all I should like to warn prospective readers of this fine book that you should read some of his earlier books first because this novel will spoil the plots...
I really like the Banks books but this is rather naughty of Mr Robinson to be so indulgent with his other books. Not all of us read these books in the order they were published.
So I warn you...
Published on 29 April 2005 by Mr. R. Szweda

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice development of a familiar character
I've read a number of Peter Robinson books, and enjoy them as relaxation if finding them a little bit lightweight. In Strange Affair however, a story about Inspector Banks and his family - with the plot revolving around the disappearance of his brother - leads to deeper development of his character and I found it much more satisfying as a result.

If you have...
Published on 18 Aug 2006 by lmhh


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banks returns to the smoke, 29 April 2005
By 
Mr. R. Szweda "royzee" (mk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all I should like to warn prospective readers of this fine book that you should read some of his earlier books first because this novel will spoil the plots...
I really like the Banks books but this is rather naughty of Mr Robinson to be so indulgent with his other books. Not all of us read these books in the order they were published.
So I warn you read these two first:
Dead Right
and
A Dedicated Man
A couple of other points... it is getting a little tiresome having detectives whose family and friends are the subject of the crime.
This book deals with some pretty horrendous subjects so it is not for the squeamish. OK Banks has had some real baddies to deal with but this one is especially nasty.
Finally, why oh why have they not made Banks novels into TV dramas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice development of a familiar character, 18 Aug 2006
By 
lmhh (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strange Affair (Paperback)
I've read a number of Peter Robinson books, and enjoy them as relaxation if finding them a little bit lightweight. In Strange Affair however, a story about Inspector Banks and his family - with the plot revolving around the disappearance of his brother - leads to deeper development of his character and I found it much more satisfying as a result.

If you have read other "Banks" novels you won't be disappointed, and if this is the first you pick up and you like a good crime story you should enjoy it - although you may be slighly irritated by the references to events from earlier in the series.

All in all, I would consider this one of the best that Robinson has produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banks - now a great series, 22 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel (Paperback)
I think the Banks books have now got past the stage where you can say such and such a book is "better" or not. They deserve to be taken as a whole - in my opinion, as one of the great series of all detective fiction. Banks has grown, aged and become more serious and more complicated - and so have the puzzles he is faced with. I would recommend new readers not to start with this book - if you have the time, go back to the beginning with Gallows View and proceed from there. The plotting and characterisation in these books seem to me to outrank Ian Rankin and P.D.James - often claimed as reference points - and are well in advance of any other British writer within my experience. The only similarly compelling series I can think of is being produced by Michael Connelly with the Bosch canon, also highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Banks is back again!, 21 Jun 2005
By 
Jan Stromsem "Detective" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel (Paperback)
I have read all Inspector Banks books and I was truly afraid Peter Robinson had lost the "touch" with his last book, "Playing With Fire", witch I consider not to be one of his best. However, with "Strange Affair" he is back again better than ever and I will rate it among his best three along with "Past Reason Hated" and "Aftermath". The story is gripping and the theme is up to date. Once started I could not put the book down and finished it the same day - A real page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stilll gripping but getting slack, 10 April 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Edwards "se1955" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel (Paperback)
In the world of the crime novel, it's always worrying when the detective hero becomes the subject of the crime. It's usually a sign that the author is running out of ideas.
This latest Alan Banks novel moves along well, but the number of coincidences necessary to bring his brother into the plot is just not believable.
There is further evidence of slack writing and/or editing in the detail. For instance Banks could not have left his car in Earls Court all day, it is a resident parking zone with a maximum of 3 hours meter parking. Nor could he get the District line from Liverpool Street station - it doesn't go there. It may seem picky, but a two minute glance at a Tube map would have shown up the latter mistake -to the reader of crime novels, the detail is a critical element.
Overall, it's probably a bit better than "Playing with Fire", its predecessor, but "Strange Affair" cannot compare with the really top class mid-era Banks series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime Writing at its Very Best, 22 Mar 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel (Paperback)
Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire, and is the author of thirteen previous novels featuring Inspector Banks. He is the winner of numerous awards in the United States, Britain and Canada, and in 2002 he won the CWA Dagger in the Library. As I also come from Leeds the background to his stories is something that I have experienced first hand and because of this I have a special affection for his books. However they would be first class crime fiction wherever they were based.

Inspector Banks receives a phone call from his brother Roy in London, something of a novelty in itself. But the phone call is quite disturbing and has an air of mystery to it. Banks immediately leaves his patch in Yorkshire and heads off down to the big city to seek out Roy. Meanwhile DI Annie Cabbot is called to the scene of a murder on a quiet stretch of road just outside Eastvale. A young woman has been found dead in her car. The strange thing is that the victim has Banks's name and address written on a piece of paper in the pocket of her jeans.

Meanwhile Banks is staying in his brothers luxurious, but empty house, uncovering more and more details about a brother, that he never really knew and didn't particularly like. Up north Annie tracks down the female victim's friends and colleagues. It seems that both trails are looking likely to intersect at some point and the consequences could be terrifying for both Banks and Annie . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner in the Inspector Banks Series!, 1 Feb 2005
This installment of the series opens with Inspector banks receving a mysterious phone call from his brother in London. Fearing something dreadfully wrong the inspector leaves for London to search out his brother. At the same time DI Annie Cook investigates the murder of a young woman found dead in a car on a quite country road on the outskirts of Eastvale. in the woman's pocket is a slip of paper with inspector Banks name written on it! Much of the story is two parrelle plots, Banks in London trying to figure out what became of his brother as he also discovers surprising revelations about his brother he never understood. At the same time Annie is investigating the death of the young woman. In the end the parralle plots meet in a cleverly terrifing way! Banks fans will not be dissapointed by this novel!
I also must recomend "A Tourist in the Yucatan" interesting thriller/mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I've recently become a great fan of detective novels, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've recently become a great fan of detective novels, and have read whole series ( Vera, the 'Dead...' series by Peter James, and have worked my way through the Banks series to this point. Trouble with doing this is, the literary tics of the authors can start to irritate. And I'm finding it so with Robinson. We realise that he has an extensive knowledge of classical music/jazz and so don't require evidence of it quite so regularly. His political bias is only too obvious. And if I read about one more dimpled copper topped table....I've read reviews of the next one in the series, and to be honest I don't think I can stand long lists of sixties groups and music ( something complained about in several of those reviews).But the lure of curiosity about Banks' development might prove too strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strange indeed, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel (Paperback)
This was not a comfortable read. In addition to exploring the issue of the illegal trade in prostitutes from Eastern Europe the relationship between Banks and his brother Roy was examined. This was almost an international espionage thriller, rather than a crime fiction novel, thus not my normal reading. Gripping however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspector banks series are a must read, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant read if your going to read the inspector banks series of books start at the first one as they follow on from each other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel
Strange Affair : Inspector Banks Novel by Peter Robinson (Paperback - 3 Jun 2005)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews