Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best reading in months
I have literally just finished this book and I am sorry to have done so ... the pleasure that this book brought me is so great that I could easily pick it up again from the beginning.
Altough I suspect that the Italian original must be better than the English translation, as is usually the case, I found no fault in either the language or the story. It is like a...
Published on 23 July 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Written But Not A Classic
This is a well written book from a man evidently knowledgable about the period concerned. It lacks the pace and battle detail of Pressfield's Gates of Fire but covers a longer period of Spartan history.
We follow the life Talos from his birth and subsequent abandonment by his Spartan family to his upbringing as a Helot (slave)and his battle with his competing...
Published on 24 Mar. 2003 by J. E. Parry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best reading in months, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spartan (Hardcover)
I have literally just finished this book and I am sorry to have done so ... the pleasure that this book brought me is so great that I could easily pick it up again from the beginning.
Altough I suspect that the Italian original must be better than the English translation, as is usually the case, I found no fault in either the language or the story. It is like a breath of fresh air.
I found the way that the story is told so close to how real life is, that the unavoidable historical dicrepancies fade into insignificance. And after all who is there to know exactly how close this story is to the reality of the Ancient world? The pictures it paints are clearly believable and the life messages conveyed are valuable lessons about honesty, loyality, true love and fairness. Thus I highly recommend it to young people.
Its interesting story and the narrative flow keep your interest keen at all times and makes learning about life and customs in Ancient Greece a pleasure!
I look forward to reading the Alexander trilogy and any other book by Valerio Massimo Manfredi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most Enjoyable, 9 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
I must say that I found this book hard to put down. I read 'The Last Legion' (same author) prior to reading 'Spartan' and was suprised by the difference in the two styles the author had used, Spartan was the better book and kept rolling along in such a way it was painful to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 28 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
It has been a long time coming, but finally I have found a book I really enjoyed. From reading the first page right up until the end I was fascinated by the period in time that this book was set. The story is one to keep you hooked, needing to know what happens to the characters next! Velerio has done well with this one, and now I go forth to read his Alexander trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read, 10 Feb. 2006
By 
Andrew Rossiter (Halesowen, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
A fantastic read. I read Manfredi's tyrant before this and enjoyed that book but this one outstripped it totally. A fantastic portrayal of the Spartan customs and life, with a gripping plot that half way through I thought it was good enough to be a book in it's self and left in tears, the second half equally as good. WELL WORTH THE READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Written But Not A Classic, 24 Mar. 2003
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
This is a well written book from a man evidently knowledgable about the period concerned. It lacks the pace and battle detail of Pressfield's Gates of Fire but covers a longer period of Spartan history.
We follow the life Talos from his birth and subsequent abandonment by his Spartan family to his upbringing as a Helot (slave)and his battle with his competing loyalties of blood and adoptive family.
This covers Thermopylae, famous for its sacrifice of 300 Spartan men, and onto the Helot uprising that followed. More could have been made of the battles fought by the Spartans but Talos' life brushes past this and I think that's where the story is let down.
Everyone knows about the Spartans reputation as "gods of battle" and any story of theirs makes you wish to hear about their exploits. However what we do get here is a better understanding of Spartan society, its strength and terminal weakness.
For those who are not aware of the end of Spartan society we find that their rigid rules and desire for "pure" blood led to their eventual extinction as a people.
This story is interesting but ultimately could have been something far greater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spartan or Helot..., 19 Feb. 2003
By 
spyros manolopoulos (Chilton-Didcot, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spartan (Hardcover)
Not a-par with the Alexander trilogy. Historical facts and fiction are much more "convoluted" here. But unlike the Alexander series, the extra fiction doesn't add to the readabillity of the book... A lot of "weaknesses" in the main character, probably due to its fictitius origins. This is also transfered in the central story where the author tries to "marry" Spartan and Helots lifes. The book is misleadingly called "Spartan". "Helot" would have been a more appropriate name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars didnt quite live up to the hype, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Spartan (Hardcover)
overall the book was good the story line was good and so were the battle scenes but whilst readin it i wasnt made to feel how it was to be a spartan or fight against them unlike the books from mr scarrow or mr iliffe who have an uncanny knack of drawing you in and help you to feel every swing of the sword or block with the shield.its not the best ancient greek book ive read but still worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near classic tale of antiquity, 8 July 2003
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
Wonderfully written, hugely evocative tale of heroism, war and betrayal. Focusing on the savage, martial Spartans (by far the most facinating of the ancient Greeks), Manfredi weaves his tale with great humanity and a fierce knowledge of the period.
While not matching Steven Pressfield's now classic 'Gates of Fire', and prone to bouts of portentousness (with a slightly elliptical ending), this remains a fascinating and compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spartan (Paperback)
Manfredi can be a bit up and down on his books, but this along with the Alexander series is one of the best. As usualy the seamless blend of fact and fiction draw you into a past world in a gripping and entertaining way. This was out before the 300 and is much more history based than that film. Well worth a read, even if you are not necessarily a historical fiction fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan (Kindle Edition)
Really well written book enjoyed every moment of it not entirely historically correct I believe but worth the money either way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartan
Spartan by Valerio Massimo Manfredi (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews