Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful approach and FUN!
I have been doing quick crosswords for years and although I was beginning to find them a bit simple I had always thought the cryptic ones too daunting, and all my previous attempts to learn had failed in confusion and disillusionment... but I decided to give them another go, using this book to start. What i really appreciated is that she weans you from quick crosswords...
Published on 3 April 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Needs far more explanation for a newcomer to cryptic crosswords.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. A. C. Savory


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful approach and FUN!, 3 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
I have been doing quick crosswords for years and although I was beginning to find them a bit simple I had always thought the cryptic ones too daunting, and all my previous attempts to learn had failed in confusion and disillusionment... but I decided to give them another go, using this book to start. What i really appreciated is that she weans you from quick crosswords onto the different sorts of cryptic clues one at a time, so that you can use the skills you already have to build on, and to verify your own progress. This book was really helpful and suited perfectly to someone who enjoys quick crosswords already, as you can enjoy the achievement of the example crosswords using many of the skills you already have, rather than spending ages staring at the page getting baffled and dissillusioned without really knowing where to start(which had been my previous experience of trying to learn cryptic technique.) An excellent gap-bridger.
Lots of example crosswords too, (30 altogether) and all with well explained answers in the back (an absolute must to have the explanation as well as the answer to every single clue if you're trying to learn, by the way- something to look out for!) It also contains a few "word banks" of commonly occuring oddities peculiar to cryptic crossword solving- again, worth looking out for in other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction to cryptic crosswords, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent introduction for the novice on how to solve cryptic crosswords. Obviously geared towards the (supposedly easier) Daily Telegraph cryptic crossword, this book will take the beginner to - well, if not an expert, at least in with a fighting chance. Before reading this book I hardly got anywhere with crosswords; now I finish the very occasional one.

The first section explains all the different types of clue, with examples and a crossword containing several examples of that type of clue, all flagged. It then gives tips on approaches to solving, a reference of all the abbreviations and special indicators you're likely to find. There are also several crosswords for you to try.

It would have been superb at twice the price, but this is superb value. Writing this review has convinced me I should reread it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace if you want to begin solving cryptic crosswords, 9 July 2009
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
A few friends at work have a go each day at the times crossword and i was interested in how they came to the answers. so i bought this... and it's a brilliant book! I'm about 75% through it and it has taught me so much. The book is not easy if your English is relatively poor like mine, but i doubt there is a better book to guide you through the different types of clues with well described solutions and explanations. I highly recommend this if you want to begin learning how these excellent crosswords work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will help crossword beginners, 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
This book is an introduction to completing cryptic crosswords, with special reference to the Daily Telegraph's (one of the more tractable). All the different types of clue are explained and illustrated, and there are special crosswords for you to practise on, where the types of clue are flagged. As ever, I'd have liked more examples, and more on the approach to take when tackling a crossword, and as yet I still haven't managed more than half a crossword - but that's more than a couple of weeks ago...it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to crack the cryptic crossword, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
This is an excellent training for the over 60's braincells and rewarding because it's so much easier when you know what to look for !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shining a little light in the darkness, 24 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
Bored with the quick crosswords, I tried to fathom the cryptics. Oh dear. This book and to a lesser extent the similar book by Kevin Skinner have helped open up this fascinating hobby. Already, I have become obsessed and appreciative of how these things are created. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Crack the Cryptic Crossword (Daily Telegraph), 2 July 2009
By 
R. Whittle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very easy to follow, a great introduction to cryptic crosswords. Well worth it.

Be carefull - there are two editions of the same book

The "Daily Telegraph" How to Crack a Cryptic Crossword by Val Gilbert
and
How to Crack the Cryptic Crossword by TheDaily Telegraph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend, 8 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
My daughter & I took this book on holiday to learn how to crack the cryptic crossword. We enjoyed working our way through the lessons and both felt we understood the basics by the end. It is a well written book and will certainly help anyone learn the skills - the glossary at the back is useful even when you have finished the book (I have since bought another copy so we have one each!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did what it said on the tin!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
I loved that there were so many crosswords to work through that meant a lot of practice. Really helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw (Paperback)
This book has helped me enormously and I am now even completing some crytic crosswords. It is easy to use and just what you need to focus on the intracacies of cryptic clues. I would recommend this book to all who want to improve there success rate with cryptic crosswords
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Daily Telegraph  How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw
The Daily Telegraph How to Crack a Cryptic Crossw by Val Gilbert (Paperback - 21 Sep 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews