Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine work worthy of a fine man.
Perhaps it takes a politician of Roy Jenkins' stature to write a work worthy of a man who was once described as "The greatest living Englishman." Whilst not an uncommon surname, the very word "Churchill" conjures up an image of one man and one man only. That man was Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill - soldier, journalist, painter, Nobel laureate, politician and leader of...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Ned Middleton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed but useful
If you know nothing about Churchill other than what you read in tub-thumping tabloids, then this book is a very good introduction, if patchy, but if you know something of historiography, you'll find plenty to criticise.

Jenkins, as another reviewer writes, is fond of public school French and Latin and can come across as pretentious, but he is even positively...
Published 2 months ago by Fuficius Fango


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such an icon, yet I didn't know that much about him, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
So I ordered the book.

I had learned a little about Churchill and a little more through research on other subjects, but I wanted to find out a bit more - such an iconic figure with a really interesting history, through his own military service, to his incredible political career.

The book arrived quickly and I'm looking forward to starting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Churchill, by Roy Jenkins, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
Not just an excellent biography but an outstanding book. Contrary to a few reviews I have read I found this book remarkable, perhaps surprisingly easy to read, interesting and informative on Churchill in ways I am truly thankful for. A man whom I had always admired as a politician and statesman became a figure worthy of a boys own character in his own right on such a human level, perhaps I should say superhuman. What an incredible character, my most recommended read. As to the language used by Jenkins in the writing I might agree with some comments that it can be flowery or complicated, but I found this a positive thing and it much added to my interest and made me question the lack of vocabulary I use and encounter in normal life. Certainly something to be admired in these times of dumbing down, txt speak and sloppy language which is becoming the norm. I wish I had read this book 10 or 20 years ago and I will very likely read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 22 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
This work is exceptionally well researched. Every page is full to the brim with snippets of knowledge. The whole is put together with a deft touch which results in the reader not being overwhelmed. You get a real sense of the man without getting the authors opinion or anyone elses for that matter.

A fantastic work which will stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jenkins hits the spot, 3 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
I could give you a 6,000 word thesis on this book commenting on Jenkins' style and how appropriate and logical the information is within. However, this is a detailed and almost unbiased account of arguably the most resourceful and witty semi-American / semi-British men in history.

The fact is - for less than £10 and approximately a weeks worth of reading you can learn a great deal about this noble man and his extraordinary adventures (and good fortune) before making your own mind up about him; and Jenkins' effort!

Personally I feel that it is very much worth a read and suited my reading style better than any of the other Churchill biographies on the market today. As you may have guessed I employ a 'no nonsense' and 'straight to the point' style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars jumps all over the place, cannot follow proper timeline, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as above jumps all over the place, cannot follow proper timeline. jumps amongst other politicians and family members too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
Everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Interesting Biography, 13 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
Churchill by Roy Jenkins is a very readable book with lots of interesting details. It deals with all the major aspects of his life in an interesting and enjoyable style which does not become bogged down in analysis. It also unlike some biographies does not regard Churchill as a perfect prime minister but as the right man for the right time. All in all it is a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Churchill Biography, 21 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Paperback)
Roy Jenkins' book is an excellent biography of Winston Churchill - detailed, fair, objective, beautifully and intelligently written. The book is well worth the time it takes to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Churchill: A Biography (Hardcover)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Churchill: A Biography
Churchill: A Biography by Roy Jenkins (Paperback - 26 Jun. 2002)
£11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews