Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're ageless and shapeless!"
I'm not sure if Elizabeth Jane Howard would approve of the reason I chose this book to read: it was because I had read and so much enjoyed Elspeth Huxley's wonderful biography of Peter Scott Peter Scott: Painter and Naturalist and thought it might be interesting to see things from another angle - as EJH was Scott's first, very young wife - she was 19 when they married in...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Four Violets

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly bland memoirs
I have been a fan of Elizabeth-Jane Howard for many years, and was hoping to enjoy her memoirs in equal measure. However, in spite of an interesting insight into her family life and upbringing, I was left cold by her endless descriptions of her various lovers as well as her justification for the evident upheaval this caused to the wives. Her life seems to have been spent...
Published 9 months ago by Mrs Tiggywinkle


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Captures a bygone era perfectly, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read withy famous people in almost every paragraph!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Joan C (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Jane Howard is one of our great writers, and this is a fascinating insight into her life. Those who have read her wonderful Cazalet books will see so many people and events from her own life used in her writing. A very honest story, warts and all, she certainly doesn't hold back even when she appears in a not very good light.If you are new to this accomplished writer, read this first and then the Cazalet books, and see how the stories all intertwine. Also a colourful glimpse into an era now long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary history, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a wonderful read ... Maybe not as compellingly told as her novels, but because the books - particularly the Cazalet books - have always brought me such delight, I found this book irresistible. A lesson in how novelists can use their own lives as the basis of their art. A fantastic woman: a real inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, entertaining and full of insights, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EJH's childhood was happy but her parents were difficult and flawed, both of them extremely selfish. She has dealt with painful moments with honesty and humor, this is no misery memoir, and like all writers she has used her own experiences in her fiction. Her choice of men, for either emotional or physical relationships is often a disaster but in the end she is able to live happily, all passion spent? She was young and middle aged at an interesting time when things just seemed to happen to her, and she seems to pass through some of these times like an observer of her own life, a little cut of from the reality of it all. Her writing is excellent and this autobiography, written after her Desert Island Discs appearance, where she ducked questions, is more honest and less kind about herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A marvellous biography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipstream: A Memoir (Paperback)
Possibly then best autobiography I have ever read. Elizabeth Jane Howard's descriptions of her early life transport one back in time and relay a true insight into this amazing woman's history. Beautiful, clever, bohemian and charismatic. If only there were more like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slipstream: A Memoir (Paperback)
thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not enjoy slipstream, too much name dropping. Her novels are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uncomfortable, that is what I felt as I was reading this. I could relate it to the Cazalet Chronicles but preferred the fictional view of her past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't finished it yet but so far it's been an absolutely gripping read.
I can't wait to read some of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slipstream: A Memoir
Slipstream: A Memoir by Elizabeth Jane Howard (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2003)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews