Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming
I loved this book - perfect reading for a quick pick me up. The story is set in a small town in Nebraska, USA. The town, aptly named Superior, is completely disrupted by the arrival of The Keeper of Records (from The Book of Records), who comes out to the town after receiving a mysterious letter from The Man Who Knows claiming that there is a man in Superior who is in...
Published on 3 Jan 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to digest
Honestly, this is not a gem, as the cover promises, but an indigestible piece of heavy metal, and the reader takes great pity in poor Wally, who the author makes swallow a whole 747, just to show his everlasting, unfulfilled love for Willa, the town beauty of Superior, a small place in Nebraska.

The main character of the book is J.J. (John Smith) Keeper of the...
Published on 22 April 2010 by Joachimski


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I loved this book - perfect reading for a quick pick me up. The story is set in a small town in Nebraska, USA. The town, aptly named Superior, is completely disrupted by the arrival of The Keeper of Records (from The Book of Records), who comes out to the town after receiving a mysterious letter from The Man Who Knows claiming that there is a man in Superior who is in the process of eating a boeing. Bored by recent records like the splitting a human hair in 18 parts and the fastest snail over 13 inches, this is too hard to resist. Not to mention the fact that a record like this can do wonders for his fading career. Of course Superior turns out to deliver much more than he bargained for.
I read this book in a single sitting - the old cliché of not being able to put it down rang true for a change. This book is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard to digest, 22 April 2010
By 
Joachimski "Leseteufel" (München) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Honestly, this is not a gem, as the cover promises, but an indigestible piece of heavy metal, and the reader takes great pity in poor Wally, who the author makes swallow a whole 747, just to show his everlasting, unfulfilled love for Willa, the town beauty of Superior, a small place in Nebraska.

The main character of the book is J.J. (John Smith) Keeper of the Records for the "Guiness Book of Records", and this is what Sherwood is really interested in. So we hear about the weirdest records in the book, because J.J. can quote them all.

Apart from that J.J. is a lonely man, in danger of losing his job with "The Book", when he hears about Wally's endeavours. So he comes to Superior, and with him the media pack. If Sherwood wanted to put blame on his own lot, he might first have read "This is your Life" by the British author John O`Farrell, but then this book here would not have been written at all and saved the reader 3 boring hours.

J.J. conveniently falls in love with Willa and Sherwood can talk a lot of hot air about that age-old topic also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker., 5 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Russell (Stapleton, nr Darlington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an average bloke, me reading "the story of the greatest love, ever", to quote the opening line, isn't something that I would have imagined ever happening. Love? Pah, something for the girls to read about.

But I'm very glad I did read this book. Ignoring the sheer impossibility of one person ingesting so many tons of metal, composites and industrial fluids in such a short time, this is a peach of a book. It's about much more than the physical act of eating the 'plane, even though it's often centre stage. I've rarely read a work of fiction and actively pulled for the characters, hoping that the ending was a good one for them all.

Some of the reviews show that you can't please all of the people all of the time, but in my view this is an absolute cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romance redefined in a readable quirky manner., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Ate the 747 (Hardcover)
Fantastic book which walks the line between 'serious literature' and chick lit fluff. It's a great palette cleanser if a book if you've just read something heavy and reaffirms that romance is not dead and that anyone can find love wether they are looking for it or not. Served up with a healthy dose of quirk. What's not to love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Read, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Miss J. M. Burton "meta" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't normally write reviews but I was so disappointed with this book I felt I should. It can't even compare to Shearwood's previous book The Death and Life of Charlie St Cloud which I loved and couln't put down. This book was a chore, but I finished it since I had bought it. The characters were not believeable and I felt no sympathy or emotion towards any of them. Basically it did nothing for me. Don't waste your money or time on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a light read, 4 Aug 2009
By 
S. J. Critchley "AmsterSam" (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even though this book is a "rom-com" on paper, it's a great light read... I loved it... There's also the benefit that it's beautifully written, with nary a word out of place. I wouldn't argue it's totally predictable either, but I'm not going to spoil it and tell you why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle, Funny, Comedy, 31 Dec 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Ate the 747 (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. It is full of bizarre record breaking facts which I liked better than the romantic bits, although they weren't bad either. It was an unusual take on a tired formula and it worked. The romance comes from the man's perspective and his awakening and understanding of himself. It is undemanding and fun and I look forward to reading anything else he comes up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but predictable, 13 Jun 2003
By 
Norberto Amaral (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With a nice title, nice cover, nice cover credits, this book had all the appealing wrappings and eventually I bought it.
This is a story about the pursuit of fame and immortality in the guise of record-breaking for the Guiness book of records. The main character is JJ, a judge of 'the book' who leads a much less exciting life than other make it out: no love, no family, no excitement, just work work work. When there seems to be a lull in record-breaking activity (no pun intended!) he finds a story about a guy somewhere in middle America who's eating a plane. Now that would be a great record to earn back his boss' favours... However, it becomes very important not just what he is doing but also why - actually who for - he's doing it.
The introduction is really funny and so is JJ's initial profile. Some actual records are thrown in for the crowd. We seem to be heading for a real treat.
And that is precisely when the book starts to fail. For one, all characters are too linear and regular (Take JJ's prospective girlfriend's father, who asks if JJ is a "Ford man" or a "Chevy man". So what? Do people in middle America reckon other people by the Ford/Chevy ruler? Or the policemen, only worried with keeping the town of Superior clean and quiet hopefully getting rid of 'city types'.).
As you read on you can picture exactly what the author wanted: an adaptation for another run of the mill tv series, the type of "Northen Exposure", only much shallower, less colourful, too clichéed!
Still, an enjoyable read if you fancy something light for the summer and has a nice ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly over-sentimental, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
I was intrigued when I saw the title and cover of this book, and after reading a couple of pages in the bookshop I was hooked and immediately bought it.
I thought it was going to be a quirky, off-beat love story. And true enough, it's a wonderful and unusual premise. However, apart from the initial idea, the novel itself is overly-sentimental and simplistic.
The description of Superior, the middle-America town where the novel is set, is incredibly cliched and patronising: everybody is an idiosyncratic oddity. There isn't one creidble character.
The love story itself just isn't believable. Eating a jumbo jet in order to show someone how much you love them doesn't play out as very romantic...
This is trying to be The Bridges of Madison County - which I confess I disliked also - but it's not even as good. It's one of those chick-flick-novels that new-male writers pen, because they think they're really sensitive, and have their finger on the female pulse.
Personally, mine was in danger of flatlining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Ate the 747
The Man Who Ate the 747 by Ben Sherwood (Hardcover - 20 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews