Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such gentle sleuthing
A delight. It's always a treat to be re-united with Jude and Carole and their very own style of amateur detection mixed with copious glasses of Chardonnay. Opposites attract and whilst there's often a frisson of tension between these two - largely on Carole's part - they work so well together and in this story Carole even shows signs of becoming something of a gossip,...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Jane Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read
Typical Simon Brett. This series is an easy read with some humour. It's great for reading as a comfortable escapism.
Published 15 months ago by cris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such gentle sleuthing, 17 May 2010
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A delight. It's always a treat to be re-united with Jude and Carole and their very own style of amateur detection mixed with copious glasses of Chardonnay. Opposites attract and whilst there's often a frisson of tension between these two - largely on Carole's part - they work so well together and in this story Carole even shows signs of becoming something of a gossip, venturing onto Fethering beach without Gulliver, so keen is she to find clues. As usual Jude has her little secret venture and Carole is caught twitching the curtain to find out about the mystery man but there's no malice. The Le Bonnier family and their associated hangers on are a weird mix of misfits so the murderer could be anyone. Ted only has a minor part this time which is a shame as he adds a bit of jollity and scandal generally. What a delightful series this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I am a great fan of Simon Brett and have read most of his other books. I like the Fethering series and I have to agree with the other reviewer that they just keep getting better. The basic storyline is that a very arty shop is burnt down and not surprisingly a body is found inside. Carol and Jude go about investigating the murder and as always get their man or woman as the case may be. The characters are growing throughout the series and we get to know much more about them in this book. It always amazes me that Carol, for someone who is so shy and self reliant, manages to ask the most personal and probing of questions, to get to the root of the mystery. However, this is part of her character and it works. She is becoming more likable and at one point in the book I even felt sorry for her. The supporting cast of characters are quite excentric in this book, but it all seems to come together. This is a traditional murder mystery with no blood or gore, but is still a good read and a book you will not want to put down. I would highly recommend this book, as I would all the Fethering mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining investigation..., 9 April 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This story had me hooked from the start. I enjoy the investigative style of Jude and Carole and as an ex civil servant recognise so much in Carole's character as written. Jude is more of a mystery to me still but fascinating. We need to know more about her past.
The story of actresses, writers and people in the world of pop worked well and there were so good descriptions of the characters. Never in a million years would I have guessed who had done the dirty deeds. Way surprised and pleasedI had not got it right. Simon Brett is a skilful writer.
The story was an easy read for me and I wanted to pick it back up and read another chapter as soon as possible. This has left me wanting to read more of The Fethering Mysteries...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one I've read yet, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. Judith A. Mobsby "jude" (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shooting in the Shop (Fethering Mysteries 11) (Paperback)
I have read nearly all this series and having just finished 'The Shooting in the shop' feel it is probably the best one yet. Very clever plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cosy crime, 29 Jun 2010
I always look forward to the annual Fethering Mystery. It's fun to see how Jude's intuition married with Carole's pragmatic approach will come up with the solution to the crime. And they don't disappoint in this their eleventh outing as amateur sleuths.

As usual, Simon Brett's dialogue sparkles and his supporting characters are interesting and real. I particularly liked the Grand Dame actress and Ricky Le Bonnier's hippy-dippy first wife. I felt that as well as portraying Fethering as a close knit community, Simon Brett also showed the loneliness of living in such a place.

Fethering is the sort of small town that Miss Marple would be at home in. It's also a little like Midsomer; Carole and Jude's murder investigations would make great TV. Why haven't they been given their own series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enough twists and turns to keep you interested,well thought out story l;ine leading to a unexpected conclusion. a throughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable light read, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed every minute. The reflections on Christmas families and parties made me laugh. Charactors are so well drawn as is life in small community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Fethering mystery........, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice piece of escapism delivered by Simon Brett....
Haven't read a F..ethering mystery in quite a while but soon felt at home and didn't want to put the book down until I had read it all......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Simon Brett. This series is an easy read with some humour. It's great for reading as a comfortable escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shooting in the Shop, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Janet (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a Simon Brett fan and have read the Fethering books in order. This one did not disappoint. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shooting in the Shop (Fethering Mysteries 11)
The Shooting in the Shop (Fethering Mysteries 11) by Simon Brett (Paperback - 4 Mar 2011)
£6.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews