Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Solidly entertaining, dark fantasy adventure.
Dark Moon is the second of the Changeling books that Steve Feasey has written. In a nutshell, they're dark fantasy books that focus on teenager Trey Laporte, who struggles to deal with his lycanthropy, the loss of his parents and any semblance of a normal life, living with his new guardian vampire Lucien Charron (a vampire) as he battles against the sinister forces of the...
Published on 6 Dec. 2009 by R. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best sequal
I bought this as the second book in the series due to realy enjoying the first one. This one though just didn't hold my interest near as well. The story line was a bit tired, I found myself skipping pages to find a bit worthy of carrying on to the end.
It does have good parts, but just that, parts.

Anyone who has read the first book may be dissapointed...
Published 13 months ago by BellasMum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Solidly entertaining, dark fantasy adventure., 6 Dec. 2009
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dark Moon is the second of the Changeling books that Steve Feasey has written. In a nutshell, they're dark fantasy books that focus on teenager Trey Laporte, who struggles to deal with his lycanthropy, the loss of his parents and any semblance of a normal life, living with his new guardian vampire Lucien Charron (a vampire) as he battles against the sinister forces of the Netherworld.

In the first Changeling book, Trey's life was turned upside down at the hands of the malevolent vampire lord Caliban. The victory against Caliban came at a price, with his foster father Lucien falling into a coma, and leaving his daughter Alexa scared and broken. Lucien's loved ones are determined to save him, and are sure that a mysterious artefact can bring him back to full health. But to get it...they'll have to challenge Caliban on his home turf.

So...what did I think? I must confess that I haven't read the first book, so I cannot make a comparison and must therefore judge it as a stand-alone tale. Putting it simply, Dark Moon was just a fun read from start-to-finish.

Steve Feasey presents his story with a nice, engrossing writing style. Nothing fancy, just simple good narrative that is clear and easy to follow. He also displays a fine vocabulary to further impress the reader and writes his characters (both protagonists and antagonists) with enough depth and development to make them fascinating to readers.

In terms of the plot, it's a typical rescue and confront mission, but it's executed very well. The journey comes complete with tension, good scares, drama and twists-and-turns along the way, as well as character spotlights and revelations. Trey's inner struggles are the highlight, along with his unique relationships with the different characters, Tom, Alexa, Charles and Lucien. The supporting cast each play a strong role in the events and the action is both sufficient and satisfying. Also, the main villains Caliban and Gwendolyn possess terrific menace and disturbing secrets, making them all the more effective baddies.

Content-wise, Dark Moon is perfectly suitable for teenagers. There are moments of violence but these are sporadic and the kind of mild stuff you'd expect in fantasy novels like this, meaning it isn't over the top and handled well. The overall swearing is quite mild, too, meaning that there's nothing to disapprove of, really.

Criticisms? There are times where Feasey tells more than he shows, and there were passages in the text that (to me) didn't read quite right. Like when he was describing some of the character's pasts and various action sequences. It's not that big of an issue, but I do feel some revising here and there would've helped the quality. There were quite a few loose ends as well, in terms of characters' traits and actions, particularly Trey and Alexa (which I hope will be resolved in the next book).

The biggest problem I had...was the sub-plot where one of Caliban's demons had infiltrated the Headquarters of Charron Industrial Inc. It starts off interesting, possessing certain staff members to try and bring down Lucien's empire from within. Parts of the sub-plot are well written indeed, but it does become quite dull and flat, especially when it focuses on a wimpy staff member, his marital woes and his clichéd problematic teenager. Compared to the heart of Dark Moon, this sub-plot is unnecessary and drags on. The conclusion to this part of the book has promise, which is soon rendered obsolete in the final pages, making it a real disappointment.

But on the whole, the story is a real treat. The showdowns, the tragic outcome, the interaction, the social/private moments outside of the adventure and the brilliant aftermath (which perfectly leads into the third book, Blood Wolf) further cement Dark Moon's quality. And there's a cracking self-assessment quiz after the story itself, which Steve has cleverly put together to identify what kind of `Nether-creature' the reader is. This is a good idea and reflects the fun factor of reading the story itself. Kids will certainly lap it up, and adults will surely raise a fond smile over this. I know I did.

Changeling: Dark Moon represents a great talent here. Having not read the first book didn't affect my enjoyment, as the author recaps the previous events nicely and does so in a way that doesn't bog down the flow of the current tale. Perhaps this book is not essential, but it's certainly recommended. As a stand-alone novel, it's terrific, and inspired me to check out the other Changeling volumes. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a story with some bite, 27 Aug. 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the sequel to Changeling.

Fourteen year old Trey Laporte discovered that he was the last hereditary werewolf only five months ago. He was fortunate that he was befriended by Lucien Charron, a vampire and the head of the Global Corporation - the Charron Industrial Inc. Charron Industrial Inc. is the public face of an organisation which battles against evil in the Netherworld.

At the end of the last book Lucien was in a coma, and Trey was left trying to control his inner werewolf with no help from his friend and mentor. This book picks up where the first one left off. Trey has to try to find a way of helping Lucien while combating Lucien's own brother Caliban and others from the Netherworld.

I have been reading this book to a friend's sons and all three boys love it, so much so I have purchased the first book in the series.

Since this is a continuation of the first story, I would recommend that you read the first book, Changeling, before you start this one. Although things are explained to a degree there are underlying areas of the story missing that are explained in the first book. The reason that I am getting the first book is because the boys want to know how it started.

I would recommend this book and its predecessor for any teen (and in my case adult), or better still read as a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter really enjoyed this second were-wolf book in the Changeling series, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I bought this for my daughter [15] at the same time as the first book, Changling [discover the beast within]. Both books are based around a fourteen-year-old werewolf called Trey who, rather like any teenage boy, is getting stronger by the day. So I suppose it's a typical lycanthropic 'coming of age' story. Rather like most netherworld romps there's also vampires - here the good vamps get on well with the werewolves but the bad vamps certainly don't. So it's not the cool indifference of 'Twilight' or the open warfare of 'Underworld'. I can't really say much else about this sequel's plot though, as it would rather ruin it for those who haven't read the first book yet [and beware of plot-spoilers in other reviews, if thats important to you].

My daughter loved both 'Changeling' books, giving them 4*, but then she is vampire fan-atic, having all the seasons of Buffy, Angel, The Dresden Files & Blood Ties and a collection of vampire movies/books. She found these changeling books 'an nice easy light read, that you could easily put down and pick up again. It's not a compulsive must read the next bit, but the books are interesting none the less'. This second book doesn't have any hint of a finish, the finale being largely setting up of the storyline for the next book in the series 'Changeling: Blood Wolf' - whose title does actually hint at the plot. Needless to say my daughter has bought and read this third book, which was published here in February 2010. So this Changeling series is recommended for any teenager who rather likes the vampire/werewolf genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed with a dark underbelly, 21 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lucien Charron is in a magical coma following his battle with his brother Caliban in CHANGELING. Only Mynor's Globe can cure him, but the Globe is held by Alexa's mother, Gwendolin, a sorceress consumed by black magic who lives with Caliban in the Tower of Leroth - a castle that moves between dimensions and can appear anywhere in the world.

Locating the castle is only the beginning of Trey's problems though when he, Alex and Tom are joined by Charles, an arrogant young magician who once dated Alexa. While they work on their plans, a mole within Lucien's organisation is reporting everything they do back to Caliban who is trying to revive the Draugr (undead creatures with superhuman strength and a grudge against humans) as part of his bid for world domination. With time running out, Trey and his friends launch a desperate assault on Caliban's stronghold, encountering battle angels, demons and evil magic that could destroy them all.

This fast-paced sequel picks up a few weeks after the events in CHANGELING. Trey is more comfortable with his powers but remains uncomfortably attracted to Alexa (who tantalisingly may have feelings for him). Charles is an interesting addition to the mix - arrogant but powerful he and Trey form a grudging friendship, which Feasey instils with humorous banter. Tom is given more of a role here and his love of guns and gruff charm is a nice counterpoint to the dark themes in the material.

The book favours action over character development, which is a shame as it means that Alexa's feelings about having to face the mother who abandoned her as a baby are brushed aside. However, Trey is beginning to become more rounded and there's some nice scenes where he unwillingly agrees to go shooting with Tom.

The best scenes are those featuring a Necrotoph (a parasitic demon that takes over human hosts). There's a chilling detachment to the writing, which really works to ramp up the tension and Feasey is refreshingly unsentimental when it comes to describing how the Necrotoph despatches of hosts that have outlived their usefulness. The battle angel that Trey encounters is also a frightening character with great potential to reappear later in the series.

Unfortunately the book ends on another cliffhanger which offers an intriguing premise for the next in this fun series, but which also makes for a frustrated wait for loyal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best sequal, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
I bought this as the second book in the series due to realy enjoying the first one. This one though just didn't hold my interest near as well. The story line was a bit tired, I found myself skipping pages to find a bit worthy of carrying on to the end.
It does have good parts, but just that, parts.

Anyone who has read the first book may be dissapointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changeling, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this book because I was desperate for something new to read & all the books out didn't appeal. I am now hooked & have the set. A teenage boy whose life is changed by a man arriving at the home he lives in who claims to be his uncle.... his life is then changed in ways he never imagined when he discovers he's more than just a normal 14 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Boys book, 17 Feb. 2012
By 
klynn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great kids book. Very reminiscent of the Point Horror and Artemius Fowl series smushed into one (minus the cutesy fairies).

Bear in mind it is part of a series although the story is pretty easy to pick up and the plot is so engaging you wouldn't know you'd missed a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changeling, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally love this book. I have read the first and second and am already engrossed. It very closely matches the Darren Shan series, and I cannot wait to read the next! And im only 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Brilliant second book by Feasey, a real page-turner. High tempo and exciting adventures, this book seems to be very hard to put down. Utterly captivating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really bloody brilliant. The relationships developed in the book are amazing between the characters. Can't wait to start the next book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Changeling: Dark Moon
Changeling: Dark Moon by Steve Feasey (Paperback - 7 Aug. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews