Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter really enjoyed this second were-wolf book in the Changeling series
I bought this for my daughter [15] at the same time as the first book, Changling [discover the beast within]. Both books are based around a fourteen-year-old werewolf called Trey who, rather like any teenage boy, is getting stronger by the day. So I suppose it's a typical lycanthropic 'coming of age' story. Rather like most netherworld romps there's also vampires - here...
Published on 23 Nov 2009 by Keith_Joseph

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best sequal
I bought this as the second book in the series due to realy enjoying the first one. This one though just didn't hold my interest near as well. The story line was a bit tired, I found myself skipping pages to find a bit worthy of carrying on to the end.
It does have good parts, but just that, parts.

Anyone who has read the first book may be dissapointed...
Published 7 months ago by BellasMum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My daughter really enjoyed this second were-wolf book in the Changeling series, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I bought this for my daughter [15] at the same time as the first book, Changling [discover the beast within]. Both books are based around a fourteen-year-old werewolf called Trey who, rather like any teenage boy, is getting stronger by the day. So I suppose it's a typical lycanthropic 'coming of age' story. Rather like most netherworld romps there's also vampires - here the good vamps get on well with the werewolves but the bad vamps certainly don't. So it's not the cool indifference of 'Twilight' or the open warfare of 'Underworld'. I can't really say much else about this sequel's plot though, as it would rather ruin it for those who haven't read the first book yet [and beware of plot-spoilers in other reviews, if thats important to you].

My daughter loved both 'Changeling' books, giving them 4*, but then she is vampire fan-atic, having all the seasons of Buffy, Angel, The Dresden Files & Blood Ties and a collection of vampire movies/books. She found these changeling books 'an nice easy light read, that you could easily put down and pick up again. It's not a compulsive must read the next bit, but the books are interesting none the less'. This second book doesn't have any hint of a finish, the finale being largely setting up of the storyline for the next book in the series 'Changeling: Blood Wolf' - whose title does actually hint at the plot. Needless to say my daughter has bought and read this third book, which was published here in February 2010. So this Changeling series is recommended for any teenager who rather likes the vampire/werewolf genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed with a dark underbelly, 21 Oct 2009
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lucien Charron is in a magical coma following his battle with his brother Caliban in CHANGELING. Only Mynor's Globe can cure him, but the Globe is held by Alexa's mother, Gwendolin, a sorceress consumed by black magic who lives with Caliban in the Tower of Leroth - a castle that moves between dimensions and can appear anywhere in the world.

Locating the castle is only the beginning of Trey's problems though when he, Alex and Tom are joined by Charles, an arrogant young magician who once dated Alexa. While they work on their plans, a mole within Lucien's organisation is reporting everything they do back to Caliban who is trying to revive the Draugr (undead creatures with superhuman strength and a grudge against humans) as part of his bid for world domination. With time running out, Trey and his friends launch a desperate assault on Caliban's stronghold, encountering battle angels, demons and evil magic that could destroy them all.

This fast-paced sequel picks up a few weeks after the events in CHANGELING. Trey is more comfortable with his powers but remains uncomfortably attracted to Alexa (who tantalisingly may have feelings for him). Charles is an interesting addition to the mix - arrogant but powerful he and Trey form a grudging friendship, which Feasey instils with humorous banter. Tom is given more of a role here and his love of guns and gruff charm is a nice counterpoint to the dark themes in the material.

The book favours action over character development, which is a shame as it means that Alexa's feelings about having to face the mother who abandoned her as a baby are brushed aside. However, Trey is beginning to become more rounded and there's some nice scenes where he unwillingly agrees to go shooting with Tom.

The best scenes are those featuring a Necrotoph (a parasitic demon that takes over human hosts). There's a chilling detachment to the writing, which really works to ramp up the tension and Feasey is refreshingly unsentimental when it comes to describing how the Necrotoph despatches of hosts that have outlived their usefulness. The battle angel that Trey encounters is also a frightening character with great potential to reappear later in the series.

Unfortunately the book ends on another cliffhanger which offers an intriguing premise for the next in this fun series, but which also makes for a frustrated wait for loyal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best sequal, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
I bought this as the second book in the series due to realy enjoying the first one. This one though just didn't hold my interest near as well. The story line was a bit tired, I found myself skipping pages to find a bit worthy of carrying on to the end.
It does have good parts, but just that, parts.

Anyone who has read the first book may be dissapointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changeling, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally love this book. I have read the first and second and am already engrossed. It very closely matches the Darren Shan series, and I cannot wait to read the next! And im only 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changeling, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this book because I was desperate for something new to read & all the books out didn't appeal. I am now hooked & have the set. A teenage boy whose life is changed by a man arriving at the home he lives in who claims to be his uncle.... his life is then changed in ways he never imagined when he discovers he's more than just a normal 14 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OHMYGODSUCHAGOODREAD!!!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If u could read the title, then you would understand that I thought this was an excellent book, a great sequel to the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a great book and I really enjoyed it. Buy the book you won't be disappointed. BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Boys book, 17 Feb 2012
By 
klynn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great kids book. Very reminiscent of the Point Horror and Artemius Fowl series smushed into one (minus the cutesy fairies).

Bear in mind it is part of a series although the story is pretty easy to pick up and the plot is so engaging you wouldn't know you'd missed a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Brilliant second book by Feasey, a real page-turner. High tempo and exciting adventures, this book seems to be very hard to put down. Utterly captivating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Sg Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Changeling: Dark Moon (Paperback)
Its a great book glad I got it cant wait for the next book in the series awesome stuff buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Changeling: Dark Moon
Changeling: Dark Moon by Steve Feasey (Paperback - 7 Aug 2009)
£5.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews