Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book
great book, if you like smuggling story's this is the book for you. easy read with a story that will keep you turning the pages
Published on 7 Nov 2012 by glax

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Leaves out a lot. He gets a bit misty eyes towards the end. But all in all not a bad read. Just do not expect too much.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. T. P. Bedingfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
great book, if you like smuggling story's this is the book for you. easy read with a story that will keep you turning the pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Mark Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
a good book and a great read, I managed to finish it in a week with an extremely busy work load, the book just flows and is hard to put down, its a story of an incredible adventure of which you start think "what a life" it is just a shame they got caught in the end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
I don't usually leave reviews but such was the quality of the writing with this book I had to.

I read a lot of crime based autobiography's and some times they are poorly wrote, but this had the effect of a page turning adventure that just kept me going and kept me on the edge of my seat (well bed). This needs to be transformed into a film. I even passed it on to my little brother who smashed through it in one coach journey to Manchester and back.

The best book I have read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
An interesting rollercoaster ride in the life of an opportunist. A book that has you gripped to see what happens next. Easy to follow the twists and turns of a man on a mission, an excitment junkie as opposed to a drug junkie. Cant condone what he did, although unlike others, hard drugs was a no no, its an amazing read of a man who made vast amounts of money living on his wits. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the quote from Howard Marks on the cover page. I did not think this book would be as good as Mr Nice but it was (maybe even better)! If you like Howard Mark's Mr Nice, you will LOVE Blow Back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a character, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
Compares well with Howard Marks offerings but the book is a lot shorter than the likes of Mr Nice. The various tales in this book are entertaining and the story is well presented but I wish there was more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 16 Jan 2011
By 
L. Calcott (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler (Paperback)
Amazing book, if you are into this genre you will find it painfully unputdownable. mixes humour and very illegal activities down to a tee and all descriptions are vivid and imaginative. Like all these other reviews, simple awesome book read a chapter a night and didn't want to put it down at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Forwell - Blowback, 13 Aug 2009
By 
This is a top read, especially if you also read and enjoyed Reefer men. Where as Reefer men is about the loose business connection between like minded men that came together to smuggle vast quantities of dope in the 70's such as the Shafer brothers, Brian Daniels, Michael Forwell etc. Blowback is Michel Forwells story, and what a story it is - you wont be able to this one down. I would also recommend Smugglers Blues & Lone Brit on Block 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, Scarey, Prophetic and Sad., 19 Sep 2010
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a roller coaster of a book.
Read it cover to cover in 2 days.
It's a fatastic yarn about an extremely eventful life smuggling dope across the world. From initial small runs to the downfall when trying to ship 70+ tons.
Oddly enough it all comes crumbling down around his ears when he breaks his own laws and rules.

It's also very sad in some respects. I really feel for him when he loses all his friends, and those he has dies or turns on him in the end. The reactions of everyone concerned is understandable though. When each of them realises they are doing 15+ years in prison they each desperately seek a way to reduce that.
I also have mixed feelings about what he did. Like Howard Marks I never got the sense these were 'bad' men per se. It wasn't Guns or Class A drugs here. It was Cannabis and I've seen in Holland where it's managed properly and freely available there are few concerns with it. I personally feel that Cannabis will be legalised in my lifetime. (Currently legal in 9 states in the USA, with 13 more starting process to legalise it, despite it still being against Federal Law. Holland and Portugal have shown along with California and others that legalising it doesn't produce a nation of zombies and indeed offers many benefits)I get the impression from many prison officers, psychologists and police officers that they themselves feel more damage and problems are created by Class A drugs and alcohol than Cannabis. There's also many that feel like I do it will legalised and all those in jail now will feel badly put upon. However at the end of the day the trade etc. is illegal and be it as it may, if you get caught then you have to acknowledge the consequence.

One small point that really didn't sit well with me was to har that as usual the USA has bent the rule book and intercepted shipping in international waters to prosecute it's policy. I dunno, recently the war in Iraq, Afghanistan, and extraditions from around the world, I start to see the USA as more and more the problem and not the solution, not the pacifist peacemaker it tries to tell everyone it is. Seen the TV show cops? who thinks that makes their legal system look good? If I'm starting to have doubts (Middle class white collar worker in international banking) then perhaps many others are too.
Finally I see just recently they've banned a teen from the USA for life for calling Mr Obama an unpleasant name. Where's the Freedom of Speech they go on about so much? No, i think the author was breaking the law and when he got caught then he knew what to expect BUT I definately think that boarding shipping in International Waters to catch him doing it was more than a little suspect I am surprised a good lawyer ddn't get him off.

Still an excellent yarn and definately an interesting character. Worth a read from whatever side of the fence you're on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book from start to finish. I couldn't put it down. READ IT!!

Amazing journey about a man who had it all but ended up broke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler
Blowback: Adventures of a Dope Smuggler by Lee Bullman (Paperback - 1 Jan 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews