Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from Scalzi
The Conclave, a collective of over 400 alien species, has declared any attempts at colonisation by non-conclave members on any planet will be met with the removal of the colony. The CDF, not a member of the conclave, plans to make a mockery of the conclave by setting up a new colony and leaking false information about its whereabouts.

To run this colony a...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by Mark Chitty

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel
With this Scalzi brings his "Old Man's War" sequence to a finish (though it appears that his latest "Zoe's War" is also set in the same sequence, just giving a different perspective on the action).

Old Man's War was a fine example of military S. F., giving a fresh perspective. However the two sequels seem to have progressively run out of invention and I think...
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by G. Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel, 8 Oct 2008
By 
G. Kent "gek3" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With this Scalzi brings his "Old Man's War" sequence to a finish (though it appears that his latest "Zoe's War" is also set in the same sequence, just giving a different perspective on the action).

Old Man's War was a fine example of military S. F., giving a fresh perspective. However the two sequels seem to have progressively run out of invention and I think the author is right to now draw a line, at least for now, under the sequence to look elsewhere. Because it offers little new, I was disappointed by it. It is competently written and concentrates on the politics rather than the military action in this Universe.

Basically, the protagonist Perry and his wife, recently retired from the military and put back in true human bodies, become colonial administrators and lead a new colony. The Colonial Government it is as duplicitous and questionable as it has emerged as being earlier in the sequence.

If you have read the prequels you you will probably want to read this to see how it pans out. If you have not read them, do not read this with out having read the earlier works. Old Man's War is a must read for anyone who likes military SF. Its successors do not reach that high level of gripping the reader. Hence my rating, though I stress there is nothing wrong with the work, it just falls short of its predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from Scalzi, 1 Sep 2008
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
The Conclave, a collective of over 400 alien species, has declared any attempts at colonisation by non-conclave members on any planet will be met with the removal of the colony. The CDF, not a member of the conclave, plans to make a mockery of the conclave by setting up a new colony and leaking false information about its whereabouts.

To run this colony a family is chosen, one with a history and capabilities that can help it succeed. John Perry, a CDF veteran with a decorated history; Jane Sagan, a former CDF special forces intelligence officer with knowledge usually reserved for the highest ranking CDF officers; and Zoe Boutin, daughter to the traitor Charles Boutin and now worshipped by the Obin for her fathers work in bringing them consciousness.

But the colony is not told of its secret until they arrive at the planet and find themselves unable to use technology for fear of bringing the conclave to them. Will the colony survive and, more importantly for the CDF, will their plan to break the conclave work?

We once again return to the Old Man's War universe, this time with familiar characters from both the previous novels. John and Jane are already well flushed out characters, but put in a new situation it gives a new light to them. We've seen them in the Colonial Defense Force but now we get treated to normal family life, at least for a while, before they're thrown into the situation of being cut off from civilisation.

The rest of the characters, ranging from politicians to farmers and all in between, are nicely flushed out. The motivations and ideals they hold are well defined and interesting to see mixed together. The situation they are in gives Scalzi a good stage to develop them further than I would have thought, and by telling people they can't use technology it explores what a lot of people these days would feel very uncomfortable with. He does it with ease and style, a couple of the reasons that his books are so readable.

What I've noticed the most about Scalzi's writing is the way it has developed through the three books. Old Man's War was all first person and although there was good description at times, it wasn't about that. It was about telling the story. The Ghost Brigades stepped away from that point of view and included some info-dumping sections that sometimes felt a little, well, info-dumping. This time we have some first person, some third person and the info-dumping is a lot less obvious. It's there, don't be mistaken, but this time it just feels smoother.

All the things I've come to expect from a John Scalzi novel were here again this time, although the humour to a lesser extent (and that's something I really did enjoy about Old Man's War). I wasn't disappointed, and with the high expectations I had I can't praise it any more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Ending to a Riveting Series, 17 Nov 2008
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a refreshing change to the usual never ending repetitive series that often start off well, but drag on too long trying to squeeze the last penny out of the reader's pocket. Nope John Scalzi has resisted the tempation and the three book series is all the better for it. Together they make up a proper begining, middle and end, each being self contained but with of course the previous book to build on.

The Last Colony is less violent and much less of a "space opera", than the Old Man's War and in particular Chost Brigades. It is however well written and with enough action to keep most happy. There are some good plot twists and a bit of ambiguity when it comes to in book political manouvering. It makes for an intelligent but not demanding read.

The book is also short and snappy. Whilst like many I rather enjoy the Peter F Hamilton door stops it's also refreshing to read a book that will actually fit in a small bag. You could concievably put all three books into a one book tomb although each book to be fair does have it's own individual flavour.

Overall I'd recommend this to sci-fi fans who enjoyed the EE Doc Smith books in their childhood but now read the Hamilton mammoth titles and who are game for a short, thoughtful and interesting series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Finale, 26 Feb 2009
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
I was going to write a lengthy review of The Last Colony but after a couple of attempts gave up and decided to keep it brief.

This is the third book in John Scalzi's series following the varying adventures of John Perry, Jane Sagan and their adopted daughter Zoe. The previous two books are Old Man's War and The Ghost Brigades, both of which I can highly recommend (and have reviewed previously).

The Lost Colony maintains the standards set by the two preceding books. Scalzi is an immensely talented author with a style that is incredibly accessible and shot full of wit, warmth and a sense of humanity. This third book wraps up the various plots and subplots from Old Man's War and Ghost Brigades in a highly satisfying fashion. I would strongly recommend reading both those books before embarking on this one. If you already have completed them and loved them as much as I did you will not be disappointed by this final chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last but not least of the OMW saga, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
Not to be read as a stand alone book but interesting sci fi with lots of twists and turns along the way. The characters are developed in this last episode but cannot escape from what is an ongoing war story which will not be to everyones taste . I enjoyed the book for what it was with its contacts with intelligent alien races and background governmental human conspiracies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last in the Old Man's War trilogy... kind of., 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
The Last Colony and the fourth book in the series Zoe's Tale cover the same time period from two different points of view. Accidentally reading Zoe's Tale before the Last Colony didn't actually detract from the story at all!

While they don't have the pop pop pop! of the first two books, Old Mans War and The Ghost Brigades, they are still a thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as many typographical errors as some e-books, 4 Nov 2014
By 
Justin Tan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got to about 82% and a whole paragraph was repeated, couple repeated words.

If this is the type of thing that annoys you, leave a review to enact some change.

The story is great, of course, not up to Old Man's War universe expansion or Ghost Brigade's in depth look at specfor, but good in its own agricultural/political way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok way to end trilogy that ran its course, 8 Oct 2008
By 
J. Fraser (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not as much fun as Old Man's War and The Ghost Brigades, but it is fairly short, easy to read and it does a good job of concluding the trilogy. So if you read the first two books it is worth reading this one just to see how the story ends. If you haven't read them, then do so first as they have most of the fun and the best ideas of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not getting all arty about this -its a good read, 13 Aug 2009
By 
CjW "chris" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Colony (Paperback)
I like this chaps work -it is not a mind boggling masterpiece,
but it is a good fun read.

I'm not going to get all arty and f**ty about it - I'll leave that to others with more time -but its a good holiday or bedtime read and a good break from the humdrum of reality - since there is none whatsoever in the story!

Enjoy and be happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rollercoaster, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
superb book, kept you guessing what was happening next, cant wait for the last book to find out whtat the hellis going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Colony
The Last Colony by John Scalzi (Paperback - 5 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews