Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting
The Dragonfly Pool is an enchanting book, about a very determined girl an a world that is slowly being torn apart.
The book begins in a mysterious way, that leaves the reader alittle confused, however, all is revealed later on. Then Tally leaves her home to go to a boarding school, which has very slack rules and unusual teachers. The story progresses to a school trip...
Published on 21 Jun. 2009 by classic kid

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this a book for children?
I started reading this and very soon began to wonder if I had picked a book from the children's section by mistake. It is a cross between Noel Streatfield and Enid Blyton. Having finished it, I'm still not sure if it is a book written for adults. A so-called progressive school where there are almost no rules and yet all the children are wonderfully behaved who, despite...
Published 6 months ago by Herkiel


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 21 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
The Dragonfly Pool is an enchanting book, about a very determined girl an a world that is slowly being torn apart.
The book begins in a mysterious way, that leaves the reader alittle confused, however, all is revealed later on. Then Tally leaves her home to go to a boarding school, which has very slack rules and unusual teachers. The story progresses to a school trip abroad, where the children meet the Crown Prince of Berganina, and witness the KIngs assasination and Germanys take over of the country. The chidren smuggle the Prince out of Bergania and back to England where the story continues with various twists and turns.

The story is very enjoable and emotional. There are some lessons to be learnt by reading this story, whilst you still have a brilliant reading experience. A MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly magical tale about a feisty girl's adventure, lightly set against a WW2 backdrop., 27 Feb. 2009
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Hardcover)
This is a warm and dazzling tale set against a backdrop of WW2, and although the darkness of wartime Britain provides the context, this doesn't impinge upon the light and magic of the story. With a feisty little girl, an unusual school, a school trip abroad, and a normal little boy who happens to be the Prince of Bergania, there's mystery, uncertainty and some danger. However with great friends, faith and determination, we reach a wonderful and liberating ending.
From the very beginning The Dragonfly Pool flows with a gentle dreamlike quality and humour drawing the reader right into the story. The almost ethereal quality of the storytelling belies the strength of the bravery and determination of the characters and the underlying thought-provoking message about the choices a person may have to make about right and wrong, and doing your duty versus following your heart.
This is a fantastic book and will, I am sure, have a timeless appeal to children from around age 8. Every child will want to be a student at Tally's bohemian school and to be part of her adventure to the beautiful country of Bergania. And I do too. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Enchanting, 11 July 2011
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
I would use the words `utterly enchanting' to describe `The Dragonfly Pool.' Not only is one of my favourite Eva Ibbotson novels, it is one of my favourite novels full stop!

It tells the story of Tally, a clever young girl who is sent away to a progressive school in the south of England. Having spent a structured life, she finds it difficult to adapt. However, Delterton Hall, is located in the most beautiful place and she meets wonderful people, such as Julia, a talented actress with a guarded secret and Matteo, her charismatic yet unpredictable biology teacher. Tally's life is forever changed when she learns about an idyllic country, Bergania, whose king attempts to stand up to Hitler...

Tally is such a wonderful full-formed character. She is practical, independent, determined and so loving. She brightens the lives of those around her (including those reading the book!!) and she is instantly likeable. The story itself is very gripping, you are eager read through it. The writing style is neither too formal or informal, but the perfect harmony of both. Some books are a chore to read but this is not one of them. I assure you that it is a pleasure and a joy.

There is magical, enchanting element to this book and it stays with you long after you have finished it. I urge you to go ahead and explore Tally's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb book, 25 Jan. 2009
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Hardcover)
I have yet to read anything by Eva Ibbotson - whether her children's books, or her books for adults - that hasn't enchanted me, and this is no exception. Full of delightful characters, warmth and adventure, it's a treat from start to finish. I hope she has many more books in her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this a book for children?, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this and very soon began to wonder if I had picked a book from the children's section by mistake. It is a cross between Noel Streatfield and Enid Blyton. Having finished it, I'm still not sure if it is a book written for adults. A so-called progressive school where there are almost no rules and yet all the children are wonderfully behaved who, despite Europe on the brink of war, travel to take part in a folk festival in a small country in its heart . There is an assassinated king, a little orphaned prince, even a wicked grandfather. It is so unbelievable that it reads like a fantasy. The writing is OK but, sorry, this is not for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and moving tale, 30 Mar. 2011
By 
C. L. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
Set against the backdrop of the second World War this is a beautiful and moving tale of friendship and adventure. Eva Ibbotson's heroine is intelligent, fiesty and loyal to her new found friend. The story addresses issues of lonliness, prejudice and the power of friendship. A lovely book perfect for both girls and boys of 9 years upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dragonfly Pool, 22 May 2009
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
Dragonfly pool is a exiting story it engages people to keep on reading.Dragonfly pool is the first one i have read so far and i hope the other ones are as good.From a 9 year old reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is actually 4.5 stars, because the kindle won't let you do halves. This is a great book, with a great storyline, but I think it could have ended a bit earlier (like when Tally and Karil get reunited) and didn't have to have Matteo becoming president of Bergania and stuff. It is for 10-12 year olds (I am 10). My only criticism is that it had missing punctuation, incorrect spellings and words joined together (e.g. "notreally"shesaid.) I know that that is mainly the editors fault but still. Other than that, it was extraordinarilyamazinglygood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Sweet!, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
M. R. Butler (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so cute! The characters are endearing, their personaties shine through. This book is worth reading just for its fabulous characters. There aren't any stupid overused cliches that are so common in childrens' books nowadays. Overall, a very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting in its way but very dated., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was written as a children's book, but that's not made obvious. It's "Enid Blyton" stuff. That said, I (as a grandmother) quite enjoyed it but I wonder if it would appeal to most modern day children for whom the ideas of boarding school routine and World War II are fairly far removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dragonfly Pool
The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson (Paperback - 3 April 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews