Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly magical tale about a feisty girl's adventure, lightly set against a WW2 backdrop.
This is a warm and dazzling tale set against a backdrop of WW2, and although the darkness of wartime Britain provides the context, this doesn't impinge upon the light and magic of the story. With a feisty little girl, an unusual school, a school trip abroad, and a normal little boy who happens to be the Prince of Bergania, there's mystery, uncertainty and some danger...
Published on 27 Feb 2009 by ELH Browning

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing punctuation
A good story but punctuation missing a lot. Probably best for 10-11 year olds. A great book for those who loved Mallory towers when they were younger! It is hard to read in places where full stop s have been abandoned. There are some good elements to the story but it dragged out a lot in places.
Published 11 months ago by Holly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly magical tale about a feisty girl's adventure, lightly set against a WW2 backdrop., 27 Feb 2009
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Hardcover)
This is a warm and dazzling tale set against a backdrop of WW2, and although the darkness of wartime Britain provides the context, this doesn't impinge upon the light and magic of the story. With a feisty little girl, an unusual school, a school trip abroad, and a normal little boy who happens to be the Prince of Bergania, there's mystery, uncertainty and some danger. However with great friends, faith and determination, we reach a wonderful and liberating ending.
From the very beginning The Dragonfly Pool flows with a gentle dreamlike quality and humour drawing the reader right into the story. The almost ethereal quality of the storytelling belies the strength of the bravery and determination of the characters and the underlying thought-provoking message about the choices a person may have to make about right and wrong, and doing your duty versus following your heart.
This is a fantastic book and will, I am sure, have a timeless appeal to children from around age 8. Every child will want to be a student at Tally's bohemian school and to be part of her adventure to the beautiful country of Bergania. And I do too. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 21 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
The Dragonfly Pool is an enchanting book, about a very determined girl an a world that is slowly being torn apart.
The book begins in a mysterious way, that leaves the reader alittle confused, however, all is revealed later on. Then Tally leaves her home to go to a boarding school, which has very slack rules and unusual teachers. The story progresses to a school trip abroad, where the children meet the Crown Prince of Berganina, and witness the KIngs assasination and Germanys take over of the country. The chidren smuggle the Prince out of Bergania and back to England where the story continues with various twists and turns.

The story is very enjoable and emotional. There are some lessons to be learnt by reading this story, whilst you still have a brilliant reading experience. A MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb book, 25 Jan 2009
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Hardcover)
I have yet to read anything by Eva Ibbotson - whether her children's books, or her books for adults - that hasn't enchanted me, and this is no exception. Full of delightful characters, warmth and adventure, it's a treat from start to finish. I hope she has many more books in her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Enchanting, 11 July 2011
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
I would use the words `utterly enchanting' to describe `The Dragonfly Pool.' Not only is one of my favourite Eva Ibbotson novels, it is one of my favourite novels full stop!

It tells the story of Tally, a clever young girl who is sent away to a progressive school in the south of England. Having spent a structured life, she finds it difficult to adapt. However, Delterton Hall, is located in the most beautiful place and she meets wonderful people, such as Julia, a talented actress with a guarded secret and Matteo, her charismatic yet unpredictable biology teacher. Tally's life is forever changed when she learns about an idyllic country, Bergania, whose king attempts to stand up to Hitler...

Tally is such a wonderful full-formed character. She is practical, independent, determined and so loving. She brightens the lives of those around her (including those reading the book!!) and she is instantly likeable. The story itself is very gripping, you are eager read through it. The writing style is neither too formal or informal, but the perfect harmony of both. Some books are a chore to read but this is not one of them. I assure you that it is a pleasure and a joy.

There is magical, enchanting element to this book and it stays with you long after you have finished it. I urge you to go ahead and explore Tally's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dragonfly Pool, 22 May 2009
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
Dragonfly pool is a exiting story it engages people to keep on reading.Dragonfly pool is the first one i have read so far and i hope the other ones are as good.From a 9 year old reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dragonfly pool, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
I have never read and Eva Ibbotson book that I haven't fallen in love with, the dragon fly pool is one of favourite books. It is a very beautiful book with lots of twist and turns. the book is set around to main charactors, Tally and Kairl, they live in two completly differnt worlds but their paths cross at the Dragon fly pool. A MUST READ FOR ALL ADVENTURE LOVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and moving tale, 30 Mar 2011
By 
C. L. Cooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
Set against the backdrop of the second World War this is a beautiful and moving tale of friendship and adventure. Eva Ibbotson's heroine is intelligent, fiesty and loyal to her new found friend. The story addresses issues of lonliness, prejudice and the power of friendship. A lovely book perfect for both girls and boys of 9 years upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Sweet!, 16 Feb 2011
By 
M. R. Butler (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is so cute! The characters are endearing, their personaties shine through. This book is worth reading just for its fabulous characters. There aren't any stupid overused cliches that are so common in childrens' books nowadays. Overall, a very enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For reading out loud, 9 Oct 2009
By 
K. McInerney (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
Reading the story out loud to my 8 year old daughter at bed time. A bit hard for her to read on her own as sentence construction is quite advanced.
Loving the story and the characters - a little like a cinderella story so far. Description of rain forest scenes is vivid and inspiring - fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 6 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Dragonfly Pool (Paperback)
This is my favourite Eva Ibbotson book by a mile (I even prefer it to Journey to the River Sea!). Ibbotson is an insanely talented writer with the ability to create engaging, memorable characters who really get under your skin, and The Dragonfly Pool is no exception. This book was a joy to read. Recommended to anyone who enjoys a good old adventure story with real depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dragonfly Pool
The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson (Paperback - 3 April 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews