Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We can still count on Dick Francis
It's been a long while since I read a book by Dick Francis, having missed last year's UNDER ORDERS. For years I watched eagerly for his annual offering and many of them still hold a place on my shelves. I'm delighted that after the sad death of his wife Mary, a new collaboration with son Felix is producing such solid material.

In usual Francis fashion, the...
Published on 21 Nov. 2007 by Linda Bulger

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many typing errors
I purchased Kindle Book Dead Heat by Dick Francis and Felix Francis.
The book downloaded OK. However, the book is full of typing errors. Wrong letters in word (eg VV instead of W), incorrect spelling of word so it loses context. The proof reading was extremely poor.
Often the incorrect word is a real word so spell check would miss it. Other times, error...
Published 20 months ago by RayB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We can still count on Dick Francis, 21 Nov. 2007
By 
Linda Bulger (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's been a long while since I read a book by Dick Francis, having missed last year's UNDER ORDERS. For years I watched eagerly for his annual offering and many of them still hold a place on my shelves. I'm delighted that after the sad death of his wife Mary, a new collaboration with son Felix is producing such solid material.

In usual Francis fashion, the protagonist is a pleasant fellow with a connection to British horse racing; in this case, Max Moreton of Newmarket, a young Michelin-recognized chef. Moreton unknowingly caters a poisoned dinner on the eve of the prestigious 2,000 Guineas race, and on Guineas Day he is again catering when the site is blown up. Max's kitchen is closed and he's served with a notice of prosecution under the Food Safety Act.

To complete the tale of Max's woes, the brakes are cut on his car and his house is burned down. This is fairly standard for a Dick Francis protagonist, and Max withstands it all with the usual philosophical attitude. Max may be less edgy than some of Francis characters, and as a result less compelling.

DEAD HEAT varies in a few subtle ways from Formula Francis. For one thing, there's little of the racing world in evidence. No dawn rides in the misty Sussex training paddocks; no intrigue among the jockeys in their distinctive racing colors; no stables, spotless or otherwise, with the "lads" tending to the horses; no parade ring with the victorious horses steaming and tossing their heads while exultant owners brandish gaudy prize mugs. I never thought I loved Francis' books for the racing, but to my surprise, I missed it.

Another subtle difference in this book is that Max seems oddly devoid of friends and family. The story would have benefited from a few more characters to swell his progress. True, the point is made that a chef's working hours interfere with personal relationships; but a few more fully-drawn characters would have rounded the book out.

Ah, and the love interest. Charming, but possibly a bit too slick? The lovely Caroline fell into his lap a bit too easily.

But with those provisos, DEAD HEAT is well done and satisfying, with unexpected flashes of humor, and the good guy wins in the end. Definitely recommended if it's your kind of book, and let's cross our fingers that the Francis dynasty continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many typing errors, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased Kindle Book Dead Heat by Dick Francis and Felix Francis.
The book downloaded OK. However, the book is full of typing errors. Wrong letters in word (eg VV instead of W), incorrect spelling of word so it loses context. The proof reading was extremely poor.
Often the incorrect word is a real word so spell check would miss it. Other times, error should be picked up by spell check. There must be at least 50 errors in book (about one every 3 pages) which made reading the book annoying.
The book needs to be proof read and corrected (up issued) before it is sold to anyone else.
The basic story is a reasonable standard of Dick Francis/Felix Francis so if the book had been produced correctly, I would have given 3 to 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Heart-pounding, nail-bitingly exciting story will have you reading in a feverish frenzy to get to the end!, 12 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dead Heat (Paperback)
Highly acclaimed, bestselling author Dick Francis returned after a six-year absence with `Under Orders' much to the delight of both avid readers and horse racing fans alike. His exceptional writing-style, detailed and intricately woven, cleverly crafted plots fueled by such dramatic, intense narrative is outstanding. As a horse racing enthusiast, Dick Francis is an author who stands-out above all the rest as a master of his craft, taking the `sport of kings' to a wider-readership than ever before with his crime/ thriller novels. Fast-paced and brimmed full of unexpected twists and turns that have you sat on the edge of your seat in suspense throughout, this book is one that I have re-read many times and which is a firm favorite. Not only appealing to those interested in the Racing game, Dick Francis' books appeal to such a wide-readership as those who enjoy well-written narrative with a bite; that is great for an enjoyable read and something that you can dip into anytime.

Dead Heat is set against the backdrop of Britain's famed Two Thousand Guineas Stakes, with Max Morton working in the Newmarket restaurant `the hay net'. He is a young, rising culinary star whose widening circle of admirers and great acclaim gives him bold aspirations as a chef. However, when on one particular occasion that his dining guests fall prey to severe food poisoning at a private catered affair, Max's reputation takes a hit as well as his shuttered kitchen. If things couldn't get any worse a bomb explodes in one of the racecourse's private boxes, killing some of Max's trusted staff together with many of the guests. As the survivors are rushed to the hospital Max is left pondering over recent events and his career that is now in tatters...complete with romance, violins and a cacophony of culinary crimes this spectacular story professes Francis' greatness.

This page-turner is a fantastic read that you can read in a rush (adding to the drama in the book), or at a more leisurely pace as you tuck into cucumber sandwiches whilst watching the 3.15 at Cheltenham with your girlfriends. Fantastic fiction at its very best this book magnificently merges together the racecourse with a crime investigation, beautifully captured by the quantity of detailed research that makes this story so compelling and believable. All of Dick Francis' books you can envisage as something `real' for it is his personal perspective on racing and his life experiences that make his work more than just fiction, but something so tangible that it has depth, meaning and truth-drawing clarity. Dead Heat is just spectacular and which I highly recommend as an enjoyable, gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Dick Francis read, 27 April 2014
By 
T. Cunningham "Tamois" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really adored the story of this book, in particular the descriptions of the food he cooks and tastes (this is probably because I'm a chef!).
The only thing that stopped it being the best novel I've read in years were the numerous spelling errors. Please could someone proof read this and reissue it, then I will enjoy re reading it in a couple of years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm used to lots of research going into the subject of any of Mr Francis' books, and always find it informative. This was no exception, and as someone who has previously worked in catering and being a pianist, it was nice to naturally understand what was being written about - from his other books I have learnt a little about film acting, diamonds and piloting, amongst other subjects

The book was enjoyable, and like most of his others, I read this one in about 3 days. The hero wasn't as alluring as some of his heroes, but still likeable. The story kept going at a good pace. The plot was easy to keep track of, and the actions of all characters were understandable.

Thanks for a great read, looking forward to reading the next release (coming soon, I hope!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Caldwell "Caldjac" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didnt think that he could write a better book than "to the Hilt" but he has surpassed himself with Dead Heat as it kept me spellbound for the entire storyline much to my partners disgust.

If you are a DF fan or even just a fan of intrigue \ mystery then this is a definate must as it is truly captivating right up until the final few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected, 7 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Dead Heat (Paperback)
I picked up a couple of Dick Francis books because they were on special offer. One was For Kicks and the other Dead Heat. I read For Kicks first as it was older and found it really boring, the characters poor and the hero unengaging. So I had low expectations for Dead Heat but enjoyed it much more. There was less about horse racing so it was instantly more interesting and I found the plot much better. It still suffered from the 'tie the hero to a chair and explain the villain's motivation' moment that spoils the ending of so many thrillers but that aside it was a good read. Felix's contribution was obviously much needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to His Very Best With This One, 26 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When Dick Francis stopped writing for personal reasons, which need not be mentioned here. It left a huge void, that was never really filled, although there are many authors with a horse racing background, writing books today. Most of them are very good, but none of them have the magic touch of Dick Francis. This is Dick Francis's latest novel. Before that he had written in excess of 35 novels. Many short stories, his autobiography and the biography of arguably the greatest jockey that ever lived, Lester Piggott.

After a spell out of the `saddle' as far as his writing career goes, Dick Francis returned with Under Orders, which many critics claimed was not as good as his previous novel. I have no hesitation in saying I was not one of them. Bad authors do not begin best seller authors overnight and Dick Francis had not lost his writing ability when he wrote Under Orders.

Some people claim that you have to have an interest in horse racing to enjoy the books of Dick Francis. I think that this is nonsense. I have not interest whatsoever in gambling or horse racing, although I do have a love of horses. I think that Dick Francis has written one of his best ever books with Dead Heat. How he comes up with all these different plots I will n ever know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Francis cooks up a great plot, 30 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Dead Heat (Paperback)
Max Moreton, a creative chef with his star on the rise, finds his prospects blunted when numerous people (including himself) fall violently ill after consuming a dinner he and his staff prepared at Newmarket. To protect his reputation and that of his restaurant, The Hay Net, Moreton makes it his goal to clear his name and establish how the food poisoning happened. Once he starts poking in to areas not of his concern our hero finds not just his livelihood but his life at risk. A rattling good plot in true Francis style. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great plotting as ever, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Dead Heat opens with Max Moreton, professional chef, once youngest winner of his first Michelin star, facing ruin the morning after cooking a gala dinner at Newmarket racecourse because, like most of the other guests, he is suffering acute food poisoning. However, this potential career killer is overshadowed by events the next day as he serves a private dinner at Newmarket racecourse and like all of Francis' best novels the reader is pitched headfirst into a breakneck ride of violence and swerving plot that keeps you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Heat
Dead Heat by Felix Francis (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews