Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Cults & Conspiritors
In this installment of investigative journalism, Jon Ronson peers behind the scenes of British TV's "Deal or No Deal" where he discovers obsessive participants holed up in their hotel believing that the show's "Banker" is watching and listening to their every move. He investigates the phenomenon of the "Indigo Children" where some parents would prefer to believe that...
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Green Man Music

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The same old Stories
I love the way Jon Ronson writes and always amusing. I used to really look forward to buying his books but now as most of his books repeat stories already told in past books. I am really hesitant as I feel as if I am buying half or a quarter of a book. Bit lazy really Jon and your books have ceased to be value for money. I don't want to buy them purely to save myself the...
Published 5 months ago by Catherine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Cults & Conspiritors, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
In this installment of investigative journalism, Jon Ronson peers behind the scenes of British TV's "Deal or No Deal" where he discovers obsessive participants holed up in their hotel believing that the show's "Banker" is watching and listening to their every move. He investigates the phenomenon of the "Indigo Children" where some parents would prefer to believe that their child's issues are due to them being highly-evolved and divine "Chosen Ones" rather than suffering from anything more mundane. Ronson visits the Alaskan town of North Pole, a tourist resort where it's Christmas 365 days of the year, to discover a group of teenagers so sick of it having been Christmas every day all their lives, they were caught plotting a Columbine-style shooting. Ronson also looks at the case of the man driven to suicide through relentless pressure from credit card companies.

This is the second of Ronson's engaging and well-written books that combine a selection of his Guardian newspaper columns about his life with his own family, and the more interesting section where he's investigating the stories as mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The same old Stories, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the way Jon Ronson writes and always amusing. I used to really look forward to buying his books but now as most of his books repeat stories already told in past books. I am really hesitant as I feel as if I am buying half or a quarter of a book. Bit lazy really Jon and your books have ceased to be value for money. I don't want to buy them purely to save myself the disappointment of reading old material..again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What you always expect from Jon Ronson,, intelligently written very funny, makes me realise how 'normal' I am? I recommend it to all Jon Ronson fans or just fans of the odd & eccentric, my favourite kind of people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
Loved this and the interesting topics that Jon Robeson covers. Chapters that had m engrossed were the Deal or no Deal and the Indigo children. Loved the reoccurring theme with the neighbour as well. Had me laughing out loud more than once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jon Ronson is quite amusing, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although some of these (originally newspaper) articles did not merit being repeated in a book, this was fluffy and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooo funny, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Miss S. J. Platt (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
This book would cheer any one up it hilarious & so well written fantastic read I have also bought two more of his books. psychopath test is the best book I have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd compilation of disparate content, 5 Feb 2011
By 
James Cridland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's okay.

It's a collection of stuff from The Guardian, basically - like other of Ronson's books, though this one is less connected.

Ronson's rather embarrassing personal revelations make up half the book (made more embarrassing by the fact that I identified with almost all his 'odd' behaviour). The second half of the book consists of a few longer-form articles, culled from the pages of Guardian magazines.

One piece, about credit card hucksters, makes Ronson appear like a consumer affairs jounalist. Another, following two "we can change your life" ex-hypnotists, is more of his classic, slightly cynical, Louis Theroux-a-like writing.

It's good stuff, partly, though parts are less good. I'm not, however, sure that it all holds together as one book; and, while reading it, I did have a nagging feeling that I could have read all this stuff for free on the web anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and easy to read., 30 July 2010
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
Jon Ronson should write all books - I'd have read everything by now! A brilliant mix of everyday encounters and deeper journalistic pieces. See also Out of the Ordinary: True Tales of Everyday Craziness for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Recycled, Fans Beware, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
A LOT of material you'll find in his other books. Disappointed as less than half was new stuff, which is becoming a habit with him. It's all great of course, but I feel less and less able to look forward to new releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Author, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness (Paperback)
So enjoy all his books, love his style of writing and unusual choice of subject matter. Have now read all of his books and getting quite impatient for his next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness
What I Do: More True Tales of Everyday Craziness by Jon Ronson (Paperback - 2 Nov 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews