Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars315
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 13 June 2011
I bought this book out of pure curiosity; I had heard people talk about how great the film was and caught about fifteen minutes of it on TV once. I was intrigued.

If you have certain sensibilities then the product synopsis will be enough for you to want to read this book. The story of a man who leaves civilised society to discover 'the truth of his own existence', to chase adventure, meaning, truth and beauty in life could be the work of a great fiction novelist. But the story is true and Krakauer's account of Chris McCandless is incredibly moving but also honest; outlining his follies as well as his heart,spirit and intelligence.

One of the best things about this book is that it is not an exercise in pulling in sympathy for Chris or his family. As I said it is very honest and written from the point of view of someone who not only was drawn to the events but who is standing on the outside and wants to understand. In order to do this, John Krakauer draws parallels between Chris McCandless's story and other adventurers' to help uncover what would make someone embark on such a dangerous and brave undertaking. This book is as much of an exploration of human character as it is an account of a tragic 'Alaskan Odyssey'.

This book isnt for you if you are the kind of person who reads the synopsis and dismisses McCandless (and people like him) as arrogant and foolhardy. This book is for you if you have that own sense of adventure yourself. If you do, I dare you to not be moved and drawn into this poignant tale.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
This is a poignant, compelling narrative of an intelligent, intense, and idealistic young man, Chris McCandless, who cut off all ties to his upper middle class family, and reinvented himself as Alexander Supertramp, a drifter living out of a backpack, eking out a marginal existence as he wandered throughout the United States. A modern day King of the Road, McCandless ended his journey in 1992 in Alaska, when he walked alone into the wilderness north of Denali. He never returned.
Krakauer investigates this young man's short life in an attempt to explain why someone who has everything going for him would have chosen this lifestyle, only to end up dead in one of the most remote, rugged areas of the Alaskan wilderness. Whether one views McCandless as a fool or as a modern day Thoreau is a question ripe for discussion. It is clear, however, from Krakauer's writing that his investigation led him to feel a strong, spiritual kinship with McCandless. It is this kindred spirit approach to his understanding of this young man that makes Krakauer's writing so absorbing and moving.
Krakauer retraces McCandless' journey, interviewing many of those with whom he came into contact. What metamorphasizes is a haunting, riveting account of McCandless' travels and travails, and the impact he had on those with whom he came into contact. Krakauer followed McCandless' last steps into the Alaskan wilderness, so that he could see for himself how McCandless had lived, and how he had died. This book is his epitaph.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 December 2012
Into The Wild challenges many assumptions. Is it truly possible to go back to basics and to survive in the wilderness without the trappings of modern society?
I found this book to be a good read, well researched and well written. The glimpses of other people's wilderness experiences and of the books that Chris McCandless read up to his death are enlightening.
At the end of it you are still left asking 'why?'. It is unsettling. Here was a young man who had a comfortable upbringing, a high-achiever who opted out of the life path that already seemed to be mapped out for him.
I think part of his motivation was the negative. The need to move out from the shadow of an ultra-achieving parent, the need to assert your own personality, an almost 'I'll show you' attitude as he displayed his own independence, perhaps exacerbated by a late discovery of the skeleton in the family cupboard.
But there is also a degree of irresponsibility - covering his tracks, effectively penalising those who cared about him, and the episode where he drove his car illegally far into the parklands, abandoning it in the gulch after a flood.
After time spent tramping the country, trying to improve his skills along the way, he seemed to be looking for the ultimate 'back to the wild' experience. Just what is this ultimate experience? Is it driving a well-stocked 4x4 down the tracks, parking up where other people might pass, telling friends and family where you are, putting the steaks on the barbecue and opening a few beers, taking a radio, maps, a decent hunting rifle, all the paraphernalia that modern society can provide? Or is it something else? I think Chris McCandless wanted this ultimate experience on his own terms. It meant he had to put his life in danger, and this led him to ignore advice and to take more risks than he needed to. For the experience to be real there had to be a significant risk of death. This meant no comforts, no easy escape routes. And it meant he really could die.
Was Chris' behaviour just a proxy for some kind of long drawn out suicide? I don't think so. He accepted the risk of death, even embraced it. Perhaps death would be the ultimate 'I told you so', but true success would involve surviving the experience; and at the end he was hoping for rescue. If he had a better map, better local knowledge, better understanding of what foods to eat, maybe the outcome would have been different. If...
This book inspired me to try to engage more with nature, but not to try to do what Chris McCandless did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2007
Christopher McCandless was twenty four when he headed off alone with the intention of surviving by what he could hunt and garner in the wilds of Alaska. People have since labelled him as reckless, arrogant and stupid - but with his idealistic yearning to emulate Tolstoy, Jack London and Thoreau, was he not in fact courageous and noble? He was certainly ill-prepared for such a venture and paid the ultimate price for his odyssey.

Jon Krakauer, the author of the book, had a particular, vested interest in the tragic tale. He too as a young man had experienced a similar compulsion to set himself against the wild elements, to rebel against his conventional lifestyle and upbringing. In his opening note, Krakauer seems to apologise for including his own story of setting out to conquer a mountain and almost losing his life in the process; but I found this account even more intense and compelling than the sometimes over-meticulous details of everyone encountered by McCandless in his last months.

The unavoidable conjecture as to McCandless's motivation, his troubled family background, and state of mind in his last awful weeks, make a compelling reason for using this book as a set text in schools. Most cultures have a kind of "coming of age" ritual, especially for young men, who have to test themselves, set themselves against the establishment. There is much in the book that should open discussion with teenagers - though surely there must be a way to opt out of the conventional path most unquestioning people's lives take, without sacrificing their own life, as most of the rather depressing examples quoted in the book do.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 19 December 1999
I came to this book after the Times had listed it as one of the best paperbacks of the year, I have to agree. The tale of Chris McCandless is facsinating, how many people have thought "western society is corrupt, centred around making money and little else, I am off to do what I want, to find my true self". I know that I have and that is what Chris did. There is little doubt that he took it too far and ended up hurting those that cared for him. The book is well written and comparisons with other similar cases are well made. I also enjoyed the exerts from literature, as they helped indicate how a strong willed, virile young man can be influenced by what he reads. I recommend this book to everyone who has the good sense to ask questions such as "why?" and "isn't there a better way for society to function?" and if you don't it may make you ask those questions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 1 March 2011
After watching the film a few years back I finally read the book. It is quite simply amazing; I really couldn't put it down. The tales of McCandless's travels and his subsequent demise allow you to feel every emotion- sadness, admiration, happiness, devastation, empathy- it is a real 'Thinker'. Whilst there are people who will struggle to understand and who will criticise the decisions he made, you cannot help but to become completely entranced by the book, the experiences he had and the unfortunate and moving end that befell him.
I have reccommended this book to just about everyone I have spoken to since finishing it. Its a book you won't forget and a story that will remain with you. It makes you contemplate life, it's purpose, your choices, his choices, the 'what if's...' a truly enthralling read.

I would 100% recommend reading this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 September 2011
The story of the life of Christopher McCandless who aged 24 set off into Alaska on a personal odyssey aiming to survive on what he could gather or trap. Chris was to die only a few months later of starvation losing his personal battle against the elements. His story is carefully told here by Krakauer who not only paints a picture of Chris's life but also shares his personal experience of the compulsion to rebel against a conventional lifestyle.

Reading other reviews of the book, many focus on McCandless, either seeing him as naive, idealistic and misguided, or praising him as a courageous modern day embodiment of Thoreu or Jack London.

The real joy of the book for me is that it reveals the paradox that he is both of these at the same instant.

We are creating an increasingly myopic society with ever narrowing definitions of what is right. The result is an increasing pressure to conform, and the destruction of diversity. We have overseen the destruction of `unworthy' human cultures and are speaking openly of the inevitability that species for which we've found no need will soon disappear.

The future has never been less certain, and yet we seem destined to pin our faith on a narrowing set of options.

Sad though the subject of this book may seem, it is also a call to each of us to question ourselves about what really matters and the part we should each play.

The book has since been turned into a feature film with the same title.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2008
I was inspired to buy this book after seeing Sean Penn's amazing film. At the beginning I thought it was just going to underline how faithful Penn's film is to the book, but Krakauer does give a lot more background to the McCandless saga, which is really fascinating.

I really enjoyed the quotations at the beginning of each chapter, some of which have introduced me to new authors like Anthony Storr. Krakauer also weaves in accounts of other idealistic young adventurers, which gives a useful perspective. He has also his own dramatic story to tell, which he does in a very understated way.

The subject matter is extremely absorbing and Krakauer writes beautifully and tells the story at beguiling pace. He quotes the story of Everett Ruess by means of comparison, and he quotes how Everett Ruess's father mused after his son disappeared in the desert, "The older person does not realize the soul-flights of the adolescent. I think we all poorly understood Everett."

The amazing bravery and foolishness of McCandless that reminds us of our own adolescent soul-flights, and how, beneath our exteriors, we have so much yearning and anguish.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2007
In a reprise of the Jack London title 'Call of the Wild' the book describes the authors attempt to find out more about the kid that died in an abandoned bus in Alaska. I found the book un-put-downable as has everyone else I know that's read it. If you've ever had that idealistic feeling of youth that you can live without money you'll love this book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2005
A brilliant illumitive writer in this book Jon Krakuer has given us a unique insite into a young man's mind as he travels while seeking himself within. The start of each chapter contains extracts and quotes from the minds of others also seeking themselves through isolation and nature. A profound book, read it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Into Thin Air
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer (Paperback - 1 July 2011)

Into the Wild [DVD] [2007]
Into the Wild [DVD] [2007] by Emile Hirsch (DVD - 2008)

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found
Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found by Cheryl Strayed (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.