Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More Morse
Highly enjoyable stories which give another chance to immerse oneself in the brilliant mind of Oxford' s greatest mind. Great in every sense.
Published 7 months ago by Mr Adrian J Ballard

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling short detective stories
A book of 11 short stories, ranging from 5 to 30 minutes reading time. All compelling reading, thought provoking. All reminders of cryptic crossword clues, double bluffs, mystery and intrigue. Not all the stories feature Morse. Morse's greatest mystery is the one story with the least criminal and detective content. The story subjects include fabricating evidence, theft,...
Published on 18 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling short detective stories, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
A book of 11 short stories, ranging from 5 to 30 minutes reading time. All compelling reading, thought provoking. All reminders of cryptic crossword clues, double bluffs, mystery and intrigue. Not all the stories feature Morse. Morse's greatest mystery is the one story with the least criminal and detective content. The story subjects include fabricating evidence, theft, escape from prison, impersonation, infidelity and murder. A likable book, worth reading, recommended for holidays or train journeys. The first Colin Dexter I've read it reminded me of Ian McEwan but not so macabre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morse, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stories; the book makes me want to read some more Morse. I particularly enjoyed the Sherlock story. Bring back Morse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Morse, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly enjoyable stories which give another chance to immerse oneself in the brilliant mind of Oxford' s greatest mind. Great in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morse's Greatest Mysteries, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stories good but I was not expecting the Sherlock Holmes. Other than that, the twists at the end were well handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morse, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading the stories instead of watching them on the television is much better. You can go at your own pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good "extra", 7 Jan 2013
By 
J. Severn (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not his best, but enjoyable.it's a bit lightweight, but passes the time agreeably. Worth buying and reading for Morse fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Morse's other stories, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't enjoy this. Too many very short stories. Think advertising is misleading. Thought it would be a number of full length stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morse-tastic, 26 Aug 2011
I have to say, this book was fabulous, a Morsey delight.
Colin Dexter was a genius writing these.

A melt in the moment experience with every story.
A must read for Morse fans and newbies alike.
Inspector Morse - Complete Boxset [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Morse Junkies Only !!, 11 Nov 2007
By 
A. B. Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
If, like myself, you've read every Morse book, seen every episode on TV, and just need a final 'fix', you may enjoy this !! It's a collection of short stories (not all of which involve Morse) with different twists, some clever, some predictable and some plain ridiculous. It strikes me as a collection of plots which Colin could not develop into full blown stories but which were too good to simply dump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Mystery - Greatest Stories, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Roger Strange "Organ nut" (Victoria BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
WHat a wonderful collection - I fouind more insight into the personality of Inspector Morse in these stories than in the full lenght novels (and I have read almost all of them). They even made the character created by John Thaw seem better. And the stories themselves were ingeneous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories (Inspector Morse)
Morse's Greatest Mystery and Other Stories (Inspector Morse) by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 16 Mar 2007)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews