Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Inspector Morse
Brilliant story by Colin Dexter fantasically read by Kevin Whately. Loved it. Wish it was longer! :-)
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by NikNik

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather difficult Inspector Morse mystery
For Oxford, the arrival of 27 American tourists is nothing out of the ordinary ... until one of their number is found dead in Room 310 of the Randolph Hotel. It looks like a sudden - and tragic - accident. Only Chief Inspector Morse appears not to overlook the simultaneous theft of a jewel-encrusted antique from the victim's handbag. Then, two days later, a naked and...
Published on 28 Aug 2009 by Thomas Koetzsch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Inspector Morse, 13 Feb 2010
By 
NikNik "NJ" (Marlow, Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Brilliant story by Colin Dexter fantasically read by Kevin Whately. Loved it. Wish it was longer! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rather difficult Inspector Morse mystery, 28 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Jewel That Was Ours (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
For Oxford, the arrival of 27 American tourists is nothing out of the ordinary ... until one of their number is found dead in Room 310 of the Randolph Hotel. It looks like a sudden - and tragic - accident. Only Chief Inspector Morse appears not to overlook the simultaneous theft of a jewel-encrusted antique from the victim's handbag. Then, two days later, a naked and battered corpse is dragged from the River Cherwell. A coincidence? Maybe. But this time Morse is determined to prove the link ... .

That's the book in a nutshell and I am not giving anything away here because this is what it says on the back of the book. You can read it before you read the book.

Even though one can rather quickly establish an idea why the old lady is dead and who stole the antique and who might have done her in, all this does not seem to be important to Chief Inspector Morse. He completely ignores the old lady and her jewel and concentrates solely on the other corpse. In the end, he solves that murder and it does make sense in a way. He also solves the death of the old lady and the possible whereabouts of the antique, but these really do appear as an unimportant side-affair.

What I didn't particularly like about the book is that because of so many people involved - some of whom entertain rather interesting relationships amongst themselves - there are too many potential plots, which made it rather difficult for me to figure out what is happening. And because of that I found it almost impossible to follow Inspector Morse's train of thought. If it wasn't for his great reckoning at the end of the book, I would be left in the middle of nowhere.

On a positive note, the title of the book is excellent. The reader may have an idea what is meant by `The Jewel' but towards the end of the book it becomes quite clear that there is more than one possibility.

If you are new to Colin Dexter I would recommend one of his earlier books to begin with instead because this one might put you off Colin Dexter altogether. And that would be a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 6 May 2014
This is an excellent book that keeps you engrossed from beginning to end.I would definitely recommend this book it is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What else to say., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Colin Dexter deserves all of the awards he received for his creation. Morse is such a complex character that it becomes fun to reread them an concentrate on his development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but a bit on the Agatha Christie slyle, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The usual morse books promise eat deduction and good thinking and some credible situations. This one however, was a bit Chrstie-esque, with a coach load of Americans and a gathering and show-style explanation at the end. Still a good read, but not up to the plots of others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Colin Dexter, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always a treat to read Colin Dexter the antipathy of academic characters.
Excellent description of Oxford and the lives that inhabit his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars above average Morse outing, Sunday afternoon reading, 14 Sep 1999
By A Customer
Having read the other review I don't agree that the plots confusing. The characters are well introduced, though he cheats a bit toward the end in dragging us toward the convuluted conclusion. Nice interplay with Morse and Lewis, more of the (slightly unbelievable) irresistible sexual allure of Morse - and Dexter obviously testing our grammatical accuracy (becomes distracting). Other than that excellent Sunday afternoon reading - pour yourself a wine, the number of references to drink in the book it's almost compulsory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book contains several "handwritten" passages which my Kindle cannot ..., 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains several "handwritten" passages which my Kindle cannot make larger. This is very frustrating in a detective novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morse in good form, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well constructed, very readable, character driven and a generous pinch of dry humour, looking forward to another colin Dexter read soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morse solves a theft and two murders in customary style., 6 May 1999
By A Customer
I enjoyed reading this book; a good mix of personalities with clues relevant and irrelevant, and good use of the Oxford setting. I was sometimes a bit worried about keeping up with the action, as there was lots going on. Perhaps I need to read more of this author's work, as this was the first I had tried. The Morse of this book is rather different from the person played on TV by John Thaw; he has a cruder and less sophisticated personality in spite of his interest in and enjoyment of music. Perhaps this is because we see more of what is going on in his mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jewel That Was Ours (Inspector Morse)
The Jewel That Was Ours (Inspector Morse) by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 16 Mar 2007)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews