Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morse does it again
"Service of All The Dead" brings Inspector Morse into the murder of a churchwarden where nothing is what it appears to be.
As usual Colin Dexter conjures up a magnificently twisting plot that starts out simply and revolves into another complex mystery that only Morse can solve.
Although the plot of the novel is quite complex, Dexter manages to ensure...
Published on 6 Sept. 2000 by themarquisdecarabas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Light Read
I read this out of curiosity (and attracted by the cheap price!). I'm not a regular reader of crime fiction, so I can't judge how it compares with others of the genre. As a novel, it was readable and engaging, though with minimal descriptions and stereotypical characterisation for the most part and, of course, a quite ludicrous plot. Certainly, it cuts it as an easy...
Published 6 months ago by autodidact


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morse does it again, 6 Sept. 2000
"Service of All The Dead" brings Inspector Morse into the murder of a churchwarden where nothing is what it appears to be.
As usual Colin Dexter conjures up a magnificently twisting plot that starts out simply and revolves into another complex mystery that only Morse can solve.
Although the plot of the novel is quite complex, Dexter manages to ensure that the reader is not too confused and brings the action along at a speedy pace which encourages prolonged reading. The character of Morse shines through the novel in a way that it never does when watching the television version. There is a wealth of supporting characters with well plotted histories and one of the best aspects of a Dexter novel is seeing Morse discover their involvements with the central murder of the novel and this one is no exception. Their motivations are always believable, as are their characteristics.
The actual details of the how and the why are a little more obvious than usual in this particular novel, but there is still a great detective story at the heart of this novel.
"Service of All The Dead" is a solid detective novel with wit and thrills in abundance. Highly recommended, if not the best in the series of Morse novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can you keep a secret, Inspector ?, 21 Mar. 2011
Colin Dexter was born in 1930 and, over the course of his writing career, has won CWA Gold Dagger and Silver Dagger awards. "Service of All the Dead" was first published in 1979 and is the fourth book to feature the famous Inspector Morse.

Morse's investigation centres on St Frideswide's Church, a historic church that proves popular with the tourists. It's a while before Morse makes his first appearance, with the early part of the book setting the scene and introducing the key players. The Reverend Lionel Lawson has been the church's vicar for around ten years, and is well educated - and pretty well-off - individual. There has been some speculation about the Vicar's personal life - some believe that one of Oxford's down-and-outs in his brother, while others gossip about his alleged sexual preferences. However, he does have a very healthy bank balance...although he has suspected for a while that someone has been helping themselves to the collection plate. When the book opens, he knows his suspicions are correct - and that the pilferer is Harry Josephs, the church's Warden.

Harry is an ex-soldier who joined the Civil Service after he left the forces. He'd been made redundant two years previously, and has since only briefly worked in a pharmacy. (His redundancy is something he's still a little bitter about). Harry's wife, Brenda, works as a nurse and he suspects - correctly - that she's having an affair with Paul Morris, the church's organist and a music teacher. Morris is a widower, and his son, Peter, sings in the church choir. He and Brenda have only been "together" for around three months, but he'd be very keen for Harry to conveniently disappear. (In fairness, Harry isn't exactly the innocent and wounded husband - he's been playing away from home with the church's cleaner, Ruth Rawlinson).

The book's opening section concludes in August, with the Rev. Lawson calling on Paul Morris; it then picks up again with Morse, the following April. In between times there have been two deaths at the church : Harry is dead, stabbed in the vestry and the Vicar subsequently threw himself to his death from the church's tower. Paul and Peter Morris have both left Oxford - very abruptly - and, oddly enough, so has Brenda Josephs. Despite being officially on holiday - never mind the fact that it was never his case to begin with - Morse starts poking about...

For me, this instalment is definitely better than the three previous books in the series : it has an interesting storylone and Dexter's writing has improved dramatically from "Last Bus to Woodstock". Morse's main hobbies remain drinking beer, listening to classical music and leering over the ladies - however, despite his occasional grumpiness, there's still something quite likeable about him. A quick and easy read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Service of all the Dead - Colin Dexter, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Service of all the Dead (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
I don't think I've read any of the Morse novels since The Remorseful Day in 1999. More than half my life ago. I saw an episode on TV and had a hankering to revisit them, so I picked this one up, as I remembered particularly grappling with it when younger, thinking I would get more out of it this time.

I certainly did - I remember being a bit puzzled by it the last time I read it, and certainly the solution is quite complex (I'm still not sure I'm absolutely clear on the motive for the first murder...), but I completely loved the experience of re-reading this. It was like returning to a favourite holiday destination after many years and finding it's still as beautiful as you remember. Dexter writes wonderfully slyly, and plots exceptionally well. The whole thing is gripping, mysterious, fun, witty, intelligent. Blah blah blah. I'm keen to re-read a few more, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Service of all the Dead, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the book. It was my first Colin Dexter and my first Kindle read..! The book has a good twist at the end. Problem I did find with the Kindle version was that the text had not been split into chapters 'electronically' so what is supposed to move from chapter to chapter takes you to the beginning or the end. But enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morse develops, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Lewis predominantly I've often considered picking up the original Morse books to see how they fare to the more modern tv series.
The first few novels were very good and it was romantic and nostalgic to be drawn back into the late 70's. As this book moves into the 80's Morse's character seems to have been fully developed by Dexter and, although its hard to separate the literary Morse from the obvious mental relationship with the imagery of Thaw's fine performances (he played him even better with the benefit of hindsight and a few Morse books under my bely as it was), Dexter's character is rather likeable and interesting.
The plot line is an interesting commentary on morality and human foibles, Morse often displays a charming ambiguity to the former and suffers plenty of the later so in all it's a lovely and engaging read.
I'll work my way through the back catalogue with relish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Light Read, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this out of curiosity (and attracted by the cheap price!). I'm not a regular reader of crime fiction, so I can't judge how it compares with others of the genre. As a novel, it was readable and engaging, though with minimal descriptions and stereotypical characterisation for the most part and, of course, a quite ludicrous plot. Certainly, it cuts it as an easy read. The set-up is familiar from Sherlock Holmes - the brilliant but flawed detective with his dumb but brave and faithful sidekick, the local police missing the clues and the Machiavellian villain.

And in its own terms, it manages to introduce the requisite number of false trails and red herrings to keep the 'whodunnit' guesswork going. I did manage to guess the outcome about two thirds through, but without really knowing why, and other possibilities were still open. Good fun is had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morse At His Crime-Solving Best, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Service of all the Dead (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
More bodies than anyone knows what to do with.

Endless twists and double-twists in the plot, right to the very last page.

Morse ending up in bed with one of the defendents.

The stabilising,comforting and reliable presence of Lewis, never far away.

Just enough clue dropping to keep the reader always a pace or two behind the action.

All the ingredients of another great Colin Dexter novel, with the dour and pedantic Inspector Morse, left to unravel the truth from the lies, with his usual flair for lengthy explanations of his theories, delivered with not a little wit and sarcasm lurking not too far beneath the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Inferior Holmes and Watson, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only recently got round to reading the Morse books and I can't say I'm impressed.Each one, so far, including this one, has been rambling, tedious, repetitive and barely credible, with a tacked-on, unconvincing ending, as though the writer had run out of ideas. Unusually I find the TV adaptations superior to the feeble novels with their stereotypical caricatures and the TV plots, however modified, are far more engaging. Some might find the crude, dirty old man Morse of the novels a turn on and regard his vulgarity compensated for by his erudition. Just inferior Holmes and Watson stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been reading Morse post Christmas and have enjoyed the previous books. This one is less interesting with long and quite boring passages that almost convinced me to give up. The crimes were confusing and the explanation for them, given in long testimonies was tedious . There was less of Oxford and more of the church than I care for. The only good point really is the fact that Morse seemed willing to lie on oath which gives an interesting insight into his character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slightly sad, 17 May 2013
Slightly sad, like many of the Morse series of books. A main character who only truly lives for his work, who struggles with relationships with women - who all seem drawn to him, but unable, usually, to bridge the gap. Story relies on confusion between individuals, and the desire to keep secrets for whatever reasons. Easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Service of all the Dead (Inspector Morse)
Service of all the Dead (Inspector Morse) by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 16 Mar. 2007)
£2.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews