Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse Book 3
It is absolutely baking at the present time as I write this. Not wanting to get into something perhaps a bit too complex or time consuming I just put out my hand and picked up a Morse book to while away the time. This is the third book in the Morse series and it has been quite some time since I last read it. Personally I have always preferred the novels to the tv...
Published 16 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Glories of Studio Two
Colin Dexter was born in 1930 and, over the course of his writing career, has won CWA Gold Dagger and Silver Dagger awards. "The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn" was first published in 1977 and is the third book to feature the famous Inspector Morse.

The book opens with the aftermath of a round of interviews at Oxford University. The position, recently vacated...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by Craobh Rua


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse Book 3, 17 July 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
It is absolutely baking at the present time as I write this. Not wanting to get into something perhaps a bit too complex or time consuming I just put out my hand and picked up a Morse book to while away the time. This is the third book in the Morse series and it has been quite some time since I last read it. Personally I have always preferred the novels to the tv series, probably because the characters are slightly different. For instance Morse can't really wait to see a certain X rated movie in this book, so he can have a good gander at the flesh on display.

In this book Morse and Lewis are called in after a murder has taken place to a Nicholas Quinn. Quinn is a relatively new member of staff for the Oxford Examinations Syndicate. This body sets and marks exams for educational bodies abroad. This was first published in 1977 so it is refreshing to read something where mobile phones aren't being used in every other paragraph, and before the creation of GCSEs which countries who would have used such services as the OES have shunned, wanting our old system instead.

Quinn was profoundly deaf and Morse is drawn to his place of employment for the murder suspect. As the investigation drags on are Morse and Lewis getting all the facts, or are there too many lies and red herrings? This is quite a complex case for Morse, and it has to be admitted he looks like he is wandering around picking up on the wrong things, and coming to the wrong conclusions, especially when another death happens to another member of staff at the Syndicate. Will Morse ever solve this case, especially as he keeps his conclusions so close to his chest?

Please remember this was the third Morse novel and he and Lewis are still in a way having their characters developed, and this isn't as good as the later books in the series. Chances are that you will solve the case before Morse does, which in some ways is a plus for this book. Most people come to the Morse books after seeing the tv series and so expect him to be infallible, but this book shows him in a state of indecision, leaping to wrong suspects and making a bit of a hash of things, as he tries to solve this.

It seems that nowadays in the vast majority of crime novels the detective is always right and gets his man straight away, but as we know, in real life this doesn't happen all the time, so it is refreshing to read this and finding the detective not as clever as he thinks he is, and making mistakes. For days like this when you just need to sit down and try and cool off, this book is an ideal read. It makes you think, although not too much, and it draws you in, and holds your attention to the end, in all a good summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars terrific, 6 May 2014
This book is a terrific read. It keeps you engrossed from beginning to end. It is a must read book. I will definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read again!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Inspector Morse books - Mr Dexter pens an excellent read! Thank you Mr Dexter for taking the time to produce such an excellent novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Experience, 6 Nov 2013
By 
M. Beasley (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first experience of Colin Dexter (I know it's taken a long time) but not my last. Excellently written novel that I could not wait to finish, bring on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse Book, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's good to read the proper story as opposed to watching the TV version, however, the TV is a little more pacey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dot and dash., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever with Colin Dexter it has more twists and turns than a twisty turny thing - with apologies to Richard Curtis/Ben Elton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting author, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have only just started to read the Morse books by Colin Dexter. I am difficult to please but have found these to be sheer escapism. Enjoy the wild traits of Morse and the patience of Lewis. Am currently on my seventh Morse novel - in similar manner to my recent reading of Lee Child Jack Reacher books, Colin Dexter and Morse are a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite Inspector Morse book. It has you guessing right up to the end! Just love the way Colin Dexter writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book., 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book but probably not as much as other Inspector Morse books I have read over the years. Having said that I found it hard to put it down until I had finished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Morse Mystery, 13 July 2009
By 
Rev. JGS (Yorkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (Inspector Morse) (Paperback)
Although the third novel in Colin Dexter's Inspector Morse series (following "Last Bus to Woodstock" and "Last Seen Wearing"), this was the first mystery to reveal exactly how brilliant the books about this bad-tempered, beer-swilling and tight-fisted detective were going to be.

Assisted as always by the ever-willing Lewis, Morse re-enters the world of the town's academics to track down the killer of a member of the Oxford Examinations Syndicate - a member who was newly-appointed and profoundly deaf.

Perfectly written and beautifully paced, this tale was the first sign that Colin Dexter would soon become the crime writer we now know and love. If you like detective stories, you must read this - it's as simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (Inspector Morse)
The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn (Inspector Morse) by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 16 Mar 2007)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews