Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
I love all the Colin Dexter books, but this has a special poignancy as the last one. Even knowing the ending, I enjoyed reading all the twists and turns, and hidden plots. Highly recommended.
Published on 12 Aug. 2012 by Mrs. Margaret M. Hall

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretenseous
A thoroughly unpleasant, lead character and the author is too interested in showing off his extensive vocabulary and his pedantic view of English grammar. The split infinity ban was a mad attempt by Victorians to to impose "superior" Latin grammar on English.
(You cannot split the infinitive in Latin because it's one word). How anyone can feel any empathy...
Published 13 months ago by Chad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Mrs. Margaret M. Hall (Powys,Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all the Colin Dexter books, but this has a special poignancy as the last one. Even knowing the ending, I enjoyed reading all the twists and turns, and hidden plots. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read; the TV series is very different!, 3 April 2013
By 
James Byrne (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read; but readers should be aware that the books are generally not simply the script of the TV series. In particular Lewis is an older man than Morse in the books and some characteristics of the characters are very different. If the reader is familiar with the televised series, they may find the books a little disappointing, the reverse being equally true!
Well worth reading however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Colin Dexter has saved his best work for last with this final, beautifully written inspector Morse novel. I made this book last as long as possible because I knew I didn't want to say goodbye to Morse but Colin Dexter just doesn't allow you to put the book down long enough to prolong the moment. Morse is gone now and my reading life will be forever poorer for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Final challenge, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
G. Pettitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great case for Morse fans, however if you read this book ensure it is the last to be read of all Morse books. Don't be tempted to cheat and read it until you have read all the others, on reading it all will become clear!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The last and the best Morse., 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable read, well plotted as usual, and with a deep understanding of a character accepting his own mortality. Extremely perceptive and with a very moving finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book. That draws you in - the character ..., 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book. That draws you in - the character development is solid. And I enjoyed the story with this one, interesting enough to keep my attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Inspecter Morse, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Bracknell, Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a lifelong fan of the 'Morse' TV Series, I wanted to 'see' the storyline, via the written word. I have not beeb at all disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Remorseful Day (Inspector Morse), 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Colin Dexter's writing and I love Morse's character - I cried at the end! - brilliant as all of the Morse books are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best one ever, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the best morse since last bus to Woodstock a fiting end to a great series .will sadly miss these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read but sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Remorseful Day (Inspector Morse)
The Remorseful Day (Inspector Morse) by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 16 Mar. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews