Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern, moving tale of money and morality
Millions is the story of a young boy called Damian Cunningham who finds a bag filled with money (£229, 370, to be precise) that has seemingly fallen from the sky. His discovery comes at a time when England is about to change its currency and join the Euro, and so Damian must find a way to spend the money as quickly as possible, before it becomes worthless. Aiding him in...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Matt Pucci

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Millions
It is very good! You have to keep on guessing who is the criminal. It is also quite funny. It makes you think, what would I do with a million pounds, and all to be spent in 17 days?
Published 19 months ago by Abigail Cadman Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern, moving tale of money and morality, 31 May 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
Millions is the story of a young boy called Damian Cunningham who finds a bag filled with money (£229, 370, to be precise) that has seemingly fallen from the sky. His discovery comes at a time when England is about to change its currency and join the Euro, and so Damian must find a way to spend the money as quickly as possible, before it becomes worthless. Aiding him in this quest is his older brother and only confidant, Anthony; however, unlike Anthony, Damian is a boy of great conscience and sensitivity, and is frequently troubled over the question of "the right thing to do"...

Millions is funny, thought-provoking and moving - as well as being a fairly swift read. There are numerous questions raised within this story - some of them obvious, some of them less so. For example, what is the true value of money? What is the difference between selfishness and selflessness? Which is more important - personal gratification or helping other people? It also addresses issues such as trust (in the book, there are various incidents and one or two characters that cause Damian to question people's their true motives) and grief (Damian's story begins not long after the death of his mother, and his efforts at being "excellent" are a means of coping with this loss).

This book is aimed at able readers aged between 9 and 13, who will no doubt identify with the narrator (Damian) despite his idiosyncrasies, and enjoy discussing the rather grown-up themes presented so expertly by the author.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read!", 25 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for adults and children alike. It is a short, amusing tale about 2 brothers (from somewhere in or near Liverpool) who end up with a large amount of cash they need to dispose of. The younger brother, who is telling the tale has Aspergers or another form of autism, and although that is not the point of the story, it certainly features heavily in the writing style (similar to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime).
This book is perfect to read independently or aloud, in school or at home. It is truly fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem, 31 July 2006
By 
S. VOAKE (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter to read on holiday, but after reading the first few pages I ended up nabbing it first. The simple, conversational style of Damian, the young narrator is utterly charming and I found the story both witty and wise. But nothing prepared me for the moment when I turned the last page and read the final paragraph - I found it both incredibly moving and joyously uplifting. Brilliant stuff, Frank. Keep 'em coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Humerous Good Read, 8 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
Brothers Anthony and Damien have just moved into a new house after the death of their mother. Damien the younger and more religious one built an Hermitage made from cardboard boxes and tape by a railway track and all of a sudden a bag of money falls from the sky. He thought it had come from heaven.

Damien tells his brother and they decide not to tell their father. Damien wants to give the money to charity and people in need, but his older brother Anthony has other plans, he wants to spend it on games consoles, TVs and lots of other crazy boy's toys. They try to exchange the money before the euro currency comes to England so they try to spend it as quickly as they can and bank some of the rest of the large amount. They go round all the different banks to change the money to euros. When they have all the money Damien promises that he will give some money to a tramp called "Glass eye" but Anthony tells Damien not to because Anthony is stranger wise. Glass eye chases the boys even through the Christmas play.
I enjoyed this book because it was very humorous it was quite unusual and it made me think what I would have done if I had found the money.

MJP
30.9.08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 13 May 2009
By 
Moira Munro (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
Frank Cottrell Boyce is the best. The only thing that's wrong with his children's writing is there's not enough of it. He combines depth and compassion and deep values with the most delightful humour, and a fantastic imagination. His characters are hugely likeable, or incredibly funny, and then there's this wonderful poignancy beneath it all.

There's a brilliant logic in the way everyone in this story changes once they have lots of money to spend fast - the Latter-day Saints' conversion, for instance, is hilarious. And so is the scene in Toys `R' Us, where the two brothers, loaded with pound notes, realise that everything is junk.

Even if you've seen the film (which is not at all as strong), get this book and enjoy every detail.

When you've read "Millions", read the others - "Cosmic", is way up there in my favourites. My ten year old is hooked and no friend of hers is allowed to go through a birthday without one these books. The same goes for my own friends of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Millions (Kindle Edition)
It was a funny and tense book with a fantastic storyline. I recommend this book to any one who has a good sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Millions- Frank cortrell boyce, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
Millions is an interesting and entertaining book.

The two boys Anthony and Damien find a bag of money and they can't decide what to spend it on. Their friend start to take them for granted and demand lots of money from them.

The book is a teenage fiction, it's funny in places and very often moving, its more for teenagers and children from 10 to 11.

The book was interesting and sometimes funny. It's a good book to read and it keeps you hooked on because you want to know what happens to the money.

The book is recommended to a lot of children and teenagers because it's very good.

Overall the rating would be 8 ½ / 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 28 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
Millions is good if you like exciting stories. The two boys in the story seem like ordinary boys that you see every day, except one of them knows loads about Saints.One of the boys finds lots and lots of money.What happens next is funny and exciting. I would recommend this to others.
Oliver Aged 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 May 2008
This review is from: Millions (Paperback)
This story made me laugh out loud at the same time as making me think about elements of life that we all take for granted.
Damian's honest narrative is touching and immediately drags you into the story. I was only going to read the first couple of chapters one morning but before I knew it I'd got to the end and they day had vanished!
Thought-provoking, witty and fantastically well-written, I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Childrens Book of a Generation, 17 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Millions (Hardcover)
This book is one of the most heartwarming beautiful and enchanting books ever written. I have no doubt it will be the outstanding childrens book of the year and for many years to come. Certainly one of the best books ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Millions
Millions by Frank Cottrell Boyce (Paperback - 6 Jun 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews