Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy Intrigue in Sweltering Havana
This is the first of the Arkady Renko novels I have read, and buying it was influenced by the fact that I had spent time exploring Havana and its environs a short time before.
Summoned by an unsigned fax from what turns out to be an old hand at Havana's diminished Russian Embassy, detective Renko travels from mid-winter Moscow to subtropical January in Havana, to...
Published on 10 Jun. 2001

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More of the same for Renko.
As with previous Arkady Renko books the wonderfully observed detail of everyday subsistence life is here, admitted transposed to Havana, but it's in Fidel Castro's Cuba Martin Cruz Smith has found a new target for his hatred of anything associated with centralised socialism. The central character Renko is once again in the middle of a system falling apart and once again...
Published on 5 Oct. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Cuban Experience., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Kindle Edition)
A little disjointed at times but well worth a read. This dramatic style does hold the reader's attention and makes for an exciting novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK bu...., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Kindle Edition)
OK but it is not as good as the earlier books from Martin Cruz Smith, good sense of the decay in Cuba and decent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outside his comfort zone, 17 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Havana Bay (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed MCS work but by taking the setting outside of Russia this book had an extra dimension. I visited Cuba and had 3 day in Havana in 1994 just as the Cuban authorities were starting to open up to Western tourism. This book brought back some happy memories as well as providing a masterful suspense who did it thriller.
This review explains why I read book and not write them but for me it is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Success from Martin Cruz Smith, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable read which kept me enthralled. There were a few bits where you thought, "I saw that coming" but apart from that a very good read and you could really feel the atmosphere of a crumbling Cuba. I really enjoyed the aspect of their negativity toward the Russians which I was unaware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to a seriously good crime fiction., 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Kindle Edition)
Not disappointed by this thriller. Arkady Renko Senior Investigator continues to work his enigmatic best, in the worst of circumstances. Will be a fan forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent, 15 April 2001
This review is from: Havana Bay (Paperback)
This book combines change in Cuba, including the jockeying for position that will accompany the death of Fidel, with the machinations of various mafias. It is Renko-the realistic but incorruptible Russian investigator- at his best.Really excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cuba Calling, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
M. Thomas (Midlands - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Havana Bay (Paperback)
This is a very good book - well written, pacy and clever. The images it evokes of Havana and post-soviet Cuba run solid with ingenuity, pathos and humour. Read it, I did and have since read all of Cruz Smith's other Renko Arcady novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five star read, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Paperback)
Yet another enjoyable romp with Arcady Renko, this time with the heady backdrop of Havana. Probably prefer those set in Russia slightly more but no complaints. One of the few writers who can make me laugh out loud. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!!!, 11 Dec. 2009
By 
Giovanni Anchois (Milan, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Havana Bay (Paperback)
"Well, this is probably the book I love the most. I have re-read it 10 times already and just find it so good. The melancholy, the poetry, the losing feeling, the misery, the lider-maximo, the love story. WHAT A BOOK!!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read if you are a Renko fan, 25 Mar. 2015
By 
W. J. Wight - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Havana Bay (Paperback)
Great read if you are a Renko fan. I bought these last books with trepidation after enjoying the early ones out of all proportion. I was not disappointed. They are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Havana Bay
Havana Bay by Martin Smith (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews