Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what an interesting read!
This is certainly one of the most interesting books that I have read in recent years.
Its writing style is accessible and doesn't assume anything of its readers and it makes its points and tells its story in a clear and concise manner.
All these points add to the backbone of this book, which is the weird and sometimes wonderful experiments that have helped...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by J. Butler

versus
56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really quirky...
Having followed Richard Wiseman's blog for a while now, I had high hopes for this book. However, while it was a reasonably interesting, pleasant read, I wasn't blown away by it either, as it seemed to suffer from some considerable flaws.

Firstly, despite promising us examples of all kinds of quirkiness from the world of psychology research, I just didn't find...
Published on 24 Mar 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good !, 22 Mar 2009
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
Excellent bits and pieces of information about people and how we operate! to be read by all students of psychology and of life !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars peace & quiet, 11 Feb 2009
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
This was aBIG hit at Christmas. It kept the oddest of the festive guests occupied and absorbed thus out of my hair. He read snippets out all day which left me free to crack on with the Day.Really interesting and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 15 Jan 2009
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I won't waffle on, as others have said most of what there is to say... but I would heartily recommend this book to anyone who is curious and interested in the world around them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. R. E. Marshall (Mansfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I'm half way through reading this book at the moment and I'm loving it. Its a light hearted read looking at everyday psychology. I particularly liked the chapter looking at how your name can influence your future career and the experiment looking at the worlds funniest joke. A good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointed, 5 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I read 59 seconds by the same author and found that to be a great book. Fun and you are able to make use of the tools suggested. So my expectations of this book were aimed high. Sadly WHAT A DULL BOOK. Great book to take to bed if your aim is to fall asleep quick but even then I would suggest that you save your money go buy sleeping pills. I am sure the positive reviews have been written by Richards family members or freinds as I would really defy others to be so positive.

The book continuosly provides references to names of people who have carried out experiments on subjects that you any old Tom, Dick and Harry could carry out and then also not be so surprised as to the obvious outcomes. Poor effort Richard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but ok., 9 Sep 2012
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I found this book to be quite interesting. Having an interest in psychology meant I had either heard or read about quite a few of the experiments already. The secton at the end on topics of conversation to brighten up dinner parties may yet prove to be handy. Not a bad book, but not a great one either. Really like Richard Wiseman and follow him on Twitter, but this book was average. I have read some of the other reviews and found them to be over critical. I am sure this is not supposed to be an academic tome but rather a little dip into the waters of quirky psychological experiments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really glad I finally bought this. Absolutely brilliant. You must buy it! It's a really easy read, but interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heap of assorted rubbish, 13 April 2012
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I had high hopes for this book, but my conclusion is that it is a tedious mountain of meaningless information punctuated by one or two interesting sentences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Curious Science ? Curious to call it science., 16 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
Very disappointing . A rehash of mainly dated pseudo science . I don't know if rigorous Science would accept popular psychology as a science , but this book read like it was one of the numerous rubbish books published for the Christmas market . A definite rip off. Mr Wiseman knows how to make a fast buck by rehashing his old "research ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best scientific books I've read, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives (Paperback)
I STRONGLY advise you to find this book and buy it.
It is in a very simple language, so do not have worries if you are not English and provides information in maaaany topics and it not just makes statements it supports them with scientific research and experiments.
Bravo to Wiseman!
My only concern is that he says that some things are connected(like level of belief in god and sense of humor), only because they have a positive correlation(this is when one increases the other increases also)
The amount of ice cream sold in beaches and rainfall in Australia may have a positive correlation but that does not mean that the one affects the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives
Quirkology: The Curious Science Of Everyday Lives by Richard Wiseman (Paperback - 4 Mar 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews