Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story of 2 desolate children.
Mike is the new kid in town and is desperate to make new friends. Which he does, much to the dislike of Gemma. She has been there her whole life and has no friends. To keep herself busy and because she has no Mum, Gemma Collects pictures of Mums. Anything from Mums out of the newspaper looking sad to Mums out of a magazine, at the beach. A moving tale of deception,...
Published on 13 Jun 2001

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay...
I'm not sure I could describe this book as amazing. It is rather 'bitty', with slightly unrealistic characters and plot. It is worth a read though and has a few surprising moments. Not Blackman's best work.
Published on 1 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving story of 2 desolate children., 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Mike is the new kid in town and is desperate to make new friends. Which he does, much to the dislike of Gemma. She has been there her whole life and has no friends. To keep herself busy and because she has no Mum, Gemma Collects pictures of Mums. Anything from Mums out of the newspaper looking sad to Mums out of a magazine, at the beach. A moving tale of deception, jealousy and friendship. Tell me no Lies is split into two halves, each chapter spinning from one character to the next, leaving the reader with an uneasy feeling of what might happen next.The two main characters, Gemma and Mike, are both hiding unbearable secrets about their parents. Their terrible secrets hangover them like a dark rain cloud never to go away.
Gemma and Mike, are two very lonely people looking for someone to help and understand them. In their despair, they both bring out their bad side and do things which are completely out of character. Award winning Malorie Backman writes with alot of feeling. She paints a vivid picture in the readers mind, of the passionate book which brings tears to the eyes of many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars children of courage, 25 Feb 2010
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Paperback)
Courage is a word rarely used to describe your average child who complains a lot and appears to be little more than devious and attention seeking, but in this book Malorie Blackman looks behind the "brave face" of the child with difficulties to examine not only the complexity of the problems that have made them react the way they so but also the daily courage some children have to display to simple face a world that is completely at odds with what they have been promised

I rate this book extrememly highly and should to be read not just by its target adolescent audience but also anybody involved with children who can take the time out and look deeper beneath the surface.

A brave and possibly controversial book that points out that nothing is rarely what it apppears when it comes to children and growing up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is worth a read, but a bit slow, 10 Aug 2003
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Paperback)
This book is good, but not excellent. It doesn't compare to Noughts and Crosses. It's about a lonely girl named Gemma and a new boy at school called mike, and they have both lost their mothers. Its all about jelousy, bribary, hatred and friendship. It is worth a read but you have to keep to it because it's a bit slow. Malorie Blackman's trick is to hide secrets within her characters and slowly reveal them in the story to keep the reader gripped and she does this well in Tell me no lies. What i'd say is if you have the time, read all of Blackman's books as she is a terrific author, but if you have time for one book then keep searching because this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read!, 8 July 2008
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Paperback)
Slow to start but once you're into the book it's really enjoyable and hard to put down. It's written from two different points of view which gives you an insight into each character's feelings and emotions. The story is based on bullying and has twists and surprising turns throughout. Would thoroughly recommend this book to other readers but mainly older children because of the issues covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The wonder book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
this book has everything a child needs happiness adventure and feelings . I recommend this book to seven to eleven year olds .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tell me no lies, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
I chose a 5 star rating, because I found this book interesting and it teaches you to never bully anyone or there will be a big punishment. I would recommend this book for people around age 7 and up. This book will teach you that when you are being bullied you immediately tell the teacher before the bully starts to blackmail you and make you do stupid things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely loved this book. Portrayed each character so well, with each chapter from gemmas to mikes prospective. This book is one of Marlorie Blackmans best. I would recommend it to 10 to 12 year olds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now this...this is a good book..., 4 Sep 2013
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
i read this bookaroun the age of eight (im 15 now) and love i the book was a gift from my aunt who'd i really see and soon enough i got hoocked....lol...really good ~.^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tell me no lies, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
I think the story is strong and has a lot of meaning. Truthfully,it isn't one of malorie blackman's best books however it is very powerful and hard hitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Lies (Kindle Edition)
A very emotional book and a great one two malorie Black man is a amazing writer with the ability to use her writing to make people's emotions get the best of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell Me No Lies
Tell Me No Lies by Malorie Blackman (Paperback - 4 Aug 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews