Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would probably make a good film
And maybe that's why in places this just doesn't quite gell but it's entertaining.

Five years ago Steph Landry spilt a Big Red Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white skirt, irreparably staining it. Lauren coined a phrase, "to do a Steph Landry" or "to do a Steph" about this for anything that people do wrong. It's stuck and it's the bane of Steph's existence. About...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Wyvernfriend

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not How To Be Popular…
…it's something else completely different. Sure it gives you SOME tips about the popularity jungle, but really it is a story about an unpopular girl who wants to be popular.

It goes to show that all people her age and some even younger people want to be popular when all you get out of it is 'Mum, *most popular person* says I have to have designer clothes...
Published 10 months ago by MissBlueSky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would probably make a good film, 3 Dec 2007
By 
Wyvernfriend (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
And maybe that's why in places this just doesn't quite gell but it's entertaining.

Five years ago Steph Landry spilt a Big Red Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white skirt, irreparably staining it. Lauren coined a phrase, "to do a Steph Landry" or "to do a Steph" about this for anything that people do wrong. It's stuck and it's the bane of Steph's existence. About that time Lauren dropped Steph as a friend and is the most popular girl in the school.

Steph has found a old book on becoming popular and decides to enact some if the ideas in it (updated some of the ideas of course, kid gloves and control pants for example being things to drop). She wants to be noticed by the cool people instead of being relegated to being friends with Jason and Becca who are definitely not part of the in crowd!

While she does this she finds out who her real friends are and finds love. While also finding out what popularity can really mean. The lessons she learns from the book are not only what it has that's right but what's wrong with some of it's ideas. Maybe it is okay not to be part of the popular crowd.

It's not a deep read, nor is is incredibly realistic on some levels as the timescale is a bit shortened for realism but it's a fun read and I found myself laughing out loud at bits of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Popular ?, 24 Aug 2006
It can be difficult not to let one bad incident over shadow your life. Even more difficult if like Steph Landry, a certain mishap with a Red Super Big Gulp means that your name is a byword (literally!) for all that is awkward. This has put a dent in Steph's social standing for the last 5 years leaving her with 2 friends, a whole community mocking her, Oh and a whopping crush on the most popular boy in School.

Steph decides to take matters into her own hands on finding an old book in an attic called "HOW TO BE POPULAR". With the new school year Steph's plan unfolds. But as Steph soon finds out it's now becoming popular that's hard - It's staying that way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was really funny and I liked it, except maybe the extracts from the 'How to be Popular' book that she finds, as I thought this was a bit boring to read.
I did like the romance in it though, and think that it is a fun read for teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not How To Be Popular…, 24 Aug 2013
…it's something else completely different. Sure it gives you SOME tips about the popularity jungle, but really it is a story about an unpopular girl who wants to be popular.

It goes to show that all people her age and some even younger people want to be popular when all you get out of it is 'Mum, *most popular person* says I have to have designer clothes or she'll reject me from her group.' Nothing good learning wise ever comes out of this so you're just throwing your knowledge all away to get stuck-up 21 before I'm even 15 type girls as friends.

Cabot, regrettably, does not regard this issue. It's apparently good to reject trusty friends for meanies. 3 stars because despite my rant, it is actually an OK piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, relatable read!, 24 April 2013
This review is from: How to be Popular: ... when you're a social reject like me, Steph L.! (Paperback)
This was my first experience of reading Meg Cabot and she's an author I've always wanted to read. I was drawn to this book by the title because it sounded right up my street! The book follows Steph Landry in her conquest to go from social outcast to one of the most popular students in school using a book she discovers that gives hints and tips on how to be popular.

There's so much to love about this story! Firstly I loved Steph and her friends. They're the sort of outsider group at school who look have distanced themselves from the popular kids. Then Steph decides she's on a mission to be popular which causes all kinds of tension. I still found Steph to be a really likable character, because we get to see her before her descent into popularity when she has a great relationship with her best friends Jason and Becca. I also really liked the relationship between her and her grandfather which was a constant throughout the book.

I instantly found this book to be relatable. The opening chapters of the book see Steph counting down to the first day of school, which is when she plans on launching her mission to become popular. I think we've all been the one counting down to the first day back after the summer holidays. I know I used to fuss about how I wore my hair that day or what school bag I was going to use! Of course in this book there's no school uniform so Steph is stressing a lot over what she's going to wear. I just thought it captured that teenage dream of wanting to reinvent yourself perfectly!

The book also dealt with some pretty serious issues. I'd say some of the stuff Steph went through during the course of the book was verging on cyber bullying, and she'd definitely been a victim of some not so nice attention in the past. Her desire to reinvent herself stemmed from an incident with the popular girl Lauren when they were kids, in which Steph spilled a red drink over her. Ever since then, her small town has caught on to the phrase "pulling a Steph Landry" which understandably Steph hates. It was interesting seeing her try and turn that around and show those people who she really was.

There's a lot of potential relationship drama dotted throughout the story, all of which I loved. Steph is hoping to win over popular boy Mark Finley once she's established herself amongst the cool kids, but from the start I was so rooting for Jason who Steph is totally in denial about having feelings for. I just thought the relationship between Jason and Steph was brilliant because, again, it was something so true to life. They're friends but there's so much sexual tension between the two of them! I was practically screaming at my iPod willing the two of them to get together.

I thought it was great how, although the main focus of this book is about Steph becoming popular, there's also some great little subplots in there. From Steph's grandfather's upcoming marriage and Steph's mum disapproving, to Jason potentially liking somebody else, to the talent auction that Steph has helped organise.

Also I adored how the book Steph is reading was incorporated into the story. We get little excerpts at the beginning of chapters which fitted in with the story and really helped mix up the narrative a bit. It helped get that insight into what Steph was reading and thinking as well.

I usually mark a book down if the plot is a bit predictable and I was expecting this book to go that way, but I just found myself rooting for the things I was hoping would happen at the end and enjoying everything too much to worry about it being predictable. It definitely gave me so much more than I was expecting and I'm wondering why on earth I haven't read this author sooner!

This review was also posted on my blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Really good!, 9 April 2013
This review is from: How to be Popular: ... when you're a social reject like me, Steph L.! (Paperback)
This was a superb book! Meg Cabot has done it again! She is my absolute favorite! This was a light, funny, easy-to read book with loveable characters. This is a classic book, with a plot similar to most Meg Cabot books, but it is funny, too. Not that her previous books were not, just this one was crazy funny. It had a nice and happy ending, one that made you really pleased and puts smile on your face. A must-read for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 4 Jun 2012
I personnally enjoyed this book, very up~lifting and although I read it in one greedy read very emotional and suprising although SPOILER!!! Some of you think the whole loving~your~bestfriend thing is a bit predictible honestly I was suprised! This book is so funny to and I found myself laughing out~loud when Steph is spying on Jason and Darleen's nature and Lauren's hate for Steph. MUST READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic and average, 24 Aug 2008
If you're a real Meg Cabot fan, you will probably get something out of this book but to me it shows how Meg Cabot is churning out less and less good titles. They all seem very similar and if you've read one then afterwards you will never fail to guess which guy the heroine will get.

The main character (Steph. L) isn't particularly compelling and embarks on an unrealistic mission to become popular which doesn't live up to the expectations which surround a book with such a promising title and premise.

If you're looking for original or flamboyant storytelling then look elsewhere but if you're looking for an easy holiday read then this should be adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 27 Nov 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you've ever heard the phrase "Way to pull a Steph Landry!," you wouldn't be alone. Pretty much everyone who attends Bloomville High in the heart of Greene County, Indiana, knows who Steph Landry is. Or, they at least know better than to ever, ever, ever do something that would have someone uttering the aforementioned phrase. Even kids under the age of five know what it means to "pull a Steph Landry." In that they know it means instant social doom.

So what did this girl do, you ask? Shoot someone? Rob a store? Dump the Homecoming Queen into a lake, lock the quarterback in a dungeon, lob a hand grenade into the general store? No, what Steph Landy did was much, much worse. She accidentally spilled a Big Red Super Big Gulp on Lauren Moffat's white D&G skirt. And even though they had been kind of friends up until that incident in sixth grade, and even though her father tried to remove the stain from Lauren's skirt, and even though her mother ended up buying her a new one, and even though Steph herself apologized for the incident like ten zillion times, Lauren Moffat has been making Steph pay for her mistake ever since.

They're all juniors in high school now--Steph and her best friends Jason and Becca, Lauren and her posse of popular girls and guys, most noticeably her football quarterback boyfriend, Mark Finley. Nearly five years after that accidental dousing in the middle school cafeteria, and Steph is still living down the horror of being a social outcast.

That's all about to change, though. At least if she has anything to say about it. Now that Jason's grandmother is marrying her own widowed grandfather, they've been spending a lot of time at Jason's house. It's during one of those times that Steph finds the book; the one that will shoot her to the top of the popularity totem pole, the one that will exile the social pariah Steph once and for all, and turn her into mega-popular, wonderful, everyone loves her Steph.

Kind of. Maybe. If she plays her cards right. Or she just might end up getting what she wants (popularity), and losing everything she's ever held dear (most noticeably, Jason).

With HOW TO BE POPULAR, Meg Cabot has taken the typical high school teen angst and mixed it up with an all-too-believable situation to create a wonderful, fast-paced read. I'd recommend this book to all fans of Ms. Cabot, all fans of contemporary stories, all fans of young adult literature, period. This is another winner from the queen of teen fiction. Trust me. Pick up a copy of HOW TO BE POPULAR, and you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read it if you have time to kil..., 8 April 2007
Not Meg's best... it just didn't contain that girl fun and excitement present in most of her other books. Steph is sick of having everyone hate her just because she spilt a drink on her then best friend who is the most popular girl in school. People in her town now regularly use the phrase "Don't pull a Steph Landry" and "you're such a Steph." She's in love with her neighbour and childhood friend but only really realises it and acts on it in the end, she's too preoccupied with becoming popular to notice beforehand. The neighbour is also her grandfather's fiancé's grandson. Anything else? Nah, that pretty much sums it up... oh except for the fact that there is the thing when the most popular guy in school kisses her... who she did have a crush on until she realised the whole being in love with her neighbour and childhood friend Jason thing.

Basically... slightly entertaining... but only read it if you have time to kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to be Popular: ... when you're a social reject like me, Steph L.!
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews