Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars number 5 - a new breed of war time tales
World War Two has begun and James Herriot who enlisted for the RAF has been called up. Leaving his new wife behind he heads off to London for the initial part of his training which includes lots of marching, running and other activities to make them fit for the forces. The book isn't really about what happens to him while in the forces but we do get snippets of it, mostly...
Published on 9 Sep 2006 by RD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
i enjoyed reading this
Published 5 days ago by miss sarah ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars number 5 - a new breed of war time tales, 9 Sep 2006
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Paperback)
World War Two has begun and James Herriot who enlisted for the RAF has been called up. Leaving his new wife behind he heads off to London for the initial part of his training which includes lots of marching, running and other activities to make them fit for the forces. The book isn't really about what happens to him while in the forces but we do get snippets of it, mostly the more jovial ones. Most of the time he uses a memory from the forces as a launch pad into a story from his time as a vet.

Still funny as ever but this foray into the life of James Herriot tugs a little more at the heartstrings as it takes us back to a time of human suffering and camaraderie that only war can bring about. More first rate stuff by Mr Herriot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really brilliant, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Paperback)
I thought this book was absolutely fantastic!!!! It was so good I took a whole day out and read it. My favourite story was the last chapter when he went to the farmers but the farmer didn't realise he was a vet and was trying to calf a cow it took him an hour and took Jim a few minutes. It's a funny yet serious book set in the second world war while his wife is pregnant and he sneaks away and really has a way of getting around people. A loveable and kind chracter always helping people and friends out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
Love this book and easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Herriot classic, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
Always enjoy his anecdotes of a vet's life, and particularly this one of his RAF training and helping out on a farm, where his veterinary knowledge unexpectedly came in very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herriots are my favourite reads!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I love to read the Herriots and as I now live in North Yorkshre i love to see the locations for this series of books.
I think that they are funny,, super at describing local folks and the stories are so endearing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good entertaining read, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I am Scottish and a lot of my family are from Yorkshire and I read these book when I was younger. It was great to revisit them now. A very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Robert of Northallerton (Northallerton, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Audio CD)
A talking book that is read in a manner that is both relaxing and entertaining. If you enjoy James Herriot then there is no reason why you'll not enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I love reading these books. As usual full of humorous tales of times in the Yorkshire dales as a vet. I enjoyed it as much as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Herriot book, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was very funny and had me gripped from the first page. I would thoroughly recommend it as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars consistently entertaining, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vets Might Fly (Audio CD)
Christopher Timothy reads James Herriot`s tales of working as a vet in the Yorkshire Dales. Humorous, with brilliant descriptions and characterization, these stories will make a long afternoon fly by or pass the hours on tedious motorway journeys. Suitable for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vets Might Fly
Vets Might Fly by James Herriot (Paperback - 7 April 2006)
5.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews