Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I thought of the content of the book, 20 Nov 2001
By 
Mrs. Paula L. Hulme (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Paperback)
This James Herriot doesn't tell the reader about the author's time in the RAF as a kind of 'running commentary'. Instead Herriot gives you some insight into his experiences as a vet training to be a pilot and he uses each annecdote to bring the subject round to the material for which he is best known - his hilariously funny experiences in practice. The book is quite touching, bringing home to the reader how awful James Herriot found the separation from his wife Helen, especially during her first pregnancy, the home sickness he felt for Darrowby and for the niche he had come to feel so at home in. My favourite bit is when he gets the chance to deliver a calf as an aside to his RAF career. A change of pace from the previous books, a little deeper but just as rich in all the things Herriot lovers enjoy so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone, very funny in places had me laughing a lot. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
Love this book and easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for ipad, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
bought for kindle. read in paper back. same as before just its now on my ipad and kindle very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoy a bygone time, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
What a lovely book. I first read this 35 years ago. This book has lost none of its' charm - a vet who truly loved his job working in an era when there was time to give each client the time they deserved. Would be enjoyed by animal lovers or those that relish the simple things in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good entertaining read, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
I am Scottish and a lot of my family are from Yorkshire and I read these book when I was younger. It was great to revisit them now. A very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like it, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Robert of Northallerton (Northallerton, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet In A Spin (Audio CD)
if you enjoy talking books and James Herriot then this is fine, most entertaining and read in a relaxing tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herriot humour, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
The complete series is brilliant. I have chortled my way through this book and the pictures which are conjured up in your mind from the text are instant and really funny. It does touch on the real life problems faced around that time but the balance of humour and tragedy are well balanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I real good read, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vet in a Spin (Kindle Edition)
once you open this book you will not want to put it down I know I didn't looking forward to my next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vet in a Spin
Vet in a Spin by James Herriot (Paperback - 7 April 2006)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews