Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Way To Pass An Hour
After the debacle that is Seven Ancient Wonders, Hell Island is a timely reminder that Matt Reilly can, when firing on all cylinders, be one of the best writers of action around.

The plot may be in no way original, the characterisation almost non-existent and both reality and the laws of physics may be stretched to breaking point (all of which you expect with...
Published on 13 July 2006 by C. Green

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a film
Hell Island isn't the greatest book i've ever read, but it wasn't the worst either! Also it isn't the longest book but you do find yourself reading as quick as possible to see how the hell (excuse the pun) they will get out of the situation they are in. It's like a movie (a straight-to-DVD movie) and you find yourself wanting to finish it all in one go. It's really cheesy...
Published on 23 April 2007 by Miss Dewhirst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Way To Pass An Hour, 13 July 2006
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
After the debacle that is Seven Ancient Wonders, Hell Island is a timely reminder that Matt Reilly can, when firing on all cylinders, be one of the best writers of action around.

The plot may be in no way original, the characterisation almost non-existent and both reality and the laws of physics may be stretched to breaking point (all of which you expect with Reilly's work) but any deficiencies are made up for with blistering action that crams 90% of the book's truncated length.

Digestable in an hour if you're a quick reader, this is the literary equivalent watching an episode of TV's 24 or Alias...pulpy, disposable, unbelivable but damn enjoyable and not too time consuming.

So, rather than pick up a magazine for that train journey try a shot of Hell Island instead. It will not cost you much more and it will hold your attention...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a film, 23 April 2007
By 
Miss Dewhirst (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
Hell Island isn't the greatest book i've ever read, but it wasn't the worst either! Also it isn't the longest book but you do find yourself reading as quick as possible to see how the hell (excuse the pun) they will get out of the situation they are in. It's like a movie (a straight-to-DVD movie) and you find yourself wanting to finish it all in one go. It's really cheesy macho stuff and a bit gory, but that's fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just discovered Matthew Reilly, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
I have just read Hell Island and I found it very good. It is action packed and fast moving. I just wanted to get to the end. The other reviewer shouldn't have spoilt the story by giving away the 'secret' of the island. The story can be far-fetched, but it is a book after all! I would love to see it as a film. I want to read more of Matthew Reilly's books now - I hope they are as fast-paced as this. Teenage boys would love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kindle download before a flight, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Hell Island (Kindle Edition)
Spotted this 128-page novella in the airport and promptly ignored the clamour of the bookshop to buy the paperback and simply downloaded it whilst standing in the shop. Got to love Kindle for its ability to give me my pick of the overly-populous beach/airport trash fiction that drowns bookshops these days because it results in saving space for the more classic, erudite tomes that should grace any genuine bookshelf.
Anyway, a 20 minute read somewhere between Iceland and Ireland proved that the Reilly-formula is as strong as ever. Drawing closely on the brilliance of the self-published "Contest" we find Scarecrow and Mother battling against a group of genetically-altered warrior-gorillas in the taut confines of a derelict hulk anchored by Hell Island.
Trite nonsense with the unswerving panache and ridiculous derring-do that we've come to find so amusing in Reilly's penmanship, the novel is almost pure comedy in its cheerful mayhem, explosive bodycount, cute diagrams for each "Mission" and taciturn, strong-jawed, mainly silent hero.
Perfect for the Kindle. Perfect for twenty minutes of hilarity on a plane. Worth the 1.55 pocket money. Download it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine for what it is - For converts only, 31 Oct 2008
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
This is a short book that at some point was free. Not a proper go by matthew reilly, who i personally enoy a great deal, but you should get his other books first, this is for those who already own ICE STATION etc., which is truly a brilliant thriller.

Having said that, this is good for what it is. I read it in one sitting, it is not too difficult, and decent escapism, those familiar with Scarecrow should find this slightly different direction interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much in too small a space, 18 April 2006
By 
Chris Chalk "Chris" (Croydon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
Give a man large print, a shade over 100 pages and an idea - what can he come up with? Maybe with the average man it is a neat game involving the bin and points for the amount of times you hit the target but for Matthew Reilly you get... Well what you get is, for me, a little more than expected.

Shane Schofield - nee Captain Shane Schofield is a marine. Nicknamed the scarecrow for his battle scars, Captain Schofield is a master of staying alive; unfortunately some of the newer members of his team are rather more familiar with more recent history - the fact that this mission is his first since being on medical leave for stress...

Luckily Captain S is surrounded by some familiar and altogether more friendly faces, specifically the enigmatic 'Mother' (who sounds like she really could be the proverbial "mother") who in my opinion is a fantastic character, definitely the best in the book but that is another matter.

Captain Schofield and his marine team are HALO (high altitude low opening) jumping onto Hell Island (well actually the boat beside it), a remote island in the pacific just oozing with legend and superstition. Unusually they are not alone, a Delta force and some Navy SEAL's are with them - unusual to mix and match the teams wouldn't you say? (Well actually I wouldn't say anything, I haven't got a clue but that's what the scarecrow is thinking so that's what we're going with).

What the teams find aboard the boat is (frankly) absurd, I mean I am all for odd things happenings to people and odd things doing them but come on! I won't ruin the book but I really struggled to get past this. If the occurrence were to happen as is suggested I would need more, a lot more explanation into the how, the why, the morale discussions that would have taken place to come up with such a decision (I am aware I am talking a little in riddles but read it then ask yourself can you imagine people sitting in a room thinking "I know what's a great idea...").

That is ultimately one half of the crux of my problem with this book. The second half is goes straight back to my first paragraph, this is 100 pages, I.e. a short novel but the amount of information packed in could keep a novel 4 times as long in ample supply. There are too many characters, an idea that is too out there and conflicts that really should be developed over time.

Although it sounds like I have a downer on this book I can assure you I don't. I really liked what I read but it just didn't feel like a story that can be contained in 3000 words. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more of Matthew Reilly's work, but in the lengthier variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hell Island, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
This was given as a Christmas gift, and I have been told it is a very good read and they really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hell Island, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
love Matthew Reilly books but wish this one was a bit longer in reading as it didnt take me long to finish, cant wait for his next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fan, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
I love Matthew Reilly books, so although one of his short stories, it still adds to my ever increasing collection. A fan of Scarecrow and big mama, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Service and product, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) (Paperback)
The service I relieved is second to none. Fantastic price and quality was perfect. Recommended to my family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series)
Hell Island (The Scarecrow Series) by Matthew Reilly (Paperback - 3 Mar 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews