Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

  • Jinx
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2007
If it wasn't enough that Jean (aka Jinx) Honeychurch is an accident magnet, she was born in a thunderstorm, or that her mother is a pastor or that she's from Iowa, but she's had to leave home to go to New York because of a stalker. Her relatives are wealthy and live in a big house. They have a daughter about the same age as Jinx, Torrence (aka Tory, but she's trying to leave that nickname behind) who has fallen into some bad habits. Including black magic.

Jinx has to try to make new friends, work out what the gorgeous Zack wants, and try to stop her cousin from harming her, and everyone around her, that and try to work out how to use her own powers of witchcraft.

It's fun, light and a very quick read. Typical Meg Cabot fare.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2009
Being a Meg Cabot fan, when I first picked up this book I had high expectations. I was definitely not disappointed. The lead character (Jean), as in many other Meg Cabot books, is someone that teenage girls can really relate too. However this book isn't like a normal "mean girls", boy meets girl book; Cabot somehow mixes the supernatural into the story to create an interesting and exciting turn of events.

You never know what is going to happen next in this book and for me that is a sure sign of a great author. If you enjoy other books by Meg Cabot you are in for yet another treat.

If you liked this then you'll like these - - -

Avalon High - Meg Cabot
Twilight Saga - Stephenie Meyer
Wicca / Sweep series - Cate Tiernan (Highly Recommended!!!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 29 July 2011
I love this book, and think it's one of Meg Cabot's best yet.
It's about a teenage girl named Jean Honeychurch. Everyone calls her Jinx, due to her clumsiness and bad luck. Coming from a house packed with siblings in the country, Jean is forced to move in with her Aunt, Uncle and cousins in New York to escape her stalking ex-boyfriend.
Jinx finds herself living a completely different lifestyle, where she gets lots more pocket money for much less work, and she lives in a spacious house with few people in it.
She was excited to see her cousin Tory again, because she hadn't seen her for about five years, but she discovers that Tory has changed dramatically, into a Goth-style girl, stick thin and plastered in make-up who believes that she is a witch.
Tory tries to get Jinx to join her coven of witches, but Jinx refuses, which causes Tory to get mad at her.
Tory also has a great dislike for Jinx because she 'stole' Tory's crush, cute guy-from-next-door Zack.
This book is brilliant, dark and full of magic. Some characters are really likeable, like Jinx and Chanelle, whilst others are really hateable, like Tory and Gretchen. I was engrossed in this book, and never wanted to put it down. The only thing you could improve on would be to write more books, and turn it into a series! Although it would be hard to think how to turn this book's ending into a new book. Oh well.
5/5, I've read it many times, and I'm sure I will read it again. Buy this book, especially if you like the rest of Cabot's teen girl books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 September 2007
Jean, aka Jinx, is the most unlucky person ever to live. Jinx says this about herself: "If I didn't have bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck at all."

And that only gets worse when she arrives in New York.

After her ex-boyfriend begins stalking her, she moves from her little town in Iowa to New York City to live with her aunt and uncle. Her cousin, Tory, Jean quickly realizes, is not the same as she was five years ago, when they would climb trees together and swim in the river. On her first day in New York she sees Tory hanging out with her friends, drinking and doing drugs.

What Jean doesn't realize at first is that Tory thinks she's a witch.

So what was it that made Jean leave her home? What's up with Tory and this whole "witch" thing?

JINX is Mrs. Cabot's best paranormal book yet! Jean is so funny, klutzy, and naive that it's impossible not to love her! I just could not put this book down after I turned the first page! I was even laughing when I read the first paragraph! Yet another great book from Meg Cabot, as expected!

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Before i read jinx i hadn't read Meg Cabot before but my friend recommended her so i looked her up in the children's e-book section and found jinx as soon as i started it i couldn't put it down!!! i loved the main charecters. i felt i could relate to her as i am very clumsy!!! and if zack was real i'd really like to be friends (but not friends with benifits!!!) lol i would reccommend this book to any one within the ages range of 11+ i promise you will love this book as much as i have ir even more!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Maybe because this is my favourite genre to read,I rated it so high or that it's a mixture of romance and fantasy perfect for teenagers leading to the reasoning I loved the book so much but it was a well written book that I would read again and recommend to any anyone with a wild imagination.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
it was not as good as her other books however i did like this book very much. though i would not read it again it was very funny and would recommend it to some of my friends who are into this kind of book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
A good little read for pre-teens , would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys stories about magic , enemies and love ! Happy reading :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Perfect condition, like a new book. Arrived in good time too and the price was absolutely fantastic- For a nearly new book especially!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
This was 1 of the best books that I have read this year!! It has been a read!! I hope u will enjoy it as much as me!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Royal Wedding
Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 2 July 2015)

Avalon High
Avalon High by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2007)

All American Girl
All American Girl by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.