Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute superlative elegance!
I don't usually tend to review books online (the only exception to this is if the book in question is outstandingly good or outrageously bad); fortunately, this book is just incredible! Leviston's poetry is not only packed with powerful imagery and elegant figurative language, but it also allows the mind to wander into a world created by each individual poem. She combines...
Published on 11 Aug. 2012 by Scientia Potentia Est

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Finding a voice
High quality prentice work. I liked best the sonnet Glist, half-rhymed throughout
Published 3 months ago by Simon Barrett 'Il Penseroso'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute superlative elegance!, 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Dream (Paperback)
I don't usually tend to review books online (the only exception to this is if the book in question is outstandingly good or outrageously bad); fortunately, this book is just incredible! Leviston's poetry is not only packed with powerful imagery and elegant figurative language, but it also allows the mind to wander into a world created by each individual poem. She combines the archaic with the new, the romantic with the contemporary, and creates a style that is so striking that it leaves you begging for more.

I first came across Leviston's work when I watched her reading her Titian inspired poem 'Woodland Burial' on Youtube, and I was so impressed by it that I decided to purchase this book. Needless to say, I am so glad that I did! I would recommend Frances Leviston to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wintry writing, 9 Dec. 2007
By 
Ben (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Public Dream (Paperback)
This is a sumptuous book of poetry. It's so dark and unsettling at times that I almost laughed when Leviston wrote about coming home in high heels after a night out, I thought, nah, she doesn't do that - surely she just lives on the top floor of a rain-lashed, granite tower! But there is warmth and meditation here too. The unsettling stuff reminds me of the spookier poems James Lasdun has written.
The reason this reviewer doesn't give "Public Dream" 5 stars is because he likes, enjoys and respects it, but doesn't love it. But that's okay - it doesn't want to be loved and that's one of its redeeming, admirable qualities. It remains aloof, alone and hovering in its powers, like a storm cloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Finding a voice, 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Public Dream (Kindle Edition)
High quality prentice work. I liked best the sonnet Glist, half-rhymed throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
B. Herdman (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Public Dream (Paperback)
A poet new to me but one I shall be following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unspeakably brilliant, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
Poet Tree (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Public Dream (Paperback)
Ever woken up after a wonderful dream and lamented the fact that you cannot put it into words? This collection of poems has done it for you. With a stupendous debut that captures fleeting emotions and transient feelings quite beautifully, rendering them into something timeless and tangible, Leviston speaks for her generation in a way that does not pander or patronise, vocalising our unarticulated and unspeakable dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Public Dream
Public Dream by Frances Leviston (Paperback - 2 Nov. 2007)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews