Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FATASTIC!
This book has to be my favourite EVER! It is great for any girl who enjoys teenage reads! When I read it I was blown away! I really didnt expect it to be so good, but believe me, it was!

Sam is an ordinary teenage girl who loves Gwen Stefani. She has an older sister who she cant stand, not only because she is a perfect, popular cheerleader, but also because she...
Published on 13 Oct. 2004 by Peter Howell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Okay
I'm a big Meg Cabot fan, and have read most of her books, but, in my opinion, this falls short of the excellence of some of her other novels. I lost interest in the character and the plot a number of times, and found it very easy to put down - not normally a reaction I have to Meg Cabot's books. It's an okay read, but not as good as Avalon High or Teen Idol and doesn't...
Published on 15 Jan. 2013 by Georgiana


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FATASTIC!, 13 Oct. 2004
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
This book has to be my favourite EVER! It is great for any girl who enjoys teenage reads! When I read it I was blown away! I really didnt expect it to be so good, but believe me, it was!

Sam is an ordinary teenage girl who loves Gwen Stefani. She has an older sister who she cant stand, not only because she is a perfect, popular cheerleader, but also because she is going out with the boy that is Sam's soulmate. When her sister grasses her up for something, Sam is forced to attend art classes with Susan Boone who she can't stand. Then she meets David, a boy who, like her, is into Gwen Stefani and Reel Big Fish. What she doesn't know is that he is the presidents son!!
PLEASE READ THIS AS YOU WILL LOVE IT. An interesting, but predictable book that even teaches you a bit about art!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest book ever?, 22 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
This is a excellent book, and i've only got one bad thing to say about it, there's no sequel.
Sam is an ordinary teen, who views Gwen Stefani as her role model. One day when ditching art class, Sam manages to save the life of the president! She attends dinner at the white house in her honour, and begins noticing the first son, David. She thinks she likes him, but there's only one problem. She's completely and totally in love with her sister's boyfriend Jack, or so she thinks.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Meg Cabot's other books, The princess diaries. Personally I think this book is about 100 times better than PD, but you be the judge.
If you don't read this book you'll fully be missing out. Everyone can relate to Sam, and you'll want to read this time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All American Girl, 15 July 2002
By 
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
When Sam Madison saves the life of the American president she doesn't realise what she has got herself in for. Being the Teen ambassador to the UN isn't all it's cracked up to be, deciding between childrens paintings, attending dinners and staying in the White House for three hours after school every Wednesday isn't fun! Especially when you are in love with your sisters boyfriend Jack and you have to go to Susan Boones every Tuesday for an art lesson. Then there is the small problem of everyone thinking that you are in love with the President's son David. Even Sam's sisters Lucy and Rebecca think theres a bit of "frisson" going on between Sam and David. This book is witty, heartbreaking and realistic! It is a great read and a great buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book! (from britishfairyprincess), 20 Jun. 2004
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
This is a wicked book, v. funny, I just can't decide if it's better than the Princess Diaries. Sam, the heroine, is great. She has to live with two sisters, Lucy (a cheerleader, yuk) and Rebecca, a child genius. Sam is an aspiring artist but is soo not impressed by having to take art classes, so she skips out to hang in a record store - and just happens to save the president's life accidentally. This is an ace, hilarious book and the people like Catherine and David are nice. READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant classic!, 9 Feb. 2004
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
This book is fab. It has everything a teenage book needs, comedy, romance, suspense. Me and my friends took it in turn to read it and we all loved it. The story is about Sam Madison an American teenager and ispiring artist. At first she isn't anything out of the ordinary until that is she saves the life of the president of the united states- this is where her life changes and the book takes an exciting twist. She visits the whitehouse and becomes accepted by the in-crowd (both of which were very unexpected.) She spends the book chasing her sisters boyfriend but when David comes into the picture who will she choose?! My favourite characters are Susan Boone and Teresa. Fantastic book- read it and find out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was amazing!!, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
Daisy (11) for [...]

All American girl is about a girl called Samantha Madison and she has bad luck on her side. She was born to 2 parents with red hair so her older sister Lucy gets the nice strawberry-blonde hair while she gets the copper wire coloured hair. She is also the middle child, the one stuck right in between Lucy and Rebecca (her weird younger sister, Sam suspects she's an alien but no-one else backs-up her theory) which means she doesn't get the new clothes or anything. But recently she's got a new wardrobe by dying all her clothes black because she's in mourning for the world (she really mustn't get out much these days!).

Sam is good at drawing so she has no idea why she got sent to art lessons which are run by this strange lady Susan Boone who looks like an elf queen or something along those lines. Well when she arrived she saw this boy who comments on her converse high-tops which she had decorated with daisies drawn on with a yellow highlighter and Tipp-ex. She thinks she likes him but the art lesson was a bit of a fail as she `drew what she saw but not what she knew' Sam was really confused! But to avoid humiliation next time she thought she would bunk off. So she did, and in the meantime saved a crazy guy from killing the President of America. Now Sam is an instant world famous celebrity and doesn't like it as much as she thought the, only exception is David the President's son...

Verdict: This book was AMAZING!!! Whoever doesn't read this will regret it forever! The book was clever and really captures the life of a normal teen. Definitely 10 out of 10. For girls 11-17 I would say. I recommend Meg Cabot's other books like the Princess Diaries, Teen Idol and Jinx, vey good! Don't forget to read all American Girl: ready or not, the sequel to this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very original, 31 Oct. 2004
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
I loved this book! Sam Madison saves the life of the President and is catapulted into a world of fame and glory. Anyone who loved 'The Princess Diaries' will love this. There were only two faults with this book. These were that it was predictable, and it was very, well... American. Full of cheerleaders, nerds and putting the word 'fully' in every sentence (eg. "I fully think you should read this"). Other than that, this was one brilliant book. I laughed out loud too many times to count.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun, 14 April 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
If you like The Princess Diaries, you will love this book, because it is essentially the same concept with a slightly different flavour. That's not to say that's a bad thing, Cabot is an engaging, humorous writer who has a knack for writing about fairly serious things in a light hearted, romantic and entertaining way. In this book, the heroine, Samantha Madison, is a geeky middle sister sandwiched between a popular cheer leader and a child prodigy. She carves out her space by dying all her clothes black, worshipping Gwen Stefani and drawing pictures of her friends with their celebrity crushes. Her parents find out that she is charging her enemies at school for the pictures, and as a 'learning', make her attend art classes with a famous, bohemian artist. While she is trying to avoid these classes Samantha accidentally saves the life of the President of the USA and her whole life is changed in an instant. This is a completely daft book, but it is very well written daftness and at least Samantha has a brain and a heart and doesn't conform to the usual romantic heroine type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for everyone!, 10 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
I loved Meg Cabot's books since her princes diaries 1, I started catching up with Her books ever since then. This book is so nice,funny, and maybe amazing. When I was reading it, I had to think,"wow!" I think the best part for me is the part when Sam and david are getting back in boyfriend/girlfriend relation ship in chapter 25. YOU, should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only Okay, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
Georgiana (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All American Girl (Paperback)
I'm a big Meg Cabot fan, and have read most of her books, but, in my opinion, this falls short of the excellence of some of her other novels. I lost interest in the character and the plot a number of times, and found it very easy to put down - not normally a reaction I have to Meg Cabot's books. It's an okay read, but not as good as Avalon High or Teen Idol and doesn't even come close to the brilliant The Mediator 1: Love You To Death: No. 1 series. There's a sequel, but I honestly can't be bothered to read it. If you're in between books, this might be a good filler, but it's certainly nothing exceptional or memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All American Girl: Ready Or Not
All American Girl: Ready Or Not by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2006)
£6.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews