Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!
I had read all of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy's incarnations individually, mostly from the local library. I am a big fan - but tatty library copies only go so far. When you appreciate a series of books this much, to own the real thing is an absolute must.
This boxset presents all five books in the trilogy (!) nicely in paperback, with a hard box to...
Published on 28 Nov 2005 by Lew1

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love Hitch Hikers but not these books
The Hitch Hikers books are as fantastic as I'd remembered, but I found this edition really annoying. There is a very small margin in the centre of the book and a large margin at the edge of each page. This means you have to hold it uncomfortably flat to read it. It also has the book title and author's name annoyingly close to the text at the bottom of each page. I think I...
Published on 25 April 2012 by SGMum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!, 28 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
I had read all of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy's incarnations individually, mostly from the local library. I am a big fan - but tatty library copies only go so far. When you appreciate a series of books this much, to own the real thing is an absolute must.
This boxset presents all five books in the trilogy (!) nicely in paperback, with a hard box to house them all in. These editions are quite bare-bones, but perfect for reading multiple times - and they all share a cover scheme that is oh-so subtly changed to suit the book you are reading.
Those who have not met with Douglas Adam's most famous works before are in for a reat treat - espcially if you like some witty and intelligent yet slightly off-the-wall humour. This is an excellent way to enjoy the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxed Set, 16 Dec 2010
By 
David Stamp (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
This is the ideal way to buy the Douglas Adams Hitchhikers Guide series of books. The order was despatched and received quicky by Westmorland Books. Good product, good service. What else needs to be said, hence the five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love Hitch Hikers but not these books, 25 April 2012
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
The Hitch Hikers books are as fantastic as I'd remembered, but I found this edition really annoying. There is a very small margin in the centre of the book and a large margin at the edge of each page. This means you have to hold it uncomfortably flat to read it. It also has the book title and author's name annoyingly close to the text at the bottom of each page. I think I also spotted more than one typo in each book. However, they do come in a nice box and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams......one hoopy frood, 28 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Paperback copies have long been dog eared through frequent use. Not to worry because I can remember most of them off by heart, but replacement required.

If you're considering this set, you know what the content is so no real comments are necessary other than to say "Hey you, sass that hoopy Douglas Adams? There's a frood who really knew where his towel was!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Despite all the good things said about Douglas it has taken me a long time to get round to reading these books. I think I was put off by catching some of the television series when I was younger and I just didn't get it.

One of the best compliments I could pay them is to say I'd be happy going straight back to the beginning to read them again. The imagination and language are just amazing and even though the story is fantastical fiction it still manages to have real meaning and relevance to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Exactly what i wanted. box set of five soft cover books. What more can i say? the titles speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't panic, it's awesome, 22 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
If you're reading this review because you've never read Hitchikers and you wanna know if it's worth it i'll make this easy, buy it! Even if you're not normally into Sci-Fi buy it anyway, if you can't read, buy it and have someone read it to you, if you're not a fan of silly outlandish idea's and plot's, still buy it, buy it anyway, no matter what, someday this and a towel will be all you need.

a word on the actual product, it's all five books in the trilogy neatly packed in a futuristic material called cardboard, the only way it could be better is if it were wrapped in Cheryl Tweedy, but that may be a while off, for now, this is a great set and well worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DONT TALK TO ME ABOUT LIFE!, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Great read. Great books arrived promptly and good condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hitchhiker Trilogy, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Bought this to revisit an old favourite and because I had not read the final book in the series before. Thoroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset (Paperback)
Lovely box set. My son loved it, he had been looking for a copy for a while so when I saw this I knew it would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset
The Hitchhiker Trilogy Boxset by Douglas Adams (Paperback - 5 Dec 2003)
14.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews