Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - EACH BOOK IS PUBLISHED UNDER TWO TITLES
The Mediator books are great stories but before you buy - BEWARE. The title list implies there are 12 "Mediator" book titles by Meg Cabot whereas there are only 6, but each book is published under 2 different titles (why?). For information: "Mediator 1 - Love You To Death" ISBN 0 330437372 is identical to "Shadowland (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725117; "Mediator 2 - High...
Published on 16 Dec. 2007 by Mr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but a slow starter with some flaws
This is quite a cute book. I like the concept of a ghost mediator and the ghost in her bedroom etc.

I felt that the story was really slow to start. I get that the author was trying to set the scene of moving and the family etc but nothing happened for a long time, and it was really quite repetitious in places.

Once you got to the actual story it was...
Published 2 months ago by J C Mitchinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - EACH BOOK IS PUBLISHED UNDER TWO TITLES, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr (YELVERTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
The Mediator books are great stories but before you buy - BEWARE. The title list implies there are 12 "Mediator" book titles by Meg Cabot whereas there are only 6, but each book is published under 2 different titles (why?). For information: "Mediator 1 - Love You To Death" ISBN 0 330437372 is identical to "Shadowland (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725117; "Mediator 2 - High Stakes" ISBN 0330437380 is identical to "Ninth Key (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725125; "Mediator 3 - Mean Spirits" ISBN 0330437399 is identical to "Reunion (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725133; "Mediator 4 - Young Blood" ISBN 0330437402 is identical to "Darkest Hour (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725141; "Mediator 5 - Grave Doubts" ISBN 0330418335 is identical to "Haunted (Mediator)" ISBN 0060751649; and "Mediator 6 - Heaven Sent" ISBN 0330434829 is identical to "Twilight (Mediator)" ISBN 0060724692.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book that grips and excites you, 22 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Reunion (The Mediator) (Paperback)
From reading the first book in the series titled Shadowland i was gripped by the style of writing that the author uses. As this book is aimed at an audience for 15-17 year olds i was suprised that me being 21 enjoyed this book. The book centres on a tennage girl whoes mother remarries after her father dies gaining a step father along with step bothers something that the main charcter suze has to adjust to as she has no blood related siblings.
Although she appears to be a normal teenager in actual fact she is a mediator someone who can speak and touch the dead and is suppost to guide the spirts onto the next stage of excistance, however suze's method of doing this can get rather viloent as sometimes the ghosts she is tring to help become aggressive toards her. Suze finds another like herself in the form of father dominic who is headmaster of her new school and urges suze to be more sympatheitc towrds the ghosts, it is this difference in opinion in how to deal with them that makes the book a good read.
Suze's younger step bother has a photographic memory which means the things that he comes out with make you laugh. Especially in the secod book in the series titled the ninth key it had me laughing ou loud at doc, the characters nickname. He is only 12 but sometimes appears to be 40, also suze has a ghost lving in her bedroom of her new house by the name of jesse and this friendship is something that you can see develop as the series progressess. The author Jenny Carroll writes extremley well and grasps the terminology that teenagers use and very subtely the book deals with the issues of death, gaining a new family, issues of moving to a new house and moving to a new school, these are handled in such a way that you dont even notice them and is very well thought out by the author as these and more issues that are within the book that suze has to deal with are realted to real life.
An enjoyable read and i cant wait for the 4th book in the series the darkest hour to be published...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - EACH BOOK IS PUBLISHED UNDER TWO TITLES, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr (YELVERTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reunion (Mediator) (Paperback)
The Mediator books are great stories but before you buy - BEWARE. The title list implies there are 12 "Mediator" book titles by Meg Cabot whereas there are only 6, but each book is published under 2 different titles (why?). For information: "Mediator 1 - Love You To Death" ISBN 0 330437372 is identical to "Shadowland (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725117; "Mediator 2 - High Stakes" ISBN 0330437380 is identical to "Ninth Key (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725125; "Mediator 3 - Mean Spirits" ISBN 0330437399 is identical to "Reunion (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725133; "Mediator 4 - Young Blood" ISBN 0330437402 is identical to "Darkest Hour (Mediator)" ISBN 0060725141; "Mediator 5 - Grave Doubts" ISBN 0330418335 is identical to "Haunted (Mediator)" ISBN 0060751649; and "Mediator 6 - Heaven Sent" ISBN 0330434829 is identical to "Twilight (Mediator)" ISBN 0060724692.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mediator, 3 Aug. 2006
By 
J. Peake (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
When I first saw this book I thought it wasnt goin 2 b very good but when i read it i couldnt put it down!

Suze is a normal teenager who mother had just moved 2 calafornia with her new husbund and his boring sons except theres 1 difference she can see ghost talkin 2 them and beat them up 2!is there nowhere she can escape from them. but when she arrives at her new school a ex pupil called heather who commited suicide is totally determined to make her lfe hell and get revenge on the school. determined suze goes head to head with heather before managing to shuv her into the after life.. for good! suze arrives home hurt but happy with what shed done. the story ends with a determined suze stating to dopey that she is going to find out who killed jesse- the hot ghost who shares her room. but will her feelings get in the way of her work as a mediator?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly Goings On, 29 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Reunion (Mediator) (Paperback)
Reunion is the third book in Meg Cabot's excellent Mediator series. For those who haven't read these books- well you should, but allow me to bring you up to speed. Suze the main character is a 16 year old girl who is burdened with a new stepfather, and three stepbrothers whom she swiftly renames Doc (the youngest and most loveable), Sleepy and Dopey, and oh yeah she also inherits a hot Latino ghost called Jesse who hails from the time of cowboys and isn't looking to check out of her room anytime soon. Suze is not only a smart mouthed chick but she has a gift. She is a mediator with the ability to see, touch and speak to ghosts, and as such it is much to her chagrin her duty to settle their differences and help them move across to the Other Side.

Naturally Suze isn't too thrilled about this duty but with the help of her school principal the charming Father Dom she gets through it. Suze's position and her secret identity is threatened in this installment by her best friend from New York, Gina coming to stay with her. Whilst trying to prevent the ghosts of three vengeful high school seniors exacting their revenge against the nerd that they believe is responsible for their fatal car crash, she must also prevent her Sleepy and Dopey fighting for Gina's affections and keep her ability under wraps.

Cabot's style of writng is amazing well plotted with very believable characters Suze's personality is a joy after years of sappy YA heroines, her speech is littered with pop culture references and slang and her interactions with the other characters will make you laugh out loud, especially when she decides that the only way to keep the nerd safe is to date him- a fate worse than death. of course things are never that easy for Suze so she quickly finds that perhaps the ghosts are right to want vengeance on Mark the geek who may or may not be responsible for their untimely deaths.

If you are a fan of YA fiction or Buffy for that matter you will eat this book up with a spoon it's witty, fun and a rollicking good character driven mystery. Is it just me or is anyone else out there becoming worryingly obssessed with Jesse the incredibly good looking ghost?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the mediater by meg cabot., 14 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
Have you ever read a book that's so wonderful you can't put it down, that you really want to get to the end of, to see what happens, yet at the same time don't want to finish it because you know no other book will be this good, this interesting, this well written, this breath-taking. That's how I felt from page one to the end, every chapter, page, paragraph, sentence and word was important, a part of the story. The mediater is abouta girl who can speak to ghosts, but it isn't a horror story like all the others, it isn't a tragic story like so many I could name, it's humerous ramantic book and yat, you're going to say one you've read 'romantic' oh, romantic, then it will be terrible, but it's not, it's not what everyone always thinks, they say it's disgusting, so even though you haven't read anything romantic in your whole life, you agree with them, which is something you shouyldn't ever do. i read this because I liked the princess diaries, a another great book by meg cabot, and so i bought it, ididn't look at the blurb, just the authers name and i loved it so you should buy, try something new for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meg Cabot, this is fabtastic!, 3 Oct. 2006
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
At first I picked the book up and thought "Rubbish". At first I couldn't really get into Meg Cabot's writing style but when I got to at least the third chapter, I couldn't put it down! I was so desperate to know what would happen next! I feel like I could really relate to Suze as a teenager and I think this book is for teenagers, I would only recommend it to adults who enjoy children's books or who enjoy witchcraft, ghosts etc . . . . FABBBBB!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tale of the mediator, 17 Sept. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
This book is addictive! It is about a teenage girl called Susannah who can talk to and touch ghosts, who has just moved to california to live with her new stepbrothers and step dad. She doesn't even get to get changed when she finds another ghost in california who lives in her room, called Jesse. Suze is very rude to him but she really does think that he is hot, but they argue a lot. She goes to her new school and finds out something interesting about her new principal who is really cool. She meets an evil female brat of a ghost who killed her self because her boyfriend Bryce broke up with her. Heather (the evil female brat of a ghost) tries to kill Bryce and when Suze gets in the way she tries to kill Suze. I will not say more about what happenns as I have given away a lot of the storyline already but I just want you to know sassy is the word I would sum it up with exactly! It is not any ordinary book it beats other books by far and guess what?..............there are more books in the series! but whatever you do BE WARNED THESE BOOKS ARE VERY ADDICTIVE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute but a slow starter with some flaws, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is quite a cute book. I like the concept of a ghost mediator and the ghost in her bedroom etc.

I felt that the story was really slow to start. I get that the author was trying to set the scene of moving and the family etc but nothing happened for a long time, and it was really quite repetitious in places.

Once you got to the actual story it was pretty good, with the psycho schoolgirl ghost etc.

I didn't find Suze to be a very believable character overall- she didn't sound or act like a teenage a lot of time, and people's reactions to her were not particularly realistic, I thought.

Overall, this is a fun read, and the flaws don't make it unreadable. Not sure I'll buy more but if any were on a free offer, I'd download and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..!, 9 Sept. 2008
This review is from: The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 (Paperback)
This book is the first in an AWESOME series. I'd only ever read the Princess Diaries (who is by the same author) but then I came across this book in a library. Well, the next thing I know, I started buying the whole series!
Susannah has had to move from New York to California-which included making some BIG changes in life! Her Dad died when she was younger so Suze is used to just her and her Mum. Now she has a Step-Dad and three Step-Brothers to cope with.
Oh, and to make matters more complicated, she can see and talk to ghosts (No one knows but her) and a totally hot spanish ghost is living in her bedroom!
If you thought Princess Diaries was good, buy this book!

//.snap C=
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1
The Mediator 1: Love You to Death: No. 1 by Meg Cabot (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews