Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A study in Nationalism
Irish Freedom by Richard English is a remarkable account of Irish history. It is remarkable because it reveals an entirely different perspective on the history of Ireland that, from my personal experience, was not taught to children in Northern Ireland's Protestant schools. I have now learned why the British Union flag is referred to as 'the butcher's apron'...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Bill Watters

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I found some conclusions made by Dr. English peculiar. For example States, as fact, that the Catholic/Nationalist grievances of discrimination in Northern Ireland were grossly exaggerated yet offers little evidence to back up this claim.

His book on the Provisional IRA is a better read
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by touchtheclouds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A study in Nationalism, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
Irish Freedom by Richard English is a remarkable account of Irish history. It is remarkable because it reveals an entirely different perspective on the history of Ireland that, from my personal experience, was not taught to children in Northern Ireland's Protestant schools. I have now learned why the British Union flag is referred to as 'the butcher's apron'!

As a student of political philosophy I was surprised to learn that education was not available to Irish catholics. The implication being that if they were illiterate then their ability to rebel and throw out the foreign oppressor would be severely constrained.
Key to successful English domination of Ireland was in excluding Irish catholics from any of the benefits that would naturally be enjoyed by those within the Pale. Hence, and confusingly to many, the majority of people who figured in the Nationalist struggle were in fact rational Protestants.

In his book Dr. English begins with Irish pre-history and the circumstances of how England became occupiers whose presence was both beneficial & brutal. He goes on to present an excellent exposition of what represents the ideals of Nationalism and how the political responses of an English government, faced with wars in Europe, impacted on the Irish population.

Perhaps the greatest contribution to history, made by Dr English, is in his unravelling of the complicated picture of present day Irish politics and the ongoing resistance to Machiavellian enterprise waged by the British government. He also explains the dilemma faced by the British in either supporting Unionism or handing Ulster back to Ireland.

In closing, may I say that this study of political imperialism is an unbiased account and elucidates both sides of the Irish 'problem'. It is a text that ought to be included in all British school curriculums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explaining Irish history from a new perspective, 30 May 2009
By 
Paul Wilyman (Marlow, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
This is certainly not a book for someone with just a casual interest in Irish history, and definitely not for someone who is looking for a book to read by the pool on holiday. It's well written, but pretty heavy going - "scholarly" would be a good summing up. There are many books on irish history, covering the what, the how, the when and the who of the last near-thousand years. This is the only one I have found that explains the why. It makes sense of the strength of feeling that has caused many people to act the way they have done, in an accessible and objective way. If you're already knowledgeable about irish history, then this book really puts it in perspective. Very well researched, clearly a labour of love for the author, and a real eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, balanced, history, 12 Feb 2009
By 
oldhasbeen (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
This is a very well written, very wide ranging history of Irish Nationalism that treats it as a complex subject worthy of detailed analyis.

The author, greatly to his credit, does not attempt to hide the worst features of British rule, even though he ultimately comes down as pro-partition, at least in the sense that he clearly believes that some form of partition was inevitable by 1912. Nor does he over-simplify complex issues, or regard Nationalism as homogenous and unchanging as many other appear to. At the end of this book I felt I had learned an awful lot about the belieefs of Irish Unionists & Nationists, and a lot of the "why?" too.

It's not always an easy read, but repays the effort. It's not perefect - I would have liked more on the Curragh mutiny and the 1920's Boundary Commisison, for example - but no book on such a contentious subject ever will be, so it deserves five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
Well presented material on a subject which needs life breathed into it. An exhaustive treatment of a complex subject, dealt with in a refreshing way. A compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good explanation in historical terms, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
At least-it gives a good expanation of Ireland,s wish to be free and independent-after 8 centurues of British rule and colonization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
I found some conclusions made by Dr. English peculiar. For example States, as fact, that the Catholic/Nationalist grievances of discrimination in Northern Ireland were grossly exaggerated yet offers little evidence to back up this claim.

His book on the Provisional IRA is a better read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read, but very informative, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Colin J. Adams "silver surfer" (Northern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irish Freedom (Paperback)
A very difficult book to read because it was written by an Oxford don, and you have to have a dictionary at hand for that sole reason. But it was very useful for my research, and I got some very useful and previously unknown information from it, and that was the principal reason why I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Irish Freedom
Irish Freedom by Richard English (Paperback - 2 Nov 2007)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews