Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2005
This final book in the trilogy following the fortunes of Thorgils, is excellent!
The reader continues the journey Thorgils takes, starting with his life in Constantinople; witnessing the power struggles within the court of the Basileus. Makes good reading, giving the reader a real sense of the difference in culture in that part of the world compared with northern Europe.
Thorgils escapes this life and goes forward, back into Viking lands, where on a mission for his liege lord, Harald Hardrada(future King of Norway) he finds love and happiness again. As always in this trilogy he is prevented from living the comfortable stable life and gets thrown in with the preparations to invade England. This leads Thorgils to a meeting with William The Conqueror prior to the Duke's own invasion of England.
Events move swiftly and we get a very realistic back seat view of the Battle of Stamford Bridge, where Thorgils loses his dream of returning the "Old Ways" to the people, when Hardrada is defeated.
This book finishes the trilogy perfectly and neatly ties in the events and battles of 1066. The way Thorgils last days are described leaves it quite open for the reader to think on. Like all VERY good books, this final volume leaves you satisfied but still wanting a little more!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 March 2006
This is unfortunately the last book in this fascinating trilogy.
Book 2 came to an end with the arrival of our hero in Constantinople. Book 3 continues with the adventures at the Imperial Court and takes the reader straight to 1066 and the Norman conquest of England. Here the story finds a natural end as the final struggle between "old believers" and "white Christ followers" is one by the latter.
I highly enjoyed the reading about the long gone world of Imperial Constantinople its sophistication, achievements but as well its down-sides of corruption and autocracy. Here the authors creates a vivid, colourful and engaging picture of the times. He continues this through out this book, be at the court of Norway, in the poor wilderness of rural Scandinavia or in the prosperous world of the Duke of Normandy soon to be king of England. One gets a fine feeling for the time and the personalities.
I enjoyed every page of it! 5 stars are well deserved
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
There is a real warmth and feel good factor to these Thorgil Tales that is both surprising and at times moving.
When you buy a Viking story you would normally expect blood guts, rape and well..lots of Viking (sea raiding).

Instead we accompany Thorgils through the majority of his life and yes, experience murder, treachery, robbery and ruthless ambition but in equal measure we see fierce loyalty to family and friends, the kindness of strangers and a man's struggle to preserve his religion in the face of the globalising Christian faith of the time.

This is not an anti-Christain book at by the way but the author rather paints an affectionate picture of the old Pagan beliefs and alludes to the quite outstanding 'coincidences' between the far newer Christian faith and the old Pagan beliefs. He also makes the point that the Christian faith has rather been used as a 'cause' and political weapon by ruthless men seeking to expand their power base historically.

The end of the book is very clever as author bids farewell to a leading charactor and at the time conjures an image of the Old Gods fighting their final losing battle alongside the heroes of Valhalla up in the heavens. As if the events of heaven and earth are mirroring each other with the 'Old ways' losing both wars. Very Romantic and heroic and at the same time ironic because Thorgils himself is in no way a Warrior. But rather witness and scribe to the passing of a lost way of life.

My only criticism would be that over the three books there is a little lack of that real nail biting 'must know what happens next' feverish page turning excitement. It's a Balti rather than a Vindaloo but it's a Balti of high quality.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2005
King's Man; the third in the Viking series - concludes the story of Thorgils and his dramatic life.
Enlisted into Varangian guard; Thorgils finds himself a key player in the court intrigue of the Byzantium Empire. Whilst stationed in Constantinople he meets Harald Prince of Norway; a driven, ambitious leader who dreams of glory and a Northern Empire comparable to that of King Knut's.
Ultimately the story leads Thorgils back to the north, where his powers of second sight find him serving Harald has an envoy. Tasked with forming an alliance with William of Normandy; Thorgils is tricked into allowing Harald's invasion of Britain to distract Harold Godwinsson's force: thus allowing the Norman fleet to land unopposed.
In an effort to warn Harald, Thorgils makes haste to join his King at Stamford Bridge, but the Saxon army are closing fast!
An excellent conclusion to the Viking trilogy: a real page turner. Tim Severin should be commended on his efforts to stay true to the Icelandic sagas: along with Norse mythology portrayed accurately - in honour of "The Old Ways".
Paul Tonks (author "The Mapping of Markesh").
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
Having read Viking 1,2 & 3 I have become an avid reader of all things Severin. Writers write from their own experiance and Tim is no exception. Every detail of the building of Aincient boats, Weapons, Leatherwork and Battle tactics are brought to life as if Tim was actually there in the eyes of his Main charecter.

Viking is his first work of fiction and a series of books I could not put down. However, even more entertaining are the accounts of Severins own adventures in which he learned the skills employed in the books.

Oh yes and I forgot to say it's a great read.

Enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
I don't usually write reviews but from reading some of the poor reviews here I thought they do this series of books a great injustice....

I'm a keen reader of historical fiction and have read many different authors - from Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, Wilbur Smith, Simon Scarrow to Sam Barone and more as well... And I have to say that this series is one of my favorites.

Filled with brilliant Viking mythology and the Viking way of life it seems to cover so much more detail than Cornwell did in his Viking series, although it doesn't have as much fighting - the main character has a fascinating and adventurous life - and the battles there are very well written and realistic...

The first novel was hard to get into because of a slow start, (and the storyline sometimes got difficult) - but stick with it until you get into the action and you will find the lead character and the whole story of his life become very appealing...

Maybe it's just because I love the colorful Viking mythology and the fight between the old and new gods that is a continually repeating theme to the story... but I'd gladly give more than just 5 stars here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
The final instalment of an amazing trilogy ,full of Historical Drama that could be taken straight from the pages of the Nordic Saga's themselves . .
Set in an ancient world crammed full of characters pulled from Norse Mythology.
Thorgils Leifson, the son of an highly reveered Viking warrior ''Lucky Leif'' and an Irish noblemans daughter, he is raised in ICELAND and GREENLAND and taught all the ways and customs of the Ancient ones. Struggling in a time when division is running through the Nordic lands between the new Christ faith and the Pagan old ways, Thorgils finds solice in Odin, and is guided by his visions passed down from his ancestors. With this new found gift he finds many honourable allies.Finding himself throughout the trilogies in bloody feuds and battles ,love and torment Thorgils always manages to scrape by.He is an individual who you cant help to bond with. He is acharacter whose intelligence and adaptibilty lies far beyond the reaches of ones thinking. I ant reccomend these three books highly enough if you have any passing interest in adventure, history.Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Viking Trilogy)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
This is the final novel from a trilogy of three. I thought it was superbly written and a good historical account of how things could have been in the 10th century. I thought it kept up the very high quality from the previous two novels in the series. It portrays Thorgils in the later years of his life and his attempt to keep the old ways alive from the growing followers of the white christ.
I thought it was a thoroughly interesting and enjoyable read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
This is part three of a fascinating romp through the period just before the Norman conquest. There are a number of threads besides the main story - here the main character's involvement with Harald Hardrada continues, until his final defeat at the hands of Harold Godwinson, who is in turn out manoevered by William the Bastard (the last bit is not in this narrative). The last days of the Old Ways are played out, a lot of insights into why ancient faiths were supplanted by 'The White Christ' - and no, it's not particularly sympathetic to Christianity. Whatever it's virtues, this was a tool for much political machination.
A great trilogy, I will be looking at Tim Severin's other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
The hero is a bit of a non-bawdy Flashman, i.e. he appears in some of the main events of the era and witnesses them first hand - a bit unbelievable, but enjoyable nonetheless. Again I come back to the misnomer - the hero is not a viking. I find the religion aspects of this trilogy a bit wearing too, far too much detail. Less action packed than other stories set in this period, mainly because the hero is really a non-combattant, but an interesting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.