Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent finale to an excellent trilogy...
This final book in the trilogy following the fortunes of Thorgils, is excellent!
The reader continues the journey Thorgils takes, starting with his life in Constantinople; witnessing the power struggles within the court of the Basileus. Makes good reading, giving the reader a real sense of the difference in culture in that part of the world compared with northern...
Published on 12 Dec 2005 by Iceni Peasant

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great series of books
Having read all three of the Viking trilogy now, I feel that the series is good, but by no means brilliant.

While the scenery was very well set, and the characters were interesting, I felt that the author was trying to cram too much into the books. Thorgils had too many professions, which made the books feel like an overview of the period 999-1066, rather than...
Published on 30 Jan 2007 by A. Kendall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent finale to an excellent trilogy..., 12 Dec 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This final book in the trilogy following the fortunes of Thorgils, is excellent!
The reader continues the journey Thorgils takes, starting with his life in Constantinople; witnessing the power struggles within the court of the Basileus. Makes good reading, giving the reader a real sense of the difference in culture in that part of the world compared with northern Europe.
Thorgils escapes this life and goes forward, back into Viking lands, where on a mission for his liege lord, Harald Hardrada(future King of Norway) he finds love and happiness again. As always in this trilogy he is prevented from living the comfortable stable life and gets thrown in with the preparations to invade England. This leads Thorgils to a meeting with William The Conqueror prior to the Duke's own invasion of England.
Events move swiftly and we get a very realistic back seat view of the Battle of Stamford Bridge, where Thorgils loses his dream of returning the "Old Ways" to the people, when Hardrada is defeated.
This book finishes the trilogy perfectly and neatly ties in the events and battles of 1066. The way Thorgils last days are described leaves it quite open for the reader to think on. Like all VERY good books, this final volume leaves you satisfied but still wanting a little more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spectacluar finale for a great triology, 21 Mar 2006
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is unfortunately the last book in this fascinating trilogy.
Book 2 came to an end with the arrival of our hero in Constantinople. Book 3 continues with the adventures at the Imperial Court and takes the reader straight to 1066 and the Norman conquest of England. Here the story finds a natural end as the final struggle between "old believers" and "white Christ followers" is one by the latter.
I highly enjoyed the reading about the long gone world of Imperial Constantinople its sophistication, achievements but as well its down-sides of corruption and autocracy. Here the authors creates a vivid, colourful and engaging picture of the times. He continues this through out this book, be at the court of Norway, in the poor wilderness of rural Scandinavia or in the prosperous world of the Duke of Normandy soon to be king of England. One gets a fine feeling for the time and the personalities.
I enjoyed every page of it! 5 stars are well deserved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam's review, 16 July 2006
By 
This is the final novel from a trilogy of three. I thought it was superbly written and a good historical account of how things could have been in the 10th century. I thought it kept up the very high quality from the previous two novels in the series. It portrays Thorgils in the later years of his life and his attempt to keep the old ways alive from the growing followers of the white christ.
I thought it was a thoroughly interesting and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly excellent book, 23 Jun 2006
By 
Redeye (England/Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Paperback)
What a superb book, I haven't read the first two parts of this trilogy but that didn't detract at all from the enjoyment of this book, in fact you wouldn't know it was part of a trilogy. The story grabs your attention from the start and holds you till the very end. It is a story intertwined within the true events of history, beginning in Constantinople and culminating around the Norman Conquest of England in 1066. Tim Severin's style of writing is clear and easy to read and combines great historical knowledge with great story telling and compassion. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Affectionate tales from a lost world, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Paperback)
There is a real warmth and feel good factor to these Thorgil Tales that is both surprising and at times moving.
When you buy a Viking story you would normally expect blood guts, rape and well..lots of Viking (sea raiding).

Instead we accompany Thorgils through the majority of his life and yes, experience murder, treachery, robbery and ruthless ambition but in equal measure we see fierce loyalty to family and friends, the kindness of strangers and a man's struggle to preserve his religion in the face of the globalising Christian faith of the time.

This is not an anti-Christain book at by the way but the author rather paints an affectionate picture of the old Pagan beliefs and alludes to the quite outstanding 'coincidences' between the far newer Christian faith and the old Pagan beliefs. He also makes the point that the Christian faith has rather been used as a 'cause' and political weapon by ruthless men seeking to expand their power base historically.

The end of the book is very clever as author bids farewell to a leading charactor and at the time conjures an image of the Old Gods fighting their final losing battle alongside the heroes of Valhalla up in the heavens. As if the events of heaven and earth are mirroring each other with the 'Old ways' losing both wars. Very Romantic and heroic and at the same time ironic because Thorgils himself is in no way a Warrior. But rather witness and scribe to the passing of a lost way of life.

My only criticism would be that over the three books there is a little lack of that real nail biting 'must know what happens next' feverish page turning excitement. It's a Balti rather than a Vindaloo but it's a Balti of high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic page turner, 20 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Paul Tonks "slugboy2" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
King's Man; the third in the Viking series - concludes the story of Thorgils and his dramatic life.
Enlisted into Varangian guard; Thorgils finds himself a key player in the court intrigue of the Byzantium Empire. Whilst stationed in Constantinople he meets Harald Prince of Norway; a driven, ambitious leader who dreams of glory and a Northern Empire comparable to that of King Knut's.
Ultimately the story leads Thorgils back to the north, where his powers of second sight find him serving Harald has an envoy. Tasked with forming an alliance with William of Normandy; Thorgils is tricked into allowing Harald's invasion of Britain to distract Harold Godwinsson's force: thus allowing the Norman fleet to land unopposed.
In an effort to warn Harald, Thorgils makes haste to join his King at Stamford Bridge, but the Saxon army are closing fast!
An excellent conclusion to the Viking trilogy: a real page turner. Tim Severin should be commended on his efforts to stay true to the Icelandic sagas: along with Norse mythology portrayed accurately - in honour of "The Old Ways".
Paul Tonks (author "The Mapping of Markesh").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the series, 19 Dec 2009
By 
D. Mansfield (scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Paperback)
I don't usually write reviews but from reading some of the poor reviews here I thought they do this series of books a great injustice....

I'm a keen reader of historical fiction and have read many different authors - from Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden, Wilbur Smith, Simon Scarrow to Sam Barone and more as well... And I have to say that this series is one of my favorites.

Filled with brilliant Viking mythology and the Viking way of life it seems to cover so much more detail than Cornwell did in his Viking series, although it doesn't have as much fighting - the main character has a fascinating and adventurous life - and the battles there are very well written and realistic...

The first novel was hard to get into because of a slow start, (and the storyline sometimes got difficult) - but stick with it until you get into the action and you will find the lead character and the whole story of his life become very appealing...

Maybe it's just because I love the colorful Viking mythology and the fight between the old and new gods that is a continually repeating theme to the story... but I'd gladly give more than just 5 stars here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd book of the Viking trilogy, 24 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Paperback)
Having read the first two books of course I wanted to see what happened next. This last part I thought was the most interesting. It covered a lot of ground and a lot of different situations, paralleling history, which makes it more interesting. I like books that have a fictional character immersed in historical tales, it brings history to life. I would recommend this book, and its two previous volumes, they're a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great series of books, 30 Jan 2007
By 
A. Kendall (Duxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read all three of the Viking trilogy now, I feel that the series is good, but by no means brilliant.

While the scenery was very well set, and the characters were interesting, I felt that the author was trying to cram too much into the books. Thorgils had too many professions, which made the books feel like an overview of the period 999-1066, rather than a story of one man.

Overall though, I feel that the major problem with the series is that they stand in contrast with Bernard Cornwell's current Saxon series. While Severin's books are good, Cornwell proves once again to be the expert at historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 (Paperback)
This is part of a set of books by Tim Severin, under The Viking Saga, once you get into the story, it is surprising how you can be engrossed with the storyline,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3
Viking 3: King's Man: No. 3 by Tim Severin (Paperback - 7 April 2006)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews