Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (65)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same book as Seven Ancient Wonders
Got a bit over excited when I first spotted this thinking it was a sequel. Don't be disappointed and get the same book twice. Although saying that Seven Ancient or Seven Deadly is a must read, highly over the top action is a work of fiction and I can imagine some pompous people who think they know everything not enjoying it as they are too busy trying to prove the author...
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by Sarah

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toon Raiders
This rather breathless adventure romp might appear to be a cartoon style thriller, with little in the way of characterisation or descriptions of locations or, in fact, any plausibility.

A more accurate comparison, though, would be to a shoot 'em up computer game. Even the chapter headings (e.g."Second Mission : The Lighthouse") remind the reader of progressing...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Rotgut


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same book as Seven Ancient Wonders, 21 Mar 2007
By 
Got a bit over excited when I first spotted this thinking it was a sequel. Don't be disappointed and get the same book twice. Although saying that Seven Ancient or Seven Deadly is a must read, highly over the top action is a work of fiction and I can imagine some pompous people who think they know everything not enjoying it as they are too busy trying to prove the author wrong throughout the whole book. My advice to them is leave the fiction section alone and stick to reading your text books. This is a book that is pure escapism and a real page turner which I found impossible to put down and read from cover to cover in a day. I then did something I haven;t done in a while which was jump on the internet to email the author with my thanks for such a great read and to beg for a sequel. Loved the characters,loved the story and loved the ideas. My poor boyfriend is unable to read this though because every couple of chapters I couldn't help filling him in on what was happening in my book. Enjoy a good read then get it, if you want factual stay away. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Ancient Wonders, 18 Feb 2008
By 
K. W. Farmer "kevanf1" (Cheslyn Hay, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, Seven Ancient Wonders is the same as this newly titled book. This is down to the publishers not Mr Reilly. To those who have moaned about this book.... get a life for goodness sake!!!! My first Reilly book was 'Seven Ancient Wonders' and I am totally hooked. Think James Bond but working as team and without the superior attitude or the annoying sex and sexual overtones. This book if absolute fantasy and it should be read with that in mind. If you don't want to read fiction then don't read this book but don't criticise it either! I loved it and have now read its sequal Six Sacred Stones... please set that word processor on fire Mr Reilly because I'm on the edge of my seat :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toon Raiders, 10 April 2008
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1) (Paperback)
This rather breathless adventure romp might appear to be a cartoon style thriller, with little in the way of characterisation or descriptions of locations or, in fact, any plausibility.

A more accurate comparison, though, would be to a shoot 'em up computer game. Even the chapter headings (e.g."Second Mission : The Lighthouse") remind the reader of progressing through the different levels of a typical game.

The book is fast paced and breezy enough to be immune to criticism. The opening scene "The nine figures raced through the crocodile-infested swamp..." gives a fair summation of its weaknesses and strengths.

Despite playing fast and loose with historical facts, and some episodes seeming to ignore basic physics too (the helicopters in the Hanging Gardens seem to herald some pretty impossible heroics) the author must be congratulated for having the chutzpah to criticise Dan Brown's truly turgid "Da Vinci Code."

In a flood of extremely unlikely situations and descriptions of psuedo-historical settings, the one inaccuracy that really irritated me was the constant assertion that our hero's unbelievably intelligent Peregrine Falcon is "small and brown." Peregrines are certainly not small, they are powerful and large and grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars same as Seven Ancient Wonders, 18 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. Craig stuart "stuart3851" (plymouth, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
from what i can gather from other internet sources this is the same as Seven Ancient Wonders just a different title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, I just couldn't finish it!, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1) (Paperback)
I am very sorry but I just had to mark this book down. I would have given it a single star but for the time spent on the illustrations (an rare treat for a novel) which obviously had some thought going into them. The problem with the story was not the literary style like other readers comment on (I could get around this) but the sheer unbelieveability of it ... OK the reality. One recurring instance, is the crocodiles, they seem to get everywhere and just in places you know they could never exist, bloodworms in underground temple pools that have been closed thousands of years you just know they would not survive there and then theres lakes of mercury! I just don't think this would ever happen. For fantasy, I could just about put up with falling gallons of 3000 year oil and self igniting cave torches, fireballs and huge rolling rocks because I guess this is acceptable within the realms of the fantastical but the reality of situations is stretched just a bit too thin. In the end I got to thinking 'oh no, not again' and just lost interest and put it down. Maybe if the reality was made a bit more believeable the rest of the story would come more into its own. Just TOO fantastical for me, didn't leave any challenges to draw me further into the book. If these are the kind of elements (and they are many) that you love in a novel then its for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst book I have ever read, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Seven Ancient Wonders (Hardcover)
An open letter to Matthew Reilly (I've just noticed you can't use italics here, which is a shame as I used a lot)

I can honestly say, that without a shadow of doubt, 'Seven Ancient Wonders' is the worst book I have ever read. That's actually slightly misleading because I had to give up very early on when a bunch of half-dimensional characters were running up the inside of a mountain with oil gushing everywhere, crocodiles dropping out of the ceiling and bullets wobbling about.

Perhaps I'm doing you a disservice and your books are aimed at people who can't actually read because you supply lots of diagrams and helpfully use italics whenever something 'exciting' is happening. I should imagine this would be very comforting to them because they can work out what's happening from the pictures and can impress people by being able to point the exciting bits in the text.

If I didn't know better i would have assumed you were a friendless 13 year old who prior to writing this book had trouble writing their own name. I would like to take this opportunity to share some pointers that you may find helpful:

1) Italics. Rule no. 1 - Don't use them. Rule 2 - if you have to use them, use them sparingly. Italics don't make things more exciting any more than people continually describe themselves as 'zany' are actually zany. In both cases it's really annoying. Rule 3 - when you use an italic at least check if it is actually an exciting word, you seem sprinkle them around like confetti and hope that one of them may actually be appropriate.

2) More is not necessarily more exciting. Being charged by an enraged bull is exciting . Being charged by 12 bulls is not 12 times more exciting. Being charged by 12 bulls ridden by mutant crocodiles is still not 12 times more exciting, it's just silly.

3) More is not necessarily more exciting. No, I'm not repeating myself. Your characters managed to break into an impregnable mountain, invent an anti-bullet device, solve several ancient mysteries, avoid millions of booby-traps and outwit 2 international gangs all in the space of a page and a half! No tension, no excitement just a headlong rush into 'more more more'. Your whole style seems to be based on the motto 'if in doubt add another thousand booby-trapped holes spewing oil and crocodiles'. Are you absolutely sure you're not a 13 year old boy with no friends?

4) Characterisation. This is advanced stuff that you have clearly never heard of. Giving someone a vaguely cool name and telling us that he's ranked the 4th best soldier in the world (oh, please!) doesn't count as fleshing out a character. No doubt i'll later find out he also has a sexy scar and he 's the strong silent type - now i really do care if he lives or dies. (the italics indicate sarcasm not excitement, in case you are confused).

5) Inventions. We all love cool gadgets, where would James Bond be without them? However, there are gadgets and there are gadgets (Wow, these italics really can become quite addictive). As soon as you start straying into the territory of the 'Anti-Shark Bat Spray' from the sixties Batman TV series you know you've gone too far. Within pages you had already produced your 'Anti-Bullet - I'm Beginning To Lose The Will To Read Any More Of This Drivel Device'. I have no doubt that several more inventions would make an appearance during the course of the adventure and no doubt each one more far fetched and ridiculous than the last. I would particularly have enjoyed the 'Anti-Tank Turn It into A Potted Plant Ray' and the 'Most Awful Book I've Ever Come Across I Think I Will Gouge My Own Eyes Out Device'.

This list could go on and on so i will finish with an homage to your writing style. You are welcome to cut and paste this into your next book.

The six men and the little girl in the Hover Wheelchair tumbled out of the gaping maw of the Giant Statue's mouth just as several enormous explosions shook the ground beneath their feet making them all fall to the floor.

'Get up and run', roared Captain Jack Mayhem, he scooped up the small slim figure of the girl whose terrified huge blue eyes desperately searched for him. 'Come on Princess', he said with sudden tenderness 'back in your flying machine.' She only had a moment to touch the ugly but still beautiful scar that slashed down one side of his face before she was whisked back into her hover Wheelchair and the group began sprinting across the jungle clearing.

The ground still rumbled under their feet but now they could hear a new sound. A sound increasing in volume and coming up rapidly behind them. Still running the group turned as one to see stampeding out of the same mouth they had only just left - elephants! Twenty! No, thirty! No, fifty elephants!

Mayhem's second-in-command, 'Tigershark' Adams, caught his captain's eye made a flicking motion by the side of his head and shouted 'We're not going to make it to the trees in time!'.

Mayhem had come to the same conclusion and he knew what Tigershark had been indicating - the elephants were armed with laser gun head sets. They were doomed!

The Captain stopped and faced the charging elephants and the rest of the band turned with him. A tall scarecrow like figure known as the 'Scarecrow' stood panting next to him. He quickly pulled open the battered leather briefcase he always carried around with him.

'If you're not wearing sunglasses , look away', he bellowed. The elephants were barely 20 yards away now their laser sights automatically homing in on the small band of warriors. Scarecrow lifted up a torch like device with round glass bulb at the end. He flicked a switch and an eerie burst of mauve light shot out of it in all directions.

The effect was immediate as the elephants trumpeted in panic and swerved wildly away. It was carnage as the central section of the charging elephants cannoned into each, several were bundled to the floor and were trampled by those behind. The noise and panic rose as the elephants desperately tried to get away and in the maelstrom the small group could see the flash of out-of-control lasers.

The Captain had stood transfixed until he felt a small tug on his shirt, he looked down to see the princess.
'Captain Jack, I want to go now please. I don't want to look at the elephants any more.'

He squeezed her hand and called to the others and they headed back towards the trees and possible safety.

'... it's something i invented that affects the brain cortex through the optic nerve. It makes the brain flood itself with every nightmare image it possesses all at the same time. Simple device really.'

Scarecrow was being modest but it didn't stop a huge satisfied smile covering his face. It really did look like they were going to make it.

A hail of machine gun bullets suddenly ripped up the ground down one side of their flank and they all flung themselves to the floor.

'Helicopter gunships!' Shouted Jinks pointing up. 'About 37 of them.' More bullets spat around them. 'And that's not all, they seem to have something strapped underneath them.'

Mayhem narrowed his eyes as he identified what they were. More elephants! Only these were the elite Black Ops elephants. They were packing parachutes and even more worryingly they were wearing sun glasses!

........................................ ad nauseam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fast but infantile, 4 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1) (Paperback)
When my son was about seven, his school essays would invariably follow the set theme for a paragraph or so then jazz things up with "then suddenly a giant shark appeared...". This book really took me back to that style. The author heaps improbable feat upon improbable feat, and underlines how amazing everything is with liberal use of italics, exclamation marks and sentences split over two lines connected with.....

.... dots!!!! This really made me cringe after a few pages. I have the impression this was written in a single, breathless burst, with little or no revision or editing. The author admits that he did little research and that much of the historical material is 'pretty flimsy'. This is a shame, because with some toning down of the plot absurdities and layout, he could have kept the pace and made a better fist of the Indiana Jones style adventure that he says he was aiming at. One for early teens perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Action Packed Novel, 11 May 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 7 Deadly Wonders (Hardcover)
This is the third or fourth new author for me, this year, what a joy. Having read some of the other reviewers comments on this book, I approached it with an open mind but also a little trepidation. I was pleasantly surprised and found the book extremely fast paced and very entertaining. Sure, it isn't going to win any literature prizes, but I am certain it was not written with that intention.

The book was written to entertain and excite the reader and it certainly did that for me. If the author bends the rules a little and does not stick rigidly to ancient history as it has been written down by the scholars, then so what. For those who have an interest in Ancient History, myself included it may offend a little. But speaking personally I don't see why it should. After all the book is a novel and does not purport to be anything else.

The plot of the book is woven around the original seven wonders of the world, quite an ingenious idea, I thought. Two thousand years ago a significant object was dismantled and hidden within the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Now, in modern times jack West, an archaeologist and a team of nine men are trying to discover the exact locations of the Seven Wonders and unlock their secret . . . But theirs is a race against time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOM!, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1) (Paperback)
He actually writes things like that. BOOM! He finishes chapters with a character about to die... and then starts the next one with: "... oh no he doesn't!"

Basically, it reads like a screenplay for a terrible, trashy, action film. It's probably the worst-written book I've ever managed to finish, and I only finished it simply because I was away travelling and didn't have anything else. That said, it's so bad, it crosses the line into funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop complaining - it's a great book, 21 Dec 2007
This book is yet again a fantastic read from M.R. containing his usual mix of killer animals, hi-tech weaponry and, at the same second, super-fast pacing!

Now for all those people who feel ripped off buying this book twice etc. If you are any kind of fan of any author then do some research on what books they have out. Matthew Reilly has a good website, then there's Wikipedia or even the US version of Amazon to find out what a particular book is about.

Sometimes authors don't have the rights to assert what the title of a book is going to be in any particular market. His publishers decided on this name for the US launch and then changed it. I can't see how that is necessarily M.R.'s fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1)
Seven Ancient Wonders (Jack West Junior 1) by Matthew Reilly (Paperback - 4 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews