Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lord of the rings for laughs
Joe Jefferson is your normal schoolboy until he and his dog (Henry) are sucked into Muddle Earth by Randalf the Wizard. Joe has been summoned to be a warrior hero to do battle with Ogres,Dragons and villains. Together with Randalf,Veronica the Budgie, Norbert the Ogre and Henry,Joe sets out on the adventure of a life time.
Prepare for a world of enchanted...
Published on 21 April 2003 by derek wallace

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Muddle Earth
I bought this book because I am a big fan of Chris Riddell's drawings and was not disappointed,however the story felt very threadbare and not very funny. If you want to read amusing fantasy try Terry Pratchet.
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by D. Mcmullin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for 10 year old!!, 29 Sep 2013
I was recommended to get this book for my 10 year old son when came to the end of the Harry Potter series.
He found it hilariously funny and is now on the sequel! I may read it myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's 10 and he loves it, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Hardcover)
the title says it all really - the missus says it has some educational content which is a bonus - but it keeps him quiet of an evening to leave us in peace if you see what I mean.... will definitely buy the sequel but may restrict him to weekends and special occasions - he gets quite engrossed and nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Muddle Earth - Review, 11 Dec 2011
Muddle Earth: This book has everything you could wish for, except the magician Randalf wouldn't make It happen... He's too bad a wizard. Muddle Earth will tickle your funny bone, then send you deadly serious to the next page, just to laugh again. It has comedy and action at just the right mix making it not as if you're reading a book, but as if someone is making it up as they go along, you can never predict what will happen next, making this an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 21 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves this book. He likes to read but finds it difficult to find books that capture his interest. He spent more than an hour at a time on the sofa with this one. I was really pleased with his reaction and will be buying the next book in the series ASAP. He speaks English as a second language (in Spain) and at eleven this book was right for him, but would probably suit younger children who have English as their first language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 4 Sep 2009
By 
A. Gill (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Audio CD)
bought this for my 10yo duaghters becuase of reviews on this website. thoroughly recommend it to adults and children. very funny with an excellent narrator in John Sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fast delivery, exactly as described, buy from this seller with total confidence, 8 July 2009
By 
Ryanswhiskey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Audio CD)
Great fun, a serious bit of nonsense and all the more enjoyable for it. A great flight of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fantastic book of muddle earth, 19 May 2006
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Paperback)
This is the best book ever, that is for people who enjoy crazy, funny and exiting books.The phrase "shut up veronica" is used at least 100 times, and it comes in when you dont expect it too. Just to note the book is quite long, about 447 pages but it realy does seem quick when your reading MUDDLE EARTH. Its quite confusing because every thing is quite the opisite even ogres suck their thumbs! And if you like gory books, well MUDDLE EARTH ISN'T. Well if you read the book i hope you enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read this book...its FAB!!!!!, 13 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Paperback)
muddle earth is my FAVORITE book.if you enjoy a good laugh, you will love it! muddle earth is full of crazy characters, including veronica the sarcastic budgie, norbet the over emotional ogre, and, of course, the bad guy, dr cuddles from giggle glade, with his sidekick quentin the cake decorator...wondering how all these characters fit into one story? why not read it and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read it!, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Hardcover)
Even though i have read only three quarters of the book i am finding it one of my favorates out of all of the books writen by paul stuward and is a book i cant put down. I find it amazing how the ideas came together to make such a magical and mysterious book. With books like these it will help incourage children to read more instead of watching TV and playing on computor games. I, who am 13 enjoy reading Muddle Earth and all other books writen by paul, i have encourraged all my friends to read then son now he has more than 20 new fans! I hope he will keep on writing these amazing books and keep children happy and enjoy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill Book, 2 April 2008
This review is from: Muddle Earth (Paperback)
`A Little Bit of Winter' is short, colourful and great for little ones. It is one of my favourite young children's books and now `Muddle Earth', a hilarious, long, upper KS2 children's book, which is by the same author, is on my all time favourite books list! It's a bit like JRR Tolkien's Lord of the Rings but with lots of humour. I practically laughed from opening the book at front cover to closing the book at the back cover! I would rate this book 10/ 10 (obviously) and recommend it to children aged 9 - 11/ 12. Here is the plot of this story: the heroes in this book are a wizard, whose knowledge of magic is merely one spell, an ogre, who is usually upset and is nearly always, crying; there is also a very bossy budgie and a boy from normal Earth called Joe Jefferson! Will they defeat the evils of Muddle Earth? Find out in this brilliant book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muddle Earth
Muddle Earth by Chris Riddell (Paperback - 5 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews