Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
A truly fascinating and at times unbelievable book about a British drug smuggler who was caught and sent to a Bolivian prison.
I am not a big book reader and it usually takes me weeks to get through a book, but I read this in 2 days on holiday, which annoyed my girlfriend no end.
A must read!!!!
Published on 29 Jan 2004 by Mr. Simon N. Clifton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars some one told me its the best book she had read
some one told me its the best book she had read! kinda half way thru it. nothing really exciting. save your money.
Published 1 month ago by william d


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 Jan 2004
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
A truly fascinating and at times unbelievable book about a British drug smuggler who was caught and sent to a Bolivian prison.
I am not a big book reader and it usually takes me weeks to get through a book, but I read this in 2 days on holiday, which annoyed my girlfriend no end.
A must read!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating read., 15 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
An insight into one of the most fascinating though thoroughly grim prisons in the world. Its hard to take in what you're reading, knowing it actually happens in a prison. I have moral issues with Thomas, though as a survivor nobody can fault his sheer stamina and drive to better himself in the face of well, some hell of an adversity within prison life. This book offers a truly insightful view of a world a million miles away, totally beyond our own comprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read!, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Anita McAree - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
I had to keep reminding myself that this book wasn't fiction! Marching Powder paints the intricate world inside San Pedro Prison, one as far removed and fascinating as deep space or middle earth.
What makes this story so powerful however is Thomas McFadden; his crime was real, the corrupt system he found himself trapped in was real and the people he met along the way were real. I found this book completely absorbing and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into life for a brit in Bolivian prison, 5 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
This book, written by first time author Rusty Young, gives an absolutely rivetting account of life for a british drug-smuggler in what must be one of the most corrupt prisons in the world (not only do inmates have to buy their cell as if they are buying an apartment, they even have to pay an entry fee on first arrival). The book, although actually a biography which is written in the form of an autobiography, combines humour, horror and romance and introduces the reader into the fascinating life of a drug-smuggler, user and convivt and also the truly incredulous corruption found at just about every level in Bolivia to provide a thrilling read. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marching Powder, 21 Jun 2012
This book could be fiction with all the events that occur but it's all true. It's a really interesting read. The extent of corruption is unbelievable. I highly recommend. I've been telling everyone about it since. Particularly those traveling to South America. South America is just a completely different world to the Western world and this book epitimises that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching Powder, 3 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
I never finished reading any book in that short amount of time, I've read this book just in two days and I got completely blown up.You get read and discover yourself the extraordinary character Thomas Mcfadden and inside world of San Pedro,It's really amazing book.It's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money talks!, 13 Dec 2004
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
It's a kinda Bolivian version of the book 'The damage is done'. Although life inside San Pedro prison is somewhat different in many ways.. Money talks! Inmates buy and sell their own cells, manufacture coke, bribe anyone to get whatever they need and make a little extra cash from backpackers tours of the prison.
Thomas McFadden is a convicted British drug dealer who lived here for 5years.
A truly fantastic read, and Rusty Young certainly takes you into the bizarre prison with every chapter..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't believe what you are reading!, 5 Aug 2007
By 
A. Mackie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
Since finishing this book (a fortnight ago) it has been passed on to three of my friends all of whom have found it an amazing read. Having grown up in South America I'm very aware of the corruption that takes place, but I was still completely dumb-struck by the activities of San Pedro prison. My feelings towards Tomas are slightly mixed, while I admire his survival instincts and business accument I can't forget the fact that he is guilty of his crime and hasn't apeared to have learned anything about the effects of drug trafficking/taking. Read it and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 5 Aug 2003
By 
shakes (sydney, australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
Ok, im one of those people who will start a book and either never get it finished or it will take me ages to finish it.. i finished marching powder in 3 days, i could not put it down. It is such an amazing story and the book never gets boring. i would recommend this book to anyone who likes stories about how bizzare the real world can be, it does get a little disturbing in some parts and there is a hell of alot of drug use. an awesome book, i was actually a bit upset when i finished because i have to find something else to do with my spare time now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bolivian marching powder, 1 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Marching Powder (Paperback)
as someone who has had the misfortune of spending some of there life in a foreign prison this is a total cant put down book(if only the prison i was in was like that).
fantastically written it is 1 of the best books i have ever read,my main subject of reading is true crime & this is up there with the best......excellent a1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marching Powder
Marching Powder by Rusty Young (Paperback - 2 July 2004)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews