Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2010
Station X is a brilliant, witty and sad book, written by those of the inner-circle of BP. Anybody researching The Enigma Machine and it's workings, would find this essential reading! All the Services are represented, and many of those involved give first hand accounts of the vital role played in the war by the genius's at BP.

This book is informative, yet fun; and when they succeed it's amazing, when they battle for days and night to crack the codes and are fully aware men are dying, they respond by working ever harder to get the job done.

You will be full of admiration for these folk who shortened the war by years not days! As Lady Hooper's poem shows, many never knew how the part they played fitted in; and this is the best book to read, from those who did know and cared, doing such a wonderful 'job'!

I can't recommended this book often or highly enough, for anyone who thinks they know how the war was won - it is required reading, and enjoyable, dry witted, and full of pathos to boot!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
The book Station X is a wonderful book about the work of the code breakers during the 2nd world war and is a real tribute to those people who worked in intelligence. The amazing work of many people during the war was recognized immediately and the people concerned have been duly acclaimed. Those people working in intelligence knew that even once the war was over, their work would continue to remain secret for many years. The insight to this secret world is very interesting and left me vry thankful for those previously unnamed heroes that helped us to win the war. I hope many people will read this book and understand what others gave for our safety.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
What a book ! I had no idea that the British in their hour of need pulled off such an intelligence coup . Some of the original thinking by the code breakers left me feeling very humble , these people had to keep quiet about their activities until the 1970`s. In my opinion these little known people are National heroes summed up by General Eisenhower who said their efforts shortened the war by 2 years and they created the worlds first programmable computer
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
This is a well researched and carefully written book, that offers an excellent introduction to the work of the code breakers at Beltchley Park during the Second world War. Michael Smith sets out the contribution made by Station X in different theatres of the war (The Atlantic Convoys, North Africa, D Day etc), balancing factual accvounts with human ineterst stories. He is at his best when recounting the "Double Cross" schemes going on in the run up to D Day. My only problem is that, however carefully I read the technical passages about how the codes were actually decyphered, I still can't really grasp how it was done. This might be because it is incredibly complicated, and this leaves us with total admiration for those worked there. But maybe Smith could have offered a few more diagrams and examples to explain it.
88 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
This is a book for those seeking further information, clarification and description of the Second World War at Bletchley Park. It's not a light read by a long shot, but the explanatory insights into the people and the skills employed to break the codes make it worth picking up. A trifle stilted in places, but then this book does not claim to be an easy reading novel, its a book of facts. I like it because it shows not only how the the War was effected by Bletchley Park but because of the in depth descriptions of the various code breakers. Its a fascinating book if you are, like me, overawed and intrigued by these people,their sense of duty, their lives and above all their brains.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
Ok,

I have found this book interesting and enjoyable for two reasons:

- for the fact that it is written including testimonial accounts related to people who worked there at Bletchley during those years;

- made me conscious of one fact: they made a great job there savings lots of people and stopping the German dictatorship.

So,

Enjoy reading!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
One of several historical accounts of the incredible technical achievements of Bletchley Park in WW2 which also describes the personalities and characteristics of several of the lead engineers / mathematicians. Essential bookshelf stock for anyone having an interest in WW2 code breaking and its vital importance to the outcome of the war against Nazi Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Having been to Bletchley Park three times in the last couple of years, I thought a book on the subject would be nice to have.
Not managed to read all of it yet, but what I have read gives details in simple plain english that I can understand.
Does not go into great detail of the mathamatics of decoding which is fine by me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
I can't believe the good reviews of this book, nor the fact that the hardback and paperback versions don't have merged reviews. If you look at the hardback reviews, they are much less flattering. The stars are for the information in the book which is undeniably well researched. But the book is very poorly written, I'm afraid. The author is a journalist, so he probably usually has an editor to help him! The chronology of the first 50 pages is all jumbled up and the cast of characters is long and pointless. Dozens of names are introduced to no real purpose. Finally, the writing style is pedestrian and hackneyed. I'm sure there must be better books on this subject.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Delivery on time..(before time) For me it was a really enjoyable book filling in much of the fantastic work was done in the 'back room' during WW2.. But I guess it could only be the British that would run its operations from a shed with great success!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse