Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Brilliant' Inside Story
Station X is a brilliant, witty and sad book, written by those of the inner-circle of BP. Anybody researching The Enigma Machine and it's workings, would find this essential reading! All the Services are represented, and many of those involved give first hand accounts of the vital role played in the war by the genius's at BP.

This book is informative, yet fun;...
Published on 25 July 2010 by Ms. A. J. Airey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park
This is a book for those seeking further information, clarification and description of the Second World War at Bletchley Park. It's not a light read by a long shot, but the explanatory insights into the people and the skills employed to break the codes make it worth picking up. A trifle stilted in places, but then this book does not claim to be an easy reading novel,...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by Jane Doe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Brilliant' Inside Story, 25 July 2010
By 
Ms. A. J. Airey "ajwk" (M/c UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
Station X is a brilliant, witty and sad book, written by those of the inner-circle of BP. Anybody researching The Enigma Machine and it's workings, would find this essential reading! All the Services are represented, and many of those involved give first hand accounts of the vital role played in the war by the genius's at BP.

This book is informative, yet fun; and when they succeed it's amazing, when they battle for days and night to crack the codes and are fully aware men are dying, they respond by working ever harder to get the job done.

You will be full of admiration for these folk who shortened the war by years not days! As Lady Hooper's poem shows, many never knew how the part they played fitted in; and this is the best book to read, from those who did know and cared, doing such a wonderful 'job'!

I can't recommended this book often or highly enough, for anyone who thinks they know how the war was won - it is required reading, and enjoyable, dry witted, and full of pathos to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing a Secret, 9 May 2010
By 
William Mash (Newcastle-under-Lyme) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
This is a well researched and carefully written book, that offers an excellent introduction to the work of the code breakers at Beltchley Park during the Second world War. Michael Smith sets out the contribution made by Station X in different theatres of the war (The Atlantic Convoys, North Africa, D Day etc), balancing factual accvounts with human ineterst stories. He is at his best when recounting the "Double Cross" schemes going on in the run up to D Day. My only problem is that, however carefully I read the technical passages about how the codes were actually decyphered, I still can't really grasp how it was done. This might be because it is incredibly complicated, and this leaves us with total admiration for those worked there. But maybe Smith could have offered a few more diagrams and examples to explain it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Station X, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
What a book ! I had no idea that the British in their hour of need pulled off such an intelligence coup . Some of the original thinking by the code breakers left me feeling very humble , these people had to keep quiet about their activities until the 1970`s. In my opinion these little known people are National heroes summed up by General Eisenhower who said their efforts shortened the war by 2 years and they created the worlds first programmable computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Insights!, 11 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
The book Station X is a wonderful book about the work of the code breakers during the 2nd world war and is a real tribute to those people who worked in intelligence. The amazing work of many people during the war was recognized immediately and the people concerned have been duly acclaimed. Those people working in intelligence knew that even once the war was over, their work would continue to remain secret for many years. The insight to this secret world is very interesting and left me vry thankful for those previously unnamed heroes that helped us to win the war. I hope many people will read this book and understand what others gave for our safety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 Nov 2010
By 
A. Bigoni - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
Ok,

I have found this book interesting and enjoyable for two reasons:

- for the fact that it is written including testimonial accounts related to people who worked there at Bletchley during those years;

- made me conscious of one fact: they made a great job there savings lots of people and stopping the German dictatorship.

So,

Enjoy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
This is a book for those seeking further information, clarification and description of the Second World War at Bletchley Park. It's not a light read by a long shot, but the explanatory insights into the people and the skills employed to break the codes make it worth picking up. A trifle stilted in places, but then this book does not claim to be an easy reading novel, its a book of facts. I like it because it shows not only how the the War was effected by Bletchley Park but because of the in depth descriptions of the various code breakers. Its a fascinating book if you are, like me, overawed and intrigued by these people,their sense of duty, their lives and above all their brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Station X, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
Having been to Bletchley Park three times in the last couple of years, I thought a book on the subject would be nice to have.
Not managed to read all of it yet, but what I have read gives details in simple plain english that I can understand.
Does not go into great detail of the mathamatics of decoding which is fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 books for the price of one, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Vuyk "ego chaser" (Arnhem, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
Michael Smith had set himself a difficult task in writing his book on Station X.
He wanted to explain the technicalities of complex decoding. Secondly, the story of the daily life at Bletchley Park needed to be covered. And finally; the impact of the Ultra information on the several theatres of World War II had to be explained.
Once the reader realizes that he is getting 3 books for the price of one, then Station X is a book that gives a totally new perspective on what really happened during WW II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fills in most of the gaps!, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Alan F (Devon....UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
Delivery on time..(before time) For me it was a really enjoyable book filling in much of the fantastic work was done in the 'back room' during WW2.. But I guess it could only be the British that would run its operations from a shed with great success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Station X, 10 Jan 2014
By 
C. Emery (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy) (Paperback)
My husband was delighted to receive this book as his aunty worked at Bletchley during WW2. We have also visited Bletchley Park - well worth a visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Station X: The Code Breakers of Bletchley Park (Pan Grand Strategy)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews