Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars157
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2003
WARNING: If you've just read Kane and Able or the Prodigal Daughter and you're thinking about reading this, I've got one bit of advice... don't! or at least, don't yet... the book in itself is excellent but if you read it soon after the two predecessors you may be disappointed.
As for the book itself, it's great. In structure, it's a completely different type of story to the others - no epic life stories, just a simple old assassination attempt. If you've read Jeffrey Archer before and didn't like it - don't worry, this is something completely different. In it's own right the story's great - in some ways similar to Andy McNab or Frederick Forsyth perhaps, with a gripping storyline which goes right to the very end. The characters are not particularly strong but they don't need to be - this is a fairly gripping story with the usual question of "Will she live? Won't she live?" waiting to be answered.
All in all, recommended.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2001
This was the second Archer book I read and wow was it great. The story started a bit slow but it soon picks up pace as you follow Agent Andrews along his search for the assasins. This is a great read and you can actually feel the pressure as the clock counts down to the day of the assasination attempt. Great work!!!!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2000
One of Archer's best books ever, and in my opinion all the books about the Rosnovski saga are just so well written, all of them are "You cant put me down" books, because you get so into the story that you almost are a part of it. Thumbs up for Mr Archer, you got to love it, and everything about him.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2008
although the book claims to follow on from Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter there is very little about the character of Florentyna Kane, so if you're looking to continue the saga you may be disappointed. That aside the book is excellent one that you just cannot put down, you have to keep turning the pages to find out if the agent succeeds in saving the president.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2003
This is book is certainly well wriiten it is gripping to the very end.
This was my first Archer book and before i wasn't to sure about him. But as a author if you try and forget who he is, its a great, enthralling read.
It keeps you thinking and keeps you turning the pages.
After this book i have become a big fan and go on to read more of his books.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2005
The book is a truely fascinating read which ends with a beautiful twist. It engages the reader throughout and it is a joy to read and is definitely reccomended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
I`m thoroughly enjoying this book, but unfortunately keep having to put it down and forget it! However, it`s very interesting reading and I have no regrets. Thank you!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2014
If you buy this as a follow up in the Kane and Abel series you might feel a bit disappointed (I did) as this, although a good yarn as you always get with Jeffrey Archer is really just another action novel which happens to have the intended victim of the President - who is Florentyna from Kane and Abel. Read and off to charity now whereas Kane and Abel and The Prodigal Daughter are still on the shelf for a revisit in the future
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Could not put the book down. Suspense on every page. A super story very sorry when I got to the end of the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
After having read and enjoyed the Progical Daughter I was keen to read this book even though it seemed a bit improbable .Now that we have Obarma in the Whitehouse pehaps not.It was a book that I couldn't put down so everything had to be left whilst I enjoyed all the twists and turns-only stopping to recharge my Kindle.I was on tender hooks towards the end be glad all ended well.Monica C.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.