Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic travel
In contrast to the numerous modern travel books which seem to focus on the 'personality' of the writer or trivial observations, this is an epic in every sense of the word. The scale of the journey is immense in distance and time, IB stayed to work as a Qadi (judge)in several places along the way, this means that you really get a deep sense of the politics and the people...
Published on 9 Mar 2007 by Minkle MacTinkle

versus
7 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ibn Batutta - a medieval Osama bin Laden
Ibn Batutta's rihla is of course interesting to read, simply because of the historical nature and rarity of the writing. But, when I actually sat down and read the book, I found his writing to be very repetitive and somewhat boring... I must have fallen asleep far faster on nights when I opened this book. I'm not saying that the subject material is boring, just that the...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Jon Gibson Mcgill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic travel, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Minkle MacTinkle (A rock at the edge of the known world) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
In contrast to the numerous modern travel books which seem to focus on the 'personality' of the writer or trivial observations, this is an epic in every sense of the word. The scale of the journey is immense in distance and time, IB stayed to work as a Qadi (judge)in several places along the way, this means that you really get a deep sense of the politics and the people in each destination. This depth is unlike some of the more superficial accounts of present books which rely on novelty and humour. Although travels is not without humour itself.

I like travelling and read travel books frequently, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed the descriptions of distant lands and strange customs, however, the biggest surprise for me was the journey into the Islamic culture and lifestyle. I think it's the first account I have read from an Islamic perspective, and a Medieval one at that. With this in mind I think this is a perfect book to open the mind about other cultures and other ways of seeing the world. To get the most from this journey it is important to read 'Travels with a Tangerine' and 'Hall of a Thousand Columns' By Mackintosh-Smith.

I hope this reworked classic inspires other translators and archivists to unearth other works from centuries gone. On a final note I am deeply envious of anyone who understands Arabic as they can read the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your everyday travel guide, 27 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
Ibn Battuta was a medieval Islamic traveller from modern day Morocco, which at the time was a great centre of culture and learning. He was a Qadi (judge) and minor scholar who travelled, lived and worked in large swathes of the ancient world ranging from China, India, Ceylon, Sub Saharan Africa, and the Middle East! A feat one wonders if ever has been repeated.

The book is an autobiography written in the first person that details and describes his extensive travels in the form of a dictated journal.

The book gives an incite to the Islamic culture, customs and habits, as well as his perceptions and prejudices (from his prospective as a Medieval Muslim). It delves into some of his interactions and private thoughts he had with other cultures, ranging from Christendom, to China, and all the different Muslim regions such as the Mughals, or even the Muslim Sultans of Ceylon.

I found that it opened up my eyes to the world, and to metaphorically see, and walk through other peoples shoes, whom although long gone come to life as the book touches on the political, as well as the social and cultural habits of the time.

Well worth the read, if you have any interest in travel, history or other cultures. An interesting contrast to Marco Polo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ibn-Battuta — Arab Marco Polo? 1325-1354., 30 Nov 2013
By 
David (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
Feeling nervous on the eve of a 14-hour flight to Delhi, with mobile phone and insurance, it is difficult to imagine the state of mind of a man leaving his home in Morocco for for 29 years of wandering. It is these that this abridged version of the "Rihla" provides. The world he roams was not entirely Islamic, but his fith, though perhaps the prism through which he saw and judged, was also his "meal ticket", and a not very profound grasp of Islamic jurisprudence seemed to gain him positions of power and influence wherever he went. Where he went was along the North African Coast to Egypt, thence to Asia Minor, the Mecca for the hadj, then along the Persion/Arab gulf, spending a lot of time in India, particularly at the court of Delhi, with forays into ceylon/Sri Lank, the Maldives, North India/Assam China, whence he returned to his native Morocco, before making a final trip into "black" (Sub-Saharan) Africa.

Among other things, this is a book about the generosity of Princes, for at each juncture, he was offered clothes and accommodation that enabled him to maintain his position and status.

There were at the time, two competing world visions, that of Europe and the Islamic world. However vast Europe may feel now, the late mediaeval Islamic world offered a more coherent space, and despite the limitations religion placed on cultural relativism, possibly a more open one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent job by Tim Mackintosh, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
The difference in Islam and the Middle East today and during the travellers time are apparent after reading this book, Battutah describes the philanthropy of all Middle Eastern governors and those in elite positions and their care and concern for those less fortunate. You gain a deep insight of a people and their culture, dress, food, and so on. Ibn Battutah also relates several interesting anecdotes of main figures in the book, these parts were the ones I found most interesting and made the book worthwile. As one other critic described, the book is a tad repetitive and does begin to bore you towards the end, nontheless, it is still worth a read, especially if you are a Muslim and would like to understand the differences in the Middle East today and then. Lost in translation? Most definitely not, Tim Mackintosh-Smith makes an exceptional effort in translating Battutah's original work and although I have not read the original Arabic works myself I confidently commend the Authors efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 6 Jan 2013
By 
MOR (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
Very well written with appropriate foot notes where required. Having compared to other similar books in other languages I find that it is quite similar representation of the original text. However the selection of material is up to the editor of the book and some items are selectively ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story well told, 5 Jun 2014
By 
J. E. Taylor (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
This abridgment of a superb translation of one of the pearls of travel literature is wisely and wittily editted by a brilliant contemporary Arabist. Don't skip his footnotes. It is fascinating to observe the niceties of Arabic expression shining through the translation.
It is amusing to observe that the cover picture was pinched from another jewel of medieval Arabic writing: 'The Maqamah' of Al-Hariri.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged to the point, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
If you are not a history buff, this abridged version with very useful footnotes will give you sense of life in the early 14th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
People only read Marco Polo, but fail to read books of this quality. We forget that Medieval Islam is just as alien to us as Medieval Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
The book arrived two days earlier than expected; which was great.

Ibn battutah describes each place in great detail and you feel as though are in his shoes.Tim Mackintosh- Smith has done a great job with this book especially with the notes section at the back that explains a lot of things even further.

I would recommend his book to anyone who has a passion for travelling, history as well learning other peoples culture/customs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting wee book, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Travels of Ibn Battutah (Paperback)
The book arrived in perfect condition, which is always a nice surprise. The footnotes and general layout of the book make it simple to follow even (like Ibn himself) strange sounding and foreign territory. My only complaint is that the map for his travels spans two pages and thus it's difficult to see the location of alot of the Middle eastern destinations. But that is a minor complaint at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Travels of Ibn Battutah
The Travels of Ibn Battutah by Ibn Battutah (Paperback - 6 Jun 2003)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews