Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Good Old Fashioned Fun
Like Cornelia Funke in Inkheart and the Thief Lord, Eva Ibbotson creates a fantastical take on the world where there are foundlings and great big baddies. Bravely she sets the book in the starchy world of early 20th Century Vienna, but she pulls it off with aplomb.
Putting aside the ripping-yarn elements of the story (which are wonderful) this is also a very useful...
Published on 8 Nov 2004 by Booksthatmatter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Star of Kazan
This book is much better than the Dragon fly pool (Eva Ibbotson) but not as good as Journy to the River Sea.
I would most definitely recommend it to children 9-11.
Published 11 months ago by Christopher P Harris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Good Old Fashioned Fun, 8 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Hardcover)
Like Cornelia Funke in Inkheart and the Thief Lord, Eva Ibbotson creates a fantastical take on the world where there are foundlings and great big baddies. Bravely she sets the book in the starchy world of early 20th Century Vienna, but she pulls it off with aplomb.
Putting aside the ripping-yarn elements of the story (which are wonderful) this is also a very useful book for parents of adopted children as the heroine is a foundling who ends up realising that her 'made' family is far better than the fantasy of reclamation by her birth-mother.
Like Cornelia Funke, Ibbotson is very good at painting adults who, beneath scratchy exteriors are truly good - the three professors all show great mettle underneath their ponderous, aged facades. I also like this element having read an interview with Ibbotson in The Guardian which showed her to be a rather grumpy old woman herself!
I really enjoyed the Star of Kazan and will now go and find Journey to the River Sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the Year, 15 Nov 2004
By 
Robert Machin (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Hardcover)
Eva Ibbotson is a great writer, not 'just' a great children's writer. Every night I read another chapter to my ten year old daughter and looked forward to it at least as much as she did. As in 'The Journey to the River Sea', Eva Ibbotson creates a vivid and fully realised world, populates it with characters which have just enough of the grotesque mixed in with their humanity to make them memorable, then ties the whole thing together with a pageturner of a story that for all its twists and turns is never contrived. Really magical, and my book of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Hardcover)
THE STAR OF KAZAN is a fantastic book. I don't know what 'im-here-to-help' is talking about. The characters are wonderful and the plot is intricate and thrilling.
Eva Ibbotson is a skilled and accomplished writer who is fantastic at creating characters who you fall in love with. THE STAR OF KAZAN is every bit as heartwarming and absorbing as JOURNEY TO THE RIVER SEA and everyone should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply a wonderful book, 25 May 2009
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 9 year old daughter about a year ago, to read as a good night story. Both of us enjoyed it thoroughly. The language of the book evokes great imagery so easily and it was so easy to get completely lost in Annika's world. Beautiful! The journey to the river sea was a fantastic book, but in my opinion the Star of kazan is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P7 Book Study, 28 May 2010
By 
Alice Atkinson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
I read this book with a group of P7 pupils and found it gripping for me as well as for them. It is extrmemely well written and an excellent model to use with children. This is what they had to say:

"It was on of those books that you couldn't put down. You had to keep reading it."
"We wanted to keep reading more because it was so detailed and full of twists and turns."
"I liked that the characters all got what was coming to them."
"The characters were realistic and detailed."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just for girls, 28 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for anyone - a gripping story with wonderful characters, both child and adult. My 11-year-old son and I both enjoyed it from page 1 to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing......, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Laura (London, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
This is probably the best book I have ever read. I read Journey to the River Sea and loved it and then this one was recommended to me and I thought it was amazing. The book is all about this girl called Annika who lives in Vienna with her foster mum Ellie, Ellie's best friend Sigrid and three professors. However as a baby Annika was left in a church and Ellie took her in. One day Annika's mother comes to fetch her and Annika is swept on an adventure of discovery and unexpected danger. I would recommend this book to anyone aged 10-12 particularly as I think this is the age the book is really good for. However older or younger readers may also enjoy this story. It suits pretty much everyone from the ages of 10-12. It has an historical part to it, good characters, adventure and the growing up of a teenage girl. This book was a real page turner and really addicting, do read it and Journey to the River Sea as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ibbotson in her prime, 30 July 2009
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
"The Star of Kazan" is a book that contains many themes close to Ibbotson's heart, the main one being Austria, and as you read it is all the more enjoyable as her enthusiasm is filtered into the novel.

It concerns Annika, a young orphan raised in an eccentric house of sibling Professors, with her parental figures being the cook, Ellie, and the housemaid, Sigrid.

When a baby, they discovered her in a church and have looked after her since then. Although she loves her adopted family, she cannot help dreaming of a glamourous and mysterious mother.

When a glamourous and mysterious mother does appear, Annika, although regretful at leaving behind the people she has grown to love, is thrilled at the prospect of her new life.

Containing a sub-plot which is the premise for the real "Star of Kazan", the book is beautifully written with Eva Ibbotson's classic style and passion. It takes a rather clichéd idea and gives it new depths (the idea itself contains the central focus of the plot so I shan't reveal it here) and although slightly predictable at times and aimed at a younger audience than perhaps "Journey to the River Sea" and her other books such as "Magic Flutes", "Song for Summer" ect. is a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ!!!!!!!, 4 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
I would definitely recommend The Star of Kazan. I have read it twice and it lost none of its original thrill the second time round. readers should not be put off by its length. The descriptions are excellent but by no means boring. One can really feel each characters emotions and the plot is well thought out and full of surprises. A MUST!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Star of Kazan (Paperback)
I liked this book alot and finished it in one day, I could'nt put it down.
The star of Kazan starts with a small baby being found in a church by two women. they take her with them to home of 3 proffesors gor whom they work. They call the baby girl Annika and she grows up there helpinhg with cooking and cleaning. Annika becomes friends with an old lady who dies soon after she befriends Annika. This lady leaves all her things for Annika in her will. but what happens when suddenly a rich lady suddenly comes claiming to be Annikas mother??
This is a wonderfull book and you will not regret reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Star of Kazan
The Star of Kazan by Eva Ibbotson (Paperback - 2 May 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews