Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2007
Even though i found the first four slightly childish i was amazed at how they kept making me want to read on. So i brought the fifth book and just finished reading it now, but i have to say WHY?! It was such a let down when Cabot used such a boring story line to fuel a whoooOOOOoooole book. The parts with Lilly were good and the way Tina found her "perfect man", but after hearing "Mia" prattle on about the boring prom over and over again made it become too predictable. Is it just me who thinks some of the earlier material is being repeated? Get some new ideas in!!!

However, it IS a princess diaries book so if your a lover read it because the sixth book gets a lot better.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2003
Mia Thermopolis has just reached her 15th birthday, a tough time in any girls life, but very much more so for Mia, not just because her mother is pregnant with her algebra teacher's (Mia's, not her mum's!) baby, or the fact that the prom is fast approaching, no, what takes the biscuit is that Mia is the heir to the throne of a small country! What with making out in closets and getting to "second base", Meg Cabot really does cover everything that's on a 15 year olds mind! A great, comfortable read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2005
If you ever fancy a light read, little effort yet plausible entertainment, the Princess Diaries books would be the way to go. Like watching a teen flick, you can expect some friendship problems, parental problems, a mad-cap grandparent, high school drama and the prom - just your average American teenage life crisis. In this chapter, Mia is in desperate search for self-actualization, she is eagerly awaiting the prom, that is if Michael will hurry up and ask her to it, Mia's mum is pregnant with Mr G's baby, Lilly finally gets her shot on prime time tv in the most outrageous circumstances, whilst all hell breaks loose in the city, no thanks to Grandmere. It is childish, somewhat dramatised but delightfully funny.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
I LOVE the princess diaries but i dont think this is as good as all the others , though its still worth reading as it is pretty funny (though not as funny as the others ) and there are some very shocking and SCANDALOUS happenings
Its nearly her 15th birthday and shes still looking for total self-actualization . Definetly a good read and a fab addition to the princess diaries collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2004
Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo's (or just Mia to her friends) diaries have reached their fifth instalment, and while admittedly it is more of the same as the previous books, there is also plenty of room for the characters to develop. As her fifteenth birthday approaches, we watch Mia grow to realise her gift for writing, wrestle with the torment of her boyfriend's unwillingess to go to his senior prom and become a big sister. The other characters get a look in too - Lily Moscovitz reveals her inner minx, Tina Hakim Baba turns into a modern-day Jane Eyre and even Boris Pelkowski displays a surprisingly passionate nature. The books still keep you hooked as you smile, laugh and cry along with Mia and her buddies, but I still couldn't shake the feeling of deja vu. You could do worse than spending a few hours reading this, but it isn't exactly a classic. The first three are a lot better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2008
this book is more proof that Michael is the best boyfriend EVER writing a song and playing for mia in the middle of school with the amps really loud,More boys need to be like Michael.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
You may think that after 5 other books (well, 4.5, lets face it, the comic relief book was hardly what you'd call a book, more of a long anecdote) that Meg Cabot would run out of ideas and call it a day. But no. This book is as funny, quirky, imaginative and sweet as the first one was. Michael and Mia are still going strong, but still have the disagreements all couples have and some suprising things involving Lilly. A great read overall. By the way, it is not realeased whatever time the date says. Today is 3rd September and I found it at my local WHSmith. Just saying.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
Meg Cabot has alot to live up to with her previous Princess Diaries books and still keeps up to the same standard. These books have a great storyline and characters that we can all relate to, normal teenagers but like eveyone were all different. Mia is a BIT different, the only difference is that she is next inline to rule her father's monarchy of Genovia. This only is a small part in her life, like every teenage girl there's the friends, foes, romance, school and family.
This book was a bit different from what I expected but was still a great read. Now that Mia is back from Genovia and is staying in America for a while, she has the chance of being with Michael without worrying that he's going to break up with her. This time she's worrying that he's not going to ask her to go to his prom, of course Grandmere interfers...but this time is it like usual, bad or is it good, could Grandmere ever come to the rescue?!?!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Brilliant to get the story on CD for my Daughter. CDs worked fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
What a surprise. I am so speechless as I enjoyed reading this book SO much. It definitely deserved a five star rating because I was so engrossed by it and couldn't put my kindle down. I love the way Mia can live a royal life and be a normal fifteen year old too. My favourite character had to be Mia as she reminds me a lot like myself. I would rate this book 11+ as it contains some romance. Loved, loved LOVED this book. It was really different too how it was told through emails and her diary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse