Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, and devastatingly funny
Actually I liked this even more than Hiaasen's 'grown up' books. It's pleasantly short (though not so short as to be unsatisfying), with a tightly plotted story.
The plot is a real page-turner with a great cast of characters. The jokes work on two levels: the subtle ones that Hiaasen slips under your radar and then the funny set-pieces (no, I'm not going to include...
Published on 31 Dec. 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars very short book
This item was purchased to assist my Godson with a school English assignment and a Natural World assignment, it was purchased along with the film.

It is only a short story, or should I say, that from the adult point of view, it is more of an outline than a story.

I can see why the two essay that had been set were: "Write a story about bullying...
Published 7 months ago by Su


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars HOOT., 11 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
With its winning combination of off-beat humour and fun characters Hoot with its themes of bullying and environmental activism is a highly enjoyable topical read which whilst recommended for those ten and over I thought suitable for younger more confident readers as well as adults.

OK, so there are certain elements that some adults may think to be age inappropriate (without giving too much away and the books lavatorial witticisms aside there is mention of vandalism) but on the whole I felt Hoot made for great discussion about the nature of big corporate companies (in this instance the fictional Mother Paula's All-American Pancake House) versus environment issues(as represented by the burrowing owls) and the lengths one would/should go to to stand up for what they believe in.

Though I haven't read any of the books for 'grown ups' written by this author if this, his debut novel for children, is any indication of how good they are then I'll be sure to keep a look out for them.

Copyright: Tracy Terry @ Pen and Paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a hoot, 20 July 2006
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Interesting ideas, with eco friendly theme and good sense of isolation in the kids. however do we need another character who thinks that farting is cool or even funny, i mean really!? Hiassen keeps a lively pace and you do root for the villains to get come uppance, but the end lacked any bite. neat cover though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars what a hoot, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
This novel was great fun to read and i really enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed the part where dana got his feet stuck in the rat traps!!!.
It has very good sections on bullying and environmental issues and I would definately recommend reading it. In the book there is a boy who is very determined to stop a big company from building a pancake house on a plot of land where there are burrows with owls in them and if he is not quick they will be sqashed to a pancake!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
I give Hoot by Carl Hiassen 5 stars. I was thoroughly drawn in to the story and found it a challenge to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
As always Carl hiaasen writes another great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HOOT, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
THIS NOVEL WAS NOT THE BEST NOVEL TO READ IT HAD ALOUT OF HARD WORDS IN IT THAT I DID NOT UNDERSTAND .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hoot, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
This is a very exciting novel it is about a boy who has moved from Montana to Florida he sees a strange running boy.Who is ruunning to save owls Roy also gets bullied.I think it's an exciting novel because it's not predictive you don't know what's going to happen next.My favourite character is Mullet fingers because he is fast and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HOOT, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
This is an exciting novel because you finnish a chapter and you just want to carry on.the part that i like best is the bullying but i like other parts to i like the idea of Dana Mathason bullying Roy and nobody tells on him. I like that Mullet Fingers gets his nickname from catching Mullet with his bare hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hoot, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
robert wilson (Carluke scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
The novel is entertaining because Mulett fingers was doing anything to save the owls at the construction site he painted officer Delinkos windows of his car black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoot Review, 4 Oct. 2004
By 
Lauren Porter (Carluke,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
This is a very interesting novel because the little people win.I like carl Hiaasen's sense of humour in the book.I also like the way the bully loses.I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoot
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews