Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen just kidding
Even when he is writing for children, Hiaasen creates great villains (who always meet fitting fates), and charming, unlikely heroes. Threats to the Floridian environment are of course his other recurring theme.
In this case, the new boy in school finds his feet and new friends as he fights to prevent a new restaurant destroying several pairs of rare burrowing owls,...
Published on 21 April 2004 by Nicholas Isaac

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a hoot
Interesting ideas, with eco friendly theme and good sense of isolation in the kids. however do we need another character who thinks that farting is cool or even funny, i mean really!? Hiassen keeps a lively pace and you do root for the villains to get come uppance, but the end lacked any bite. neat cover though!
Published on 20 July 2006 by Gentle John


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen just kidding, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Even when he is writing for children, Hiaasen creates great villains (who always meet fitting fates), and charming, unlikely heroes. Threats to the Floridian environment are of course his other recurring theme.
In this case, the new boy in school finds his feet and new friends as he fights to prevent a new restaurant destroying several pairs of rare burrowing owls, and the school bully from destroying his face.
Fast-paced and fun, a book to encourage teenagers to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, and devastatingly funny, 31 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Actually I liked this even more than Hiaasen's 'grown up' books. It's pleasantly short (though not so short as to be unsatisfying), with a tightly plotted story.
The plot is a real page-turner with a great cast of characters. The jokes work on two levels: the subtle ones that Hiaasen slips under your radar and then the funny set-pieces (no, I'm not going to include any spoilers!) with lots of physical gags.
The bad guys are well drawn, not just cardboard characters - the only one I found annoying was the hopeless police patrolman who was just a little too cliched. The school counsellor will send shivers down your back, and the building site manager is very funny - we've all met or worked with someone just like him!
I'd highly recommend it for anyone, probably the youngest at about 7 or 8 if they're a confident reader, but adults will love it too. I find Hiaasen's adult books a little *too* cynical but this struck exactly the right balance between cynicism and hope. A very satisfying read all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen is a master, 9 Jun 2006
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Carl Hiaasen's. He perfectly captures the frustrations of being picked on, and unaccepted as a child. His encounters with Dana, the bully, are great as Roy always has a way to win out.

The author does an incredible job of showing the different styles of activism that different people resort to. He presents the reader with the contemporary clash of free enterprise versus global ecological issues. He has a lot to say about parenting, and he has some great insights into the methods of dealing with bullies.

This is a great book for the young teenagers, but I think the adult fans might get a kick out of it, too. HOOT is definitely a title that you'll want for your collection. Another book that I strongly recommend for this age group "Why Some Cats are Rascals". Actually it is a series of three books...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the not put downable book, 15 Sep 2005
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
we are currently reading this book in class and its one of those ones that we just can't put down. we havn't finished yet and get really annoyed when we do have to do writing for a block!
she wont let us take them home to study incase we read ahead!
some people (dominic) have to get their book confisgated!
a very funny, silly plot which you can't put down
a book that we all love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hoot's hilarious!, 28 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. A new kid to sunny Florida, Roy Eberhardt,spots a mysterious shoeless young boy running past the school bus when evil bully Dana Matherson presses his face against the window.
From that moment on, right at the start of the book, Roy enters a whirlwind of mystery; finding clues, retracng his steps...what exactly has this shoeless kid got to do with the building of the pancake house a few blocks away?
Creating a witty, interesting and funny main character,Carl Hiassson has given you a fabulous taster of his ingenious work. You won't be able to put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Environmental struggle for kids, 22 Dec 2006
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Roy Eberhardt has just moved from Montana to Florida. He misses the mountains and in the school bus he is bullied by the enormous and stupid Dana Matherson. Then he sees he boy running on bare feet and is fascinated by the question who this boy is. Slowly but surely he gains the trust of the boy and his stepsister Beatrice Leep. The story is about a new branch of Mother Paula's All-American Pancake House, which will be build on a site where cute and endangered miniature owls are living in holes in the ground. After numerous adventures Roy finds that life in Florida is not so bad after all.

A children's book (10-12 years) that is a smooth read. Roy may be a rather docile, politically correct boy with very understanding parents, but the story line has wit and a good pace and matters are solved with a lot of creativity rather than force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a hoot, 20 July 2006
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Interesting ideas, with eco friendly theme and good sense of isolation in the kids. however do we need another character who thinks that farting is cool or even funny, i mean really!? Hiassen keeps a lively pace and you do root for the villains to get come uppance, but the end lacked any bite. neat cover though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HOOT., 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
With its winning combination of off-beat humour and fun characters Hoot with its themes of bullying and environmental activism is a highly enjoyable topical read which whilst recommended for those ten and over I thought suitable for younger more confident readers as well as adults.

OK, so there are certain elements that some adults may think to be age inappropriate (without giving too much away and the books lavatorial witticisms aside there is mention of vandalism) but on the whole I felt Hoot made for great discussion about the nature of big corporate companies (in this instance the fictional Mother Paula's All-American Pancake House) versus environment issues(as represented by the burrowing owls) and the lengths one would/should go to to stand up for what they believe in.

Though I haven't read any of the books for 'grown ups' written by this author if this, his debut novel for children, is any indication of how good they are then I'll be sure to keep a look out for them.

Copyright: Tracy Terry @ Pen and Paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
I give Hoot by Carl Hiassen 5 stars. I was thoroughly drawn in to the story and found it a challenge to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daft and a little subversive, 22 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Hoot (Paperback)
Hoot is a funny preteen story set in a town in Florida. At its heart is a message about standing up for what you believe in.

Roy Eberhardt has moved from state to state so many times that he doesn't feel he has any roots. The place closest to being anything like home is Montana with is wondrous mountains. But at the beginning of the story Roy is the new kid at a school in the very flat state of Florida. He really doesn't get what's so great about Florida but he doesn't complain. He knows his parents have it tough too. Roy is wholly and completely a good egg. I liked Roy. He was spontaneous and yet very good at reasoning things through.

Things get interesting for Roy when he spies a boy running barefoot away from the school bus and into the trees. Roy happens to be looking that way because his face is up against the bus window courtesy of the brutish Dana Matheson. The running boy has an impact on Roy because he does it with such complete involvement. Roy is determined to find out who this boy is and why he isn't at school.

The plot is part mystery - Roy is looking for clues about the identity of the running boy. Part comedy - running boy is pulling pranks on the local cops. Part eco-warrior tale - there is a really important message about protecting wild habitats here but it never feels like a preachy narrative.

I really liked Hiassen's dialogue. It was so funny. The adults (excluding Roy's parents) are complete nincompoops. So the book had a slightly subversive feel about it that kids will love. Every character had a different sound and was in their own way peculiar - so they were at once daft and yet convincing.

The perfect word to describe Hoot is amusing. It wasn't your laugh out loud book, the comedy was more subtle than that and yet it was entirely satisfying. Especially the ending.

Recommended for fans of:
Holes by Louis Sachar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoot
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen (Paperback - 2 Jan 2004)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews